We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice stay...”
Review of The Sukosol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Sukosol Hotel
Ranked #105 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We were on a honeymoon trip, and bangkok was one of our destinations, Sukosol was very nice and had everything we needed for a short stay. Just a couple of minutes from downtown and the personal gave us a great service, with smiles, small giftes etc.!

We can definitely recommend this hotel.

Regard C & T

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TofighA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SukosolHotels, General Manager at The Sukosol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear TofighA,

Congratulations and thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback!

It is such a pleasure to welcome honeymooners to The Sukosol. As a team, we always tries to go out of our way to make sure that we can provide a memorable experience on such an important occasion and it is wonderful to read that we succeeded for you.

We hope to see you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Philipp Frickhinger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,839)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

622 - 628 of 1,839 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

Service
The staff at the concierge were very friendly & helpful. They helped us to argue with the taxi driver that tried to over charged us.

Dining
The food served were very delicious.

Room
I was very satisfied with the room & cleanliness over the 5 nights we stayed here

Location
Very short walk to Phaya Thai Stn. Many food stalls & 7 Eleven just beside/around the hotel so food was not a problem at all

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WithaIshak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SukosolHotels, General Manager at The Sukosol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear WithaIshak,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. I have passed on your positive comments to the Front Office, Dining & Housekeeping teams, who I know will be pleased that they could make your stay an enjoyable one.

Please do visit us again soon - Malaysia is just a short flight away and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Yours sincerely,
Philipp Frickhinger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed for three nights here and we did not want to leave. The rooms are lovely, very clean and well looked after, a good range of drinks and snacks in the mini bar that is restocked daily and the white fluffy robes are a lovely touch after a shower. The beds are HUGE and soooo comfy!
The staff are so nice and cannot do enough for the guests.
The pool is immaculate and the food is nice too.
It is very central to attractions and the staff get you taxi outside if you want to venture out. Could not fault our stay here we found ourselves comparing prices of other hotels to this one, as the standard was so high, would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linzi c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SukosolHotels, General Manager at The Sukosol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear linzi c,

Thank you so much for your comments on your recent stay with us, we are all so happy that you enjoyed your time with us, especially our rooms & service.

Please do consider us again for your next trip to Bangkok.

Yours sincerely,
Philipp Frickhinger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Me and my family stayed in this hotel for 4 nights and it was one of the best hotel experiences i've ever had.the rooms are clean with great room service the hotel was chic and hotel staff are so friendly they always give you a warm smile.the breakfast was good. And most of the bangkok's great malls are 5 to 10 minutes away if you take a taxi .All of these came with a reasonable price.

1  Thank Ali M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SukosolHotels, General Manager at The Sukosol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Ali M,

Thank you so much for such a glowing review, which I will be sharing with my team. We love to welcome families to our hotel and are so happy that you enjoyed the service and facilities during your stay with us.

We hope to see you again soon at The Sukosol.

Yours sincerely,
Philipp Frickhinger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 April 2014

The Sukosol was lovely to stay in during our recent stay. The attention to detail, design and appearance of the hotel, and the friendliness of the staff is something that makes this one of the top hotels in Bangkok.

Our room was originally incorrectly appointed, however that was immediately corrected by the Sukosol's lovely and attentive staff. Always smiling and willing to help make your stay as enjoyable as possible.

The hotel its self is quite stylish and refreshing from the busy streets of Bangkok. So it was nice to have a meal at the hotel in peace. I must admit i found the food a bit over priced, and please keep in mind if traveling to any hotel in Thailand (its not just this one) that you will be stung with a 17% tax on top of your bill so please plan/budget accordingly.

The bedroom and amenities were all clean and comfortable (as you can see from the pictures).

We were unfortunately on there for one night, but i would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who visits Bangkok, and will be sure to stop in next time im in the area.

Room Tip: Both styles of rooms are lovely, and you can choose from the authentic thai style room in the Ayutha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SukosolHotels, General Manager at The Sukosol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Natalie G,

Thank you for posting your feedback, it is always gratifying to hear that our guests enjoy the service we provide. I am especially pleased that we were able to immediately correct your room allocation to your satisfaction.

Please do come back again soon for another visit.

Yours sincerely,
Philipp Frickhinger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Our travel agent from India - The CARNATION TRAVELS Pvt Ltd brought us to this Hotel - The Sukosol. A perfect ambience in the lobby greeted us with a subtle piped music of Thai music.The front office staff greeted us with flowers and escorted to our room. The walkthrough was interesting while we found the History & culture preserved in the shelves , with ancient artifacts of Historical relevance.The rooms are spacious with high degree of cleanliness. We were surprised with cute towel BUNNY RABBITS , with a signature ORCHID neatly placed on our beds. My daughter NAVYAA celebrating her 16 th Birthday went dilly with delight when we stepped into our room. The executive floor staff was extremely cordial and very chic in their attire - with a perfect SMILE factor. The room overlooking the city centre was a perfect room with a view. Their restaurants are esthetically done as we savored Thai and Chinese cuisines.
Any other guidance to tour the city were cordially attended and granted a smooth advise.
We stayed there for 2 nights and 3 days. Here was a Hotel in the cemented city - with not only a sacred heart but with SOUL :)

Room Tip: The room facing the NORTH EAST towards the City centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ABHINAV25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SukosolHotels, General Manager at The Sukosol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear ABHINAV25,

Many thanks for taking your valuable time to provide us with comments on your stay, it was lovely to read such wonderful praise, which I will definitely be sharing with the team.

We try very hard to make the Club experience as special as possible, so it is very rewarding to hear such positive feedback.

Yours sincerely,
Philipp Frickhinger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed at The Sukosol for one night at the end of our 2 week holiday in Thailand. It's perfectly situation right at the beginning of the Airport Rail Link which makes getting to the airport very affordable and easy, avoiding any traffic! We were provided also with vouchers for a welcome drink and a discount off the dinner in at the hotel - unfortunately, we didn't have time to use either but it was a nice touch. Good wifi was free as well.

The hotel itself was lovely. We had a very nice welcome when we arrived, the staff were friendly and spoke good English. The room was spacious and well presented. The room had a lovely large bathroom with a good shower, comfortable big bed, plenty of space for any luggage and even nice music playing as we came in. They provided bathrobes which was useful for going down to the pool.

The pool was nice and big - I only went in the night time but it wasn't too busy and plenty of space to swim. It has a shallower area and then a much deeper area, and some cool jet seats right at the back. They provide towels too, which is handy.

Breakfast starts nice and early (5.30, I believe) which is great if you need to catch a flight. The breakfast buffet was great - a lot of selection and catered to many different cuisines. Lots of juices, smoothies, fruit, hot food, pastries - it was great!

The only small thing I'd mention is that the elevators are a bit slow, but that's really not too big of a deal. The hotel is in a great location, lovely staff, and nice facilities. It is also conveniently located close to the SkyTrain so it's easy to get around Bangkok from here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank londongeejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SukosolHotels, General Manager at The Sukosol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear londongeejay,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, which I will share amongst the team. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your (brief) stay with us, especially our convenient location and facilities.

Please be assured that we would love to welcome you back again for another (longer!) visit soon.

Yours sincerely,
Philipp Frickhinger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
AETAS bangkok
#66 of 891 in Bangkok
2,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Phayathai
True Siam Phayathai Hotel
True Siam Phayathai Hotel
#357 of 891 in Bangkok
329 reviews
Siam
LiT BANGKOK Hotel
LiT BANGKOK Hotel
#80 of 891 in Bangkok
1,240 reviews
Vince Hotel
#189 of 891 in Bangkok
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sukosol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sukosol Hotel

Address: 477 Si Ayuthaya Road | Ratchathewi, Bangkok 10400, Thailand (Formerly Siam City Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Phayathai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#96 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#109 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#112 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#112 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £61 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sukosol Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mixing colonial-style architecture, modern amenities and Asian aesthetics, The Sukosol Hotel (formerly Siam City Hotel) is a wonderful place to stay for a truly unique, five-star Thai experience. The 470-room hotel is located beside the Phayathai Skytrain and Airport Rail Link stations. In the middle of Bangkok’s famed royal district, the hotel is within easy reach of the best sightseeing, shopping and dining that the City of Angels has to offer. The hotel boasts award-winning restaurants, rooftop pool, fitness centre, gift shop, jeweler, tailor, travel counter and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Sukosol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siam City Bangkok
Bangkok Siam City Hotel
Siam City Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing