We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great memories of this hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sukosol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Sukosol
Ranked #150 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Perth WA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great memories of this hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

*Please note we DID NOT travel in Jan 2013 but had to put in a date for the review.
My family stayed at this hotel in a family room when it was the Siam City 7 years ago on our first family holiday to Thailand. We loved everything about it. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was huge, clean and had everything we needed. The restaurants close by were lovely and we thought having the 711 next door was a big bonus! It is close to the Skytrain and we liked the fact that it was away from the hussle-bussle of the inner city, yet the inner city was so easy to get to. Now that we are planning our second holiday to Thailand we are keen to once again to stay here, hence why I have arrived at this site. However, now that our girls are older, we would be unable to secure a family room and feel that accommodating 2 rooms is now out of our price range. We are more than happy to recommend to families of younger children and people traveling without children.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WonderwomanPerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SukosolHotels, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear WonderwomanPerthWA,

Many thanks for your recommendation, we too feel that the family rooms here are great for guests travelling with young children.

Please do (re-)consider us for your next holiday, as I am sure that the team will do their best to make you and your children all comfortable should you decide to visit us again.

Warm regards,
Alex Gardner
Digital Strategy Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    623
    627
    200
    54
    31
See reviews for
242
533
135
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Whakahoro
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Efficient, polite, helpful. Epitome of good Thai service. Pretty little rooftop pool although too chilly to use in the winter! Good buffet breakfast and lovely relaxing bar for coffee or tasty cocktails (use your 2 for 1 voucher!). Tip: can post letters in the hotel shop.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MMay2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SukosolHotels, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear MMay2013,

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback on your stay last month. The team will be so happy to hear that you were impressed with our service and facilities, as well as the breakfast spread.

We do hope that you will be able to come back and stay with us again soon.

Regards,
Alex Gardner
Digital Strategy Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faridabad, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights in March I believe the hotel is new renovated and it is very easy to see this in the public areas. The lobby, the Bar and the restaurants are all very nice. Unfortunately, the room I stayed in was the shame It wasn't bad as there was plenty of space but it is very old. The bathrooms seem like something from the 1990's.
Aside from the room, everything was very good, great location, excellent breakfast, friendly and accommodating staff (allowing us to order food not on the menu in the Thai restaurant). Overall, I would very happy to stay here again, so long as I get one of the newer renovated rooms.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABHPRAG30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SukosolHotels, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear ABHPRAG30,

Thank you for your comments, it is very nice to hear that you enjoyed our hotel facilities, especially our breakfast and overall service, as well as our location.

We are regularly making small improvements to the rooms over time, so hopefully for your next trip, we can make you even more comfortable.

Sincerely,
Alex Gardner
Digital Strategy Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Nice and clean room with a view. The pool area was nice but unfortunately in the shade most of the day. The hotel is a bit dated but still very nice. BTS Skytrain and airportlink are a short walk away.

The only real negative was that we asked the reception for advice on where to get tailored suits and they tried to get us (almost force us) to go to some "James Fashion International" which, thanks to a quick Google search, we declined (ratings included words "scam", "horrible", "avoid at all cost"). We actually asked them to call places we had looked up online beforehand which they at first declined to do and once they did call them they gave us false information (they told us the one we wanted would take at least a week but when we went by the shop they could clearly have done our suits in our timetable).

Room Tip: If you want to book something in the city do it yourself. Don't trust the reception as they will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roope H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SukosolHotels, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Roope H,

Thank you very much for taking the time to submit your feedback on your stay at The Sukosol, we were happy to hear that, for the most part, you had a nice stay.

However, on behalf of the whole team here, I would like to apologize for the bad recommendation you had regarding a tailor. The hotel's policy is not to recommend specific businesses, but instead direct guests to best-of-Bangkok lists from reputable travel sources such as magazines or review sites.

This has been emphasized to the whole front office team so that this kind of issue will not occur again.

Once again, I am so sorry that your stay was not perfect and hope that you might give us another chance in the future.

Sincerely,
Alex Gardner
Digital Strategy Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

We (family with two kids, 4 and 1 y/o) stayed for 3 nights.
The location is good, the rooms clean, but a little dated. Breakfast was fine, but the dining area felt a little cramped. The pool was smallish and not very child friendly, but nice nonetheless.

I wouldn't call this a 4 star hotel, but it was pretty nice anyway. However, if you're travelling with small kids, pick an other hotel with bigger rooms and better pool.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fryngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SukosolHotels, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Fryngel,

Thank you very much for taking the time to submit your review to us. I am very sorry that we did not meet your expectations for your visit.

With regards to room size, we typically recommend that guests with small children stay in our Family rooms, which are 45 square metres with two queen size beds. I apologize if this was not large enough.

We do love to welcome families at The Sukosol and our staff enjoy entertaining kids during their stay so that parents can get a little time to relax. We will strive to do better in the future.

Sincerely,
Alex Gardner
Digital Strategy Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Incheon, South Korea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Nice and clean room.
The lobby and other facilities look elegant.
However, It was a little difficult for taxi drivers to find this hotel.
It was too cold while sleep although we turned off the air conditioner.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YOONA K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SukosolHotels, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear YOONA K,

Anyong-haseyo! Thank you so much for posting your comments about your recent stay. We are happy you liked our decor.

I'm sorry that you had trouble with taxis, unfortunately some of the older taxi drivers know us by our old name Siam City Hotel, but over time, this is becoming less of a problem.

On behalf of the team at The Sukosol, we hope you will be back to stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,
Alex Gardner
Digital Strategy Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

its very clean and nice hotel ,near to metro station ,easy access to shopping mall,its lobby is very beautiful but I didn't like the rooms ,its good but it has carpet that the carpet wasn't very clean,and I didn't like shower ,in the bathroom ,water was for a second cold and again very hot . but in general its very beautiful and nice hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neda942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SukosolHotels, Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear neda942,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review, it is always very helpful to hear guests' comments on their stay.

On behalf of the team, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay overall, but apologize that it was not perfect. I have asked the engineering and housekeeping teams to look into your issue with the shower in your room to improve consistency.

We hope that we can make your stay perfect should you come back to visit us again.

Sincerely,
Alex Gardner
Digital Strategy Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Phayathai
True Siam Phayathai Hotel
True Siam Phayathai Hotel
#334 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Tada Parkview Hotel
#265 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Century Park Hotel
#145 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sukosol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sukosol

Property: The Sukosol
Address: 477 Si Ayuthaya Road | Phayathai, Bangkok 10400, Thailand (Formerly Siam City Hotel)
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#74 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#110 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#113 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#129 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#145 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sukosol 4.5*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mixing colonial-style architecture, modern amenities and Asian aesthetics, The Sukosol Hotel (Formerly Siam City Hotel) is a wonderful place to stay for a truly unique, five-star Thai experience. The 470-room hotel is located beside the Phayathai Skytrain and Airport Rail Link stations. In the middle of Bangkok’s famed royal district, the hotel is within easy reach of the best sightseeing, shopping and dining that the City of Angels has to offer. The hotel boasts award-winning restaurants, rooftop pool, fitness centre, gift shop, jeweler, tailor, travel counter and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Sukosol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siam City Bangkok
Bangkok Siam City Hotel
Siam City Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing