We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything you need in a hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Sukosol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sukosol
Ranked #148 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Everything you need in a hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed in the Suksol in June on our way to Hong Kong, a fantastic warm welcome after travelling for 16 hours. Nothing was too much trouble you only have to ask, the hotel is well staffed and there is always someone on hand to offer advice or directions. Rooms were of excellent quality, exceptionally clean and comfortable beds, breakfast offered a wide selection of treats make sure you get down early. We enjoyed our stay in the sukosol so much we arranged a last minute stop over on our way back to the UK a bit of luxury before the long flight home.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Etak2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SukosolHotels, General Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Etak2101,

Many thanks for your kind comments. As always, we love to hear from our guests and appreciate you taking the time to tell us your experience. Your wonderful comments will inspire us to work harder to make every visit to The Sukosol as memorable.

Please come back and stay with us again soon!

Yours sincerely,
Philipp Frickhinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    628
    632
    203
    55
    31
See reviews for
243
537
136
257
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Stayed in the Sukosol Hotel in mid August. The general impression (service quality, comfort of the room, general environment of the hotel) is good, when you call for services such as housekeeping, they deliver the services quickly. Would recommend this hotel to other travellers. please note the following in particular:

- The standard “Deluxe” room are actually quite spacious in itself
- The hotel is close to Phaya Thai BTS station and Airport Link station, but it’s rather difficult to find the exit when you are coming from the Airport Link station, ask the BTS station staff in the ticket counter for directions
- There are two traffic lights once you get off at Exit 4 in the Phaya Thai BTS station to the hotel. The traffic lights takes more than 10 minutes to turn into green, and the both sets of traffic lights turns red/green at the same time, so when it is turning green, make sure you have to run very quickly to cross the road for the two sets of traffic lights. When the traffic lights is on red, be prepared to wait for a long time, as the crossings are very busy with traffic
- There are two 7-eleven nearby for drinks…etc. There are a couple of restaurant and a standard quality food court at the commercial building next to the hotel for some quick eats if you super hungry. Otherwise, the neighbourhood where the hotel is not really appealing for tourists,
- The swimming pool is small but decent looking, the water temperature is good, but the floor can get very slippery, be careful when you walk, don't run in the swimming pool. The “Jacuzzi” is the “bed” kind, you need to lie down to enjoy it. However, it broke down when we were there. When you have changed in the swimming pool, you can't get into the swimming pool directly, instead you have to pass through a public area before you head to the pool.
- There are no toothbrush and toothpaste provided in the hotel room, if you ask housekeeping they are very happy to provide them with you.
- For those who need conditioner for their hair, there is no conditioner as well in the hotel room.
- The hotel room wifi is excellent and is free, allows multiple device to log-in at the same time
- There is a “radio” function at the control panel of the room which plays relaxing, easy-to-listen music and songs
- The bar is a nice area to relax, but unfortunately it closes way too early
- A hidden gem of the hotel is that there is an outdoor courtyard with fountains, sofas, staircases and a two storey “classical” building next to the main wing that serves a good backdrop for photoshot, and is popular for couples to do their wedding photography.
- The cakes at the hotel cake shop tastes pretty good, well worth trying.

Room Tip: The standard “Deluxe” room are actually quite spacious in itself
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wanderingclouds852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SukosolHotels, General Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear wanderingclouds852,

Thank you so much for your detailed comments, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm sure other guests will appreciate your tips regarding the walk from the Airport Express link too.

Please note that the Jacuzzi has been fixed, thank you for letting us know, and we hope that you will be able to come back for another stay with us soon.

Yours sincerely,
Philipp Frickhinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Very good choice for our first visit to bangkok.
Although there was many things we disliked about bangkok itself the sukosol made things very comfortable for us.
Staff friendly always happy to help they are all dressed very smartly.
The service excellent ! I cannot prase this place enough if I went back to the bangkok I would stay again
The only thing I would watch out for is if the staff at the hotel help you get a taxi some place, the usual price for going a shortish distance is around 100 / 200 THB.
The people in Thailand are all like a big family so will help each other to make a living if they can, if a member of staff help you to find a taxi they will prob try to overcharge you and the staff at the sukosol will gladly let you pay it.
Sometimes it's better to get a taxi from the street, but be careful of them overcharging they really do there best to get as much money out if you as they can
My advise is to use your own GPS in the taxi if you can :) it worked for me.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SukosolHotels, General Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Louise B,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, it is always encouraging to hear from guests, especially when we have helped to make your first time in Bangkok enjoyable.

Our front office team always ask taxi drivers to use their meters so that guests are at less risk of being taken advantage of, but unfortunately overcharging does still happen in Thailand. I will discuss with the team if there is anything more we can do moving forward.

Yours sincerely,
Philipp Frickhinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at The Sukosol recently as part of a football related business trip recently.

My friends at King Power looked after the reservation and by placing me at this wonderful hotel they guaranteed a comfortable stay in Bangkok.

The rooms were impeccable, spacious and had THE most comfortable bed.

The food was second to none, a huge choice with breakfast a particular treat.

Nothing was too much trouble. A step-up power adapter? Delivered to my room in minutes.

The pool is divine, gym perfect and the access to the rest of Bangkok is within touching distance of the BTS line.

The staff at this hotel are of an elite standard. Truly classy service and always with a smile. The hotel manager should be very proud as they are a credit to the business. Without exception.

I would have no hesitations in recommending this hotel. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SukosolHotels, General Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Ian S,

Many thanks for such a detailed review, which of course we were so happy to read, being full of praise for our service, facilities & food. This offers positive inspiration for the whole team to continue working hard to provide as good an experience as we can to our guests.

We hope very much to be able to welcome you back to The Sukosol soon.

Yours sincerely,
Philipp Frickhinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We have stayed two days in August. If you are a non-smoker I recommend you to ask a non-smoking room. Otherwise you may not sleep well because of the bad smell. The breakfast was good. You may taste traditional Thai foods even at the breakfast. The front office was helpfull when we asked to change our room a non-smoking one.

Room Tip: Ask a non-smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Archy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SukosolHotels, General Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Archy79,

Thank you so much for your review, which I have shared with the team. We keep separate rooms for smoking and non-smoking guests and ask guests to let us know their preference so that we can allocate their rooms accordingly.

I do apologise if this caused any inconvenience during your visit, but hope that you will return to stay with us and sample our breakfast again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Philipp Frickhinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

I booked this hotel after researching from Tripadvisor reviews. It is close to airport rail link station and BTS station so one can avoid the famous traffic jam in Bangkok. It is rated 4.5 stars but in reality it is not more than 3.5 stars. The hotel is under- staff, I waited more than 20 mins for checking in at around 5 pm. Guest service counter were not manned at times as they helped up with reception counter. we called for Bell boy at 10.00 am to pick up our luggage for checking- out but no one came after waiting for 30 mins. Eventually, we took our luggage to the lift and saw the bell boy just coming to us. Staff were helpful and polite but there just insufficient staff to provide 4-star hotel service. Hotel provides free shuttle bus to airport Rail- link station for departing guests which was a great help to us. Room was ok . one panel of wall in the bathroom was re-tiled but the other 3 panels were old tile with rust stain at the corner and the gaps between marble tiles were mouldy. no sleepers in the room and bathroom amenity were basic. When we wanted to pay by AMEX credit card, we were told that the Amex machine was not working at that time , we paid by VISA and it went through. Had it not for the convenience of airport link station and BTS, we would not stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2014maria0730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SukosolHotels, General Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear 2014maria0730,

Thank you very much for taking the time to submit your review. We are happy to hear you appreciated our convenient location, but I am very sorry that you did not have a perfect stay with us.

I have asked the front office team to ensure there are more staff on duty, especially during heavy check-in times so that we can service all our guests more efficiently moving forward.

Yours sincerely,
Philipp Frickhinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

My friends and I had an excellent time staying and performing at The Sukosol, generously accommodated under the auspices of Kamala Sukosol, a renowned Thai jazz singer, and her musically talented family. The room was spacious and comfortable, and I had the pleasure of sampling the extensive in-room dining menu. During my stay, I ate my breakfasts and dinners at Patummat International Restaurant, a sumptuous buffet of global cuisine, featuring an especially impressive dessert section ranging from local Thai and Asian specialties to more common tiramisu and creme brûlée dessert fare. The iced coffee at the Deli Shop was particularly tasty, giving me that perfect buzz before a day in Bangkok! Having frequented spas in several other Asian cities, including Siem Reap, Cambodia and Bali, Indonesia, I must insist that my 30-minute head massage at the Sukosol Spa was unparalleled - the perfect way to unwind and release that upper body tension after a full day of sightseeing. Finally, thanks to the generous artistic interests of the Sukosol family, I was privileged to give a performance for hotel guests and patrons with my American a cappella singing group, the Yale Whiffenpoofs; we were treated most professionally throughout our stay. I look forward to returning to the Sukosol on my next trip to Bangkok!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aratner15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SukosolHotels, General Manager at The Sukosol, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear aratner15,

Thank you so much for such wonderful comments regarding our service and facilities, it was our pleasure to host you and your friends last month.

We hope that you will have a chance to visit Bangkok and The Sukosol again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Philipp Frickhinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Phayathai
True Siam Phayathai Hotel
True Siam Phayathai Hotel
#326 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Vince Hotel
#194 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
VIE Hotel Bangkok, MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sukosol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sukosol

Property: The Sukosol
Address: 477 Si Ayuthaya Road | Phayathai, Bangkok 10400, Thailand (Formerly Siam City Hotel)
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#74 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#109 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#112 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#127 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#145 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sukosol 4.5*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mixing colonial-style architecture, modern amenities and Asian aesthetics, The Sukosol Hotel (Formerly Siam City Hotel) is a wonderful place to stay for a truly unique, five-star Thai experience. The 470-room hotel is located beside the Phayathai Skytrain and Airport Rail Link stations. In the middle of Bangkok’s famed royal district, the hotel is within easy reach of the best sightseeing, shopping and dining that the City of Angels has to offer. The hotel boasts award-winning restaurants, rooftop pool, fitness centre, gift shop, jeweler, tailor, travel counter and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sukosol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Siam City Bangkok
Bangkok Siam City Hotel
Siam City Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing