We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressed and great service. ”
Review of The Sukosol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sukosol
Ranked #121 of 866 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Impressed and great service. ”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for the last 3 nights of our holiday and was very pleased. Location right near the BTS Phaya Thai. Pool open until 10pm, not too busy and nice size. Polite staff. Clean and rooms very spacious. The only bad thing they could do with changing is the rock hard mattress. Apart from that, loved it.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SukosolHotels, General Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Darren B,

Thank you for your recent feedback on your stay at The Sukosol. It is our pleasure to serve our guests and it is even more gratifying to hear from satisfied guests such as yourself.

The whole team is pleased that you found the service, facilities and location impressive, and with regards to the mattress, I do apologise - we have soft toppers for guests who prefer less firm mattresses, but my team should have checked your preferences.

Hopefully for your next visit, we can arrange this!

Yours sincerely,
Philipp Frickhinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    681
    651
    206
    54
    31
See reviews for
261
554
145
274
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Al Ain, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The hotel is centrally located. Local transportation, the sky-train, is easily accessible and within a five minute walk. The hotel is very close to the night bazaar and malls. The lobby is beautiful and newly renovated and gives a false impression of the quality of the rooms, which hopefully will be updated soon. We stayed on the 13th floor, which had a slight mildew smell. The wallpaper had water damage and was peeling in several areas. The electrical plugs were slightly outdated. We had a couple of very early morning tours scheduled and had to order room service, for breakfast. Unfortunately, a couple of the food items, that we wanted to purchase were not available, even though they were listed as such on the menu; that was a bit of a disappointment. Overall the stay was not bad, but I can't say that I would choose this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shani B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SukosolHotels, General Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Shani B,

Thank you very much for your review, which offers us a number of constructive comments to work on. On the positive side, we are happy that our central location proved convenient during your stay.

I would also like to apologise that your room was not to your expectations. We have immediately reviewed your feedback with the housekeeping team to work on the issues you have highlighted, as well as investigating which items were not available on the room-service menu, which has since been corrected.

We hope that should you visit us again in the future, your trip will be closer to the excellence we strive for at The Sukosol.

Yours sincerely,
Philipp Frickhinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Often hotels in Thailand promise more than they deliver - but not this one!
This hotel is kept in immaculate condition and the staff are very professional and helpful. As it is close to the Sky-train it means most of Bangkok is quite accessible too. There are plenty of shops and restaurants nearby and the general area does not appear to have the sleazier elements you often find in Bangkok. There is also a great Jazz bar within walking distance if you want a night of great food and live music - the hotel staff will direct you.
I would be more than happy to stay here again - a little more expensive than some hotels I have stayed in Bangkok but definitely worth that little extra!

Room Tip: I didn't select the option to have breakfast but wish I had!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wallister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SukosolHotels, General Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear wallister,

Thank you for your very positive comments on our hotel, including the great location (the jazz bar is called Saxophone and is always an entertaining venue). We are also quite proud of the feedback on our breakfast from other guests, so please do consider this for your next visit.

We hope to see you back in Bangkok again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Philipp Frickhinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Not much to write really. Stayed at this hotel for three days and it was brilliant! Clean rooms, good food and great location. The swimming pool was clean and the Spa was excellent. Very friendly staff who could not do more for you.

Room Tip: Higher up gets a good view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JakeH1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SukosolHotels, General Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear JakeH1989,

On behalf of The Sukosol team, I would like to thank you for your positive comments on your stay last year. It is always very nice to hear from our happy guests!

Please do come back and visit us again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Philipp Frickhinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The service and overall ambiance confirmed that is a place you must stay in Bangkok... including that fact that it is conveniently located to the sky rail. The rooms are well appointed and quiet. There are several restaurants within the hotel each of which I tested and all were delicious. The spa and pool are conveniently accessed without having to go through public areas. Much thought has gone into creating this environment and then establishing and maintaining a competent staff.
Paula Carter

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SukosolHotels, General Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Paula C,

Thank you so much for taking the time to submit your review, which of course I will pass on to the team.

We are so happy that we could make your stay in Bangkok a memorable one and that you enjoyed our services, facilities and location. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Philipp Frickhinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

The sight of the foyer was a very nice welcome after our 9 hour flight. Nice clean and comfortable room. We also enjoyed happy hour cocktails in the bar. Easy walking distance from the sky rail which was handy for shopping. There are also tuk tuk drivers on the corner if you like that.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SukosolHotels, General Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Kathy R,

Thank you very much for your review, it is always great to hear from our guests, and I will make sure that the whole team sees your comments. We strive to make every guest feel well looked after, so that they can enjoy their time in Bangkok to the fullest.

On behalf of everyone at The Sukosol, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Philipp Frickhinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We were on a honeymoon trip, and bangkok was one of our destinations, Sukosol was very nice and had everything we needed for a short stay. Just a couple of minutes from downtown and the personal gave us a great service, with smiles, small giftes etc.!

We can definitely recommend this hotel.

Regard C & T

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TofighA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SukosolHotels, General Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear TofighA,

Congratulations and thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback!

It is such a pleasure to welcome honeymooners to The Sukosol. As a team, we always tries to go out of our way to make sure that we can provide a memorable experience on such an important occasion and it is wonderful to read that we succeeded for you.

We hope to see you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Philipp Frickhinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Phayathai
True Siam Phayathai Hotel
True Siam Phayathai Hotel
#333 of 866 in Bangkok
327 reviews
Siam
VIE Hotel Bangkok, MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Century Park Hotel
#149 of 866 in Bangkok
1,684 reviews
Vince Hotel
#190 of 866 in Bangkok
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sukosol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sukosol

Property: The Sukosol
Address: 477 Si Ayuthaya Road | Phayathai, Bangkok 10400, Thailand (Formerly Siam City Hotel)
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#106 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#109 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#112 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#145 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sukosol 4.5*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mixing colonial-style architecture, modern amenities and Asian aesthetics, The Sukosol Hotel (Formerly Siam City Hotel) is a wonderful place to stay for a truly unique, five-star Thai experience. The 470-room hotel is located beside the Phayathai Skytrain and Airport Rail Link stations. In the middle of Bangkok’s famed royal district, the hotel is within easy reach of the best sightseeing, shopping and dining that the City of Angels has to offer. The hotel boasts award-winning restaurants, rooftop pool, fitness centre, gift shop, jeweler, tailor, travel counter and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Sukosol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siam City Bangkok
Bangkok Siam City Hotel
Siam City Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing