We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great amenities, convenient location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sukosol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Sukosol
Ranked #152 of 844 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great amenities, convenient location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

I stayed at the Sukosol for 6 days for a work related trip and was really happy with the service, amenities and the overall experience. The staff was helpful, the breakfast and lunch buffets were fantastic and the rooms very nice! There were some oddities- like no iron in the room and then when I asked for one, I got one needed an adapter to plug in (luckily I had one) and the fact that I was locked out of my room and it took a while for someone to come and then a while for them to fix the problem (there was a problem the strip reader on the door). Service was very friendly but a little slack overall (I scrounged other tables for fresh cutlery fairly regularly at breakfast). I'd still recommend this hotel and go back when I'm back in Bangkok!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank r0yalty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SukosolHotels, General Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear r0yalty,

Many thanks for letting us know how your stay was, it is incredibly useful for us to hear this kind of feedback and I will make sure to pass this on to the relevant teams. I do apologize regarding the iron, it is hotel safety policy to provide one only for guests who request it, but we will make sure to include an adapter for the future.

Thank you too for your recommendation and we will hope to see you back in Bangkok soon.

Yours sincerely,
Philipp Frickhinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    617
    620
    199
    54
    31
See reviews for
239
528
133
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

I made a last minute decision to stay here for my last night in Bangkok and am very glad I did. From the moment we entered the beautiful hotel lobby, we were greeted by helpful and friendly staff who made check in seamless and hassle-free. The room was clean and modern, and the breakfast spread was good. The hotel has a swimming pool and steam room and sauna, and is extremely conveniently located no more than a 3 minute walk from the BTS sky train and Airport link Phya Thai Station. The hotel offer a free shuttle to the Airport Link station which was helpful with our luggage.
The hotel staff were very accommodating around our request for a late check-out and as such, given it's excellent location in Bangkok, we would be very happy to return in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Husein88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SukosolHotels, General Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Husein88,

Thank you very much for taking the time to submit your comments on your stay, we appreciate your feedback and are pleased that we were able to make your stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to The Sukosol soon, hopefully for a longer stay!

Yours sincerely,
Philipp Frickhinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

It was indeed a pleasant stay at the Sukosol Hotel during my last visit in May.
The people there were very nice and friendly, and most of all, helpful too. The room is spacious and tidy.
The breakfast at the cafe was very good as well.
Sure will stay at the Sukosol next round.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SukosolHotels, General Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Alan W,

Many thanks for your kind words, we enjoy hearing from our guests, especially when they are so complimentary!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Bangkok and The Sukosol soon.

Yours sincerely,
Philipp Frickhinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

From the very moment I received my confirmation for my reservation, I could easily tell that The Sukosol was ready to take care of me and my family. They took their time to ask me if there was any extra/special services I would need during my stay and that said a lot from the outset.

Once I arrived at the hotel for the customary check in process, they welcomed me and my entire family and address me by my name and that showed a very personable approach as opposed to saying " Sir" or " Madame". What was also very obvious was their hospitality was superb starting from the doormen all the way through front front desk staff and bellman and porters bringing our suitcase to our room. I found their smile to be very genuine and ready to assist me at any point should the need arise.

Furthermore, our room was quite elegant and nicely decorated and they even went out of their way to put extra touches by placing balloons and a happy birthday cake for my 1yr old daughter. To me, these are very small gestures but shows how much the hotel cares for my feelings and that of my family's.

Last but not least, the food be it at room service or at any of their 3 restaurants was quite simply sumptuous. I can not say enough about the quality of the food and the portions, if ordered a la carte, were very generous.

In closing, having traveled all over the world both on business and pleasure, I have found The Sukosol one of the very best in its class and the value one gets for the money he/she pays is quite phenomenal. I would come back again to The Sukosol as I know my satisfaction is guaranteed and if I need anything or have concerns, I do know that the hotel management will be attentive and see to it that I am satisfied.

Room Tip: I try to avoid rooms close to the elevator but my favorite rooms are corner rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SukosolHotels, General Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Michael S,

Thank you very much for such a detailed and glowing review, it is our pleasure to make our guests visits to Bangkok as enjoyable as possible.

I will make sure to share your comments with the whole team and can assure you that we all look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Philipp Frickhinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
433 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

The hotel is nicely decorated and located in a quiet, and somewhat unremarkable location. The nearby BTS was useful in getting to shopping and attractions. A common market is located approximately a mile from the hotel however the heat (40c) makes walking uncomfortable. The hotel bar is very low key, and almost nobody seemed to attend. The fitness center had almost everything that you would need in a workout except adequate air conditioning.

Overall this hotel is probably best for larger groups and families as they can entertain each other. Though the accommodations were completely adequate, as a solo traveler I prefer being closer to the action.

Room Tip: Be prepared to make use of BTS, it is only three stops to Siam center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IHG_Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SukosolHotels, General Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear BoomerPickins,

Thank you so much for your comments on your recent stay with us. On behalf of the team we appreciate your positive comments on our service and facilities.

With regards to our location, as you mentioned, we are a very short walk from the BTS, and only two stops from Siam main intersection, as well as being only a short taxi ride away from many government, UN and NGO offices. That plus our proximity to the Airport Rail Link offers guests a great deal of convenience to get around Bangkok.

Thank you again and we hope we might still see you back with us again in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Philipp Frickhinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

There are 2 building; Old and new. We chose the new one as we have been told the room is better(never got a chance to check the old one though)

The new building is located on the front of the hotel and you can hear a street noise. The old one located further backed and is taller so it should have less street noise.

The room we stayed was good and up to any standard hotels with all amenities provided. Although you have to walk and connect to the old building to get to the gym/pool, it's not too bad. If you plan on using a pool, there is a hallway near souvenir shop that allows you to cut through between old and new building without having to walk pass the lobby.

Gym: Beside it's a little old, it is quite big and has variety of machines to choose. Staff was very nice.

Free in room internet

Breakfast: Great...not too fancy but basically have everything you look for.

Location: walk able to Sky train. A little dark in the late night but not too dangerous

Parking: Very good free parking. Plenty of lot and easy to park.

Room Tip: Choose the old building which is taller and further in the back if you sensitive with street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SukosolHotels, General Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear T M,

Many thanks for submitting your detailed review here, we were happy to hear of your positive experience at The Sukosol. Usually, we try to take into account our guests' preferences regarding rooms in the Siam Wing and Ayuthaya Wing, with those guests who prefer direct access to the swimming pool placed in the Siam Wing.

We do hope that you will consider us again for any future trips to Bangkok and look forward to welcoming you with more Sukosol service!

Yours sincerely,
Philipp Frickhinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for 1 night in February. I arrived late (about 9pm) and my first impression was that the lobby area was beautiful with lovely restaurants and bars to relax in. I had a few problems checking in - the staff could not initially find my booking which was slightly worrying despite me showing my confirmation. They kept asking me if I was sure I had a booking - I work for the company that I booked through so I was pretty sure there wasn't a problem! After about 15 minutes they eventually found the booking and I was shown to my room.

This was very large a tastefully decorated. The room was very clean as was the bathroom - my only comment would be that there was a slight drainy smell when I ran the bath away! I had a flight to catch the next day but with a few hours to kill decided to relax around the pool. This was lovely and very peaceful. I also had lunch there which was very good.

Location wise the hotel is great - very close to the skytrain and airport link so perfect for exploring.

I wouldn't particularly rush back to the hotel but if I was back in Bangkok and it was the right price it would not bother me to stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank little_birdy150484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SukosolHotels, General Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear little_birdy150484,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, on behalf of the whole team, we were happy to read you enjoyed your stay overall. I apologise for the mix-up at check-in and I have asked the front office team to update their procedure to ensure this kind of issue does not arise again.

Hopefully we will be able to welcom you back to The Sukosol again next time you visit.

Yours sincerely,
Philipp Frickhinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Phayathai
True Siam Phayathai Hotel
True Siam Phayathai Hotel
#332 of 844 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Le Tada Parkview Hotel
#268 of 844 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
VIE Hotel Bangkok, MGallery by Sofitel
Century Park Hotel
#144 of 844 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Siam
Hua Chang Heritage Hotel
Hua Chang Heritage Hotel
#135 of 844 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sukosol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sukosol

Property: The Sukosol
Address: 477 Si Ayuthaya Road | Phayathai, Bangkok 10400, Thailand (Formerly Siam City Hotel)
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#75 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#110 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#113 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#130 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#146 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sukosol 4.5*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mixing colonial-style architecture, modern amenities and Asian aesthetics, The Sukosol Hotel (Formerly Siam City Hotel) is a wonderful place to stay for a truly unique, five-star Thai experience. The 470-room hotel is located beside the Phayathai Skytrain and Airport Rail Link stations. In the middle of Bangkok’s famed royal district, the hotel is within easy reach of the best sightseeing, shopping and dining that the City of Angels has to offer. The hotel boasts award-winning restaurants, rooftop pool, fitness centre, gift shop, jeweler, tailor, travel counter and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Prestigia, TravelUp, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Southall Travel and LateRooms so you can book your The Sukosol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siam City Bangkok
Bangkok Siam City Hotel
Siam City Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing