We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy rooms”
Review of The Sukosol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Sukosol
Ranked #111 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights, mostly just using it as a place to base ourselves. However, the bits we experienced were very good.

The pool was very nice, an elevated 'water longer' area had three bubble producing pointers which were nice to lie in. Plenty of towels etc.

Room itself was a decent size and clean. Comfortable bed and good shower.

I was also impressed by Harry on reception. Despite arriving in a wreck (the AC broke on our overnight train and we struggled to get a non-rip off price from the train station) he and the rest of the staff treated us well. Impressively Harry remembered my name the next day (the hotel has a lot of rooms). He was also helpful with tips for visiting sites, etc. Thanks Harry!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank FlyMeFarAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SukosolHotels, General Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear FlyMeFarAway,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on your stay, I will make sure to pass them on to the team, especially Harry. It was also nice to hear you enjoyed our pool with it's jacuzzi beds as well as your room.

We hope to see you back for more Sukosol service soon!

Yours sincerely,
Philipp Frickhinger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,756)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

550 - 556 of 1,756 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

I made my reservation through booking.com and check in was fast. My husband and I were attended to one Japanese lady (Azumi or Ayuki or something like that..), she was friendly and even shared with us information on taxi service etc.

No complaint on the cleanliness of the room. No cigarette smell. Even breakfast was satisfying! (They served bacon / pork, so this hotel may not be suitable for Moslim..)

As for its location, it is about 3-5 minutes walk from BTS Phaya Thai. But if it rains, then you may need to bring along umbrella because you need to cross the one main street to get there.. But worry not, the policemen are always there to assist you while you are crossing the heavy traffic... 7-Eleven is just next door... And although its location is next to a busy road, but the plus point is our room was so quiet! Do request for room NOT facing the road if you are a light sleeper!

It took us about 20-30minutes to walk to Pratunam market. My husband and I do enjoy walking if the weather is not too hot. We skipped the walking when it was hot. On some occasions, we even took taxi / tuk-tuk to go Pratunam because the sun was scorching hot!

If you are looking for comfortable, clean and elegant room, with fine dining experience, The Sukosol definitely suits you! Personally, I will stay here again in the future.... It is near to BTS, near to 7-Eleven, but I just need to bring my umbrella!

(Sometimes the heavy traffic scares me and it takes great courage to cross the busy road!)

Room Tip: High floors for view, and not facing the road if you are a light sleeper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shobra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SukosolHotels, General Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Shobra1,

Thank you for your kind comments on your stay with us, it will be a pleasure to share them with the team. Only a few of our guests walk to nearby Pratunam for the shopping, but it actually is quite close, if you don't mind Bangkok's heat!

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Philipp Frickhinger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Had a short stay here and it’s a good-looking hotel with pleasant staff. Fast check-in and check-out, large modern rooms. It also has a OK sized swimming pool with sunbeds, and acutely three sunbeds inside the pool as well. One withdraw was the lack of service by the pool..... All the staff were hanging around in air-coned Spa, so didn't get to order any drinks or anything while we were there.
Easy to get to, Airport express train to the end station and a 5-10 min walk. Also connected to the BTS, which makes it easy to get around in BKK.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vTRAVELv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SukosolHotels, General Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear vTRAVELv,

Many thanks for taking time to submit your review, which I have shared with the team. We were very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us overall.

I have already discussed your comments regarding pool service with my operations team, and they will ensure that there is a member of staff with guests at the pool going forward.

Yours sincerely,
Philipp Frickhinger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We have just spent our final 3 nights in Bangkok at the Sukosol and really enjoyed it.

We booked through booking.com and paid £35 a night (room only). Even if we'd paid double it would have been a great stay.

The hotel was immaculate, the staff lovely and always willing to help. Pool area was great too. Did not visit the bar/ restaurant but menus looked nice and reasonably priced. The room (1171) was large and clean with a huge bathroom.

The location is the best part though, between 3-10 minute walk to the bts phayathai..(the reason for the time difference is it can literally take in excess of 5 minutes to cross the street, never seen anything like it!) and then the city is yours to explore. There's a 7/11 next door and a few nice local street food stalls/ bars around.

One thing I must mention is that the bed was rock hard! Not exaggerating, it was really hard.. Fine for us as we both prefer a firm mattress, but it may be an issue for some people.

We would definitely stay again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SukosolHotels, General Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Jenny M,

Thank you so much for your detailed review. It is of course a pleasure to hear from our satisified guests, especially with your compliments for all aspects of your stay! Sadly, walking anywhere in Bangkok you are at the mercy of the city's extended traffic lights!

As I mentioned in the previous guest review, we do have toppers for guests who prefer less firm mattresses, but I will make sure the guest officers communicate this to all guests.

We hope that you will be able to visit us again here soon.

Yours sincerely,
Philipp Frickhinger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for the last 3 nights of our holiday and was very pleased. Location right near the BTS Phaya Thai. Pool open until 10pm, not too busy and nice size. Polite staff. Clean and rooms very spacious. The only bad thing they could do with changing is the rock hard mattress. Apart from that, loved it.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SukosolHotels, General Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Darren B,

Thank you for your recent feedback on your stay at The Sukosol. It is our pleasure to serve our guests and it is even more gratifying to hear from satisfied guests such as yourself.

The whole team is pleased that you found the service, facilities and location impressive, and with regards to the mattress, I do apologise - we have soft toppers for guests who prefer less firm mattresses, but my team should have checked your preferences.

Hopefully for your next visit, we can arrange this!

Yours sincerely,
Philipp Frickhinger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The hotel is centrally located. Local transportation, the sky-train, is easily accessible and within a five minute walk. The hotel is very close to the night bazaar and malls. The lobby is beautiful and newly renovated and gives a false impression of the quality of the rooms, which hopefully will be updated soon. We stayed on the 13th floor, which had a slight mildew smell. The wallpaper had water damage and was peeling in several areas. The electrical plugs were slightly outdated. We had a couple of very early morning tours scheduled and had to order room service, for breakfast. Unfortunately, a couple of the food items, that we wanted to purchase were not available, even though they were listed as such on the menu; that was a bit of a disappointment. Overall the stay was not bad, but I can't say that I would choose this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shani B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SukosolHotels, General Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Shani B,

Thank you very much for your review, which offers us a number of constructive comments to work on. On the positive side, we are happy that our central location proved convenient during your stay.

I would also like to apologise that your room was not to your expectations. We have immediately reviewed your feedback with the housekeeping team to work on the issues you have highlighted, as well as investigating which items were not available on the room-service menu, which has since been corrected.

We hope that should you visit us again in the future, your trip will be closer to the excellence we strive for at The Sukosol.

Yours sincerely,
Philipp Frickhinger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Often hotels in Thailand promise more than they deliver - but not this one!
This hotel is kept in immaculate condition and the staff are very professional and helpful. As it is close to the Sky-train it means most of Bangkok is quite accessible too. There are plenty of shops and restaurants nearby and the general area does not appear to have the sleazier elements you often find in Bangkok. There is also a great Jazz bar within walking distance if you want a night of great food and live music - the hotel staff will direct you.
I would be more than happy to stay here again - a little more expensive than some hotels I have stayed in Bangkok but definitely worth that little extra!

Room Tip: I didn't select the option to have breakfast but wish I had!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wallister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SukosolHotels, General Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear wallister,

Thank you for your very positive comments on our hotel, including the great location (the jazz bar is called Saxophone and is always an entertaining venue). We are also quite proud of the feedback on our breakfast from other guests, so please do consider this for your next visit.

We hope to see you back in Bangkok again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Philipp Frickhinger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
AETAS bangkok
#66 of 887 in Bangkok
2,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
LiT BANGKOK Hotel
LiT BANGKOK Hotel
#81 of 887 in Bangkok
1,224 reviews
Phayathai
True Siam Phayathai Hotel
True Siam Phayathai Hotel
#344 of 887 in Bangkok
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sukosol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sukosol

Address: 477 Si Ayuthaya Road | Ratchathewi, Bangkok 10400, Thailand (Formerly Siam City Hotel)
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Phayathai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#101 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#109 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#112 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#145 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £66 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sukosol 4.5*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mixing colonial-style architecture, modern amenities and Asian aesthetics, The Sukosol Hotel (formerly Siam City Hotel) is a wonderful place to stay for a truly unique, five-star Thai experience. The 470-room hotel is located beside the Phayathai Skytrain and Airport Rail Link stations. In the middle of Bangkok’s famed royal district, the hotel is within easy reach of the best sightseeing, shopping and dining that the City of Angels has to offer. The hotel boasts award-winning restaurants, rooftop pool, fitness centre, gift shop, jeweler, tailor, travel counter and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Sukosol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siam City Bangkok
Bangkok Siam City Hotel
Siam City Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing