We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Years Eve in Bangkok 2013” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
Ranked #94 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“New Years Eve in Bangkok 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

Difficult to fault this hotel really. Had no problems with check in and staff very helpful. Couldn't check in until midday but that's not unusual for a hotel and there was an option to pre pay for an early check in, however we preferred to head for China Town.
In house Tour desk was very helpful and suggested how we might best get around Bangkok and avoid the cons such as being told that the attractions are closed for lunch (by people hanging around tube exits, Tuk Tuk and Taxi drivers). Truth is that they just want to redirect you to their restaurant or take you on a city tour, They're not aggressive with it but they are lying. Most attractions are open 7 days a week - all day long, so don't be taken in.
The hotel has a nice pool but you need to be strategic with the sun as the surrounding buildings will shade the pool as the day draws on.
Lovely choice at breakfast. We only tried the Mexican restaurant which has Mexican staff and chef. Cooking is authentic and hot. Plus the staff get involved in a bit a of dancing to the live band which is all good fun.
We preferred to get out and about. About a 10min walk is a themed restuarant called Cabages and Condoms. Well worth a visit. Very good food and interesting decor! Get a taxi (about £1)from the hotel as it's tucked away and then walk back.
At the Rembrandt you're also only a 10min walk from the red light district of Soi Cowboy. Worth a visit (as a tourist) just to say you've been. Best bit was the Lady Boys club. Buy them a coke and get a couple of pictures. It's all very safe. If you want anything else from this area then that's up to you!
Trips:- did the River Kwai and Elephant trekking one which also included the rafting, a waterfall and a train journey on the infamous death railway - all very good. Also did the floating market. This one not so good, as the minibus took us to other places such as Elephant trekking (not the same one as above) and a wood carving place / car park. This all meant that we only had an hour at the market for a trip that took most of the day. You should investigate taking a taxi instead. Also be wary of combining trips such as Floating Market and Tiger Palace. They are miles and miles apart and you'll be in for a long mini bus journey. I must add that these were not the official trips from the hotel tour desk. We couldn't get booked into these as it was a very busy time of year. Suggest you phone / email through to the hotel and pre book via the desk, or you'll be taking your chances elsewhere, which will be cheaper but they fill up the minibuses and you'll be spending more time travelling.
Make good use of the Sky Train and Metro unless you like sitting in traffic jams. It's cheap and efficient. You are only minutes from the Asoke station and there's even a hotel Tuk Tuk shuttle. Try taking the Sky Train to China town, have a walk through to the river and then a long tailed boat around the canals.
If you do use a taxi getting him to put the meter on will save you money e.g. 50bht on meter or 200bht if you dont. However you may struggle to get them to take you at all, so you'll need to agree a price upfront. But if he says 200 you should be paying no more than 100.
For views across the city the bar or restuarants on the upper floors of the Banyon Tree are worth a visit although not cheap.
Try to get to the palaces / budas early as the crowds really build up later in the day.
Go for a massage (there are a few in the same road as the Rembrandt). They are very cheap and very good.
In general, Bangkok is a great city with lovely people and it's very safe. Have fun!

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric H, General Manager at Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok, responded to this review, 16 February 2016
Dear Darren05

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us here at the Rembrandt Hotel during your recent trip to Bangkok and for taking the time to post your feedback. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated and we are so pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Thanks again and we shall look forward to your return.

With Kind Regards,

The Rembrandt Hotel Management Team
booknow@rembrandtbkk.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,047 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,975
    1,658
    313
    72
    29
See reviews for
680
2,002
267
337
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (721)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lucknow
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

Good hotel, great Indian restaurant - Rang Mahal. Good location.

Front desk was a big let down, check-in was too much trouble and people at the desk were rude, except that everything else was good. Clean rooms and value for money.

Do note that they charge you extra for an early check-in which is still based on availability. It would still have been justified if early check-in was guaranteed after paying but unfortunately even if they have rooms available when you check-in they might still charge you for checking early, strange and unheard of.

Also they charged me almost half the room rent for an extra bed eroding much of the value proposition for me.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rajatgarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SenorPico, General Manager at Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
Dear Rajatgarg

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and opinions about our property and service on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your room.

We take your feedback seriously and, therefore, would like to apologize for any inconveniences caused while staying at our hotel. We would appreciate if you could tell us your room number so we can fix all the issues you mentioned.

If you have any questions or comments please feel free to contact us at any time.

Thank you & best regards,
The Rembrandt Team
booknow@rembrandtbkk.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner visited the hotel at the beginning of our travelling trip! Everyone who asked us where we were staying couldn't believe we were backpackers! For Thais and backpackers this hotel is very expensive! We booked this hotel from home 8 months before we started the trip which is why we could afford the cost at the time! I would recommend the hotel, it's lovely air conditioned room, bathroom is great other than the bath water - a few days when I ran the water it was green! I would suggest for anyone to use all the Main Street bars and restaurants! The bar especially at the hotel was double the price of what you will find 5 metres down the road! The free tuk tuk at the hotel is great but it will only drop you to the Main Street! And for the sake of 5 minutes walk and seeing the food stalls I preferred to walk! The swimming pool was great but if you wasn't out by the pool at around 9:30am you struggle to get a lounger! Other than the over priced bar it was a beautiful and quiet hotel with so much going on around it!

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SenorPico, General Manager at Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
Amy W

Thank you so much for your warm review and for sharing your experiences with us.
We put a lot of time and effort into what we do and are very happy to know that you left happy and satisfied with everything we have to offer.

We hope to see you in the near future at Rembrandt hotel.

If you have any further questions or comments please do not hesitate to contact us.

Thank you & best regards,

The Rembrandt team
booknow@rembrandtbkk.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

Awesome hotel, good area, third stay and we can’t wait to go back. Strongly suggest having a deluxe room over a superior room as they are just that bit nicer. You get bathrobes in the room and 3 bottles of water a day which is nice. Skytrain is so easy and cheap makes it easy to get to night markets, Central World etc. Terminal 21 great for food. Exchange tower has a great café (chu café?) with amazing eggs Benedict and hot chocolates, real coffee etc, you can actually get a flat white. Pool is a good size and nice loungers around the pool. Tour guide in the lobby also booked us some good tours at good prices and is super helpful if you need any advice. Ayutthaya Massage down the road does a great massage and is nicer and much more peaceful than other massage shops. They also do laundry at 80b per kg if needed. Only place in the area that seems to do laundry.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank kiwitraveller98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SenorPico, General Manager at Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
Dear Kiwitraveller98

Sincere thanks for taking the time to share your recent Rembrandt experience, and we are pleased to learn that you had a great stay with us. And thank you for your great rating.

The team will be very proud to note your comments on service, room and breakfast.

We hope to see you in the near future at Rembrandt hotel.

If you have any further questions or comments please do not hesitate to contact us.

Thank you & best regards,
The Rembrandt team
booknow@rembrandtbkk.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

We just stayed 3 nights on this hotel. We loved our rooms, we had 2 double rooms and a family room. There where space enough for us in the rooms. The family room had a bunk bed for the kids and a double bed for the adults. We had view down to the pool area from the family room.

The breakfast was great, with a lot of choices from cold to hot dishes. You could get soup, and the also make you eggs as you like them.

The hotel have a tuk tuk service down to Sukhumvit road, and from there you have less then 5 minutes walk to the skytrain station Asok, and the Terminal 21 shopping mall.

The pool area is nice, but a bit small. So if you want a sunchair you have to be up early to get one.

We tryed a couples massage at the spa, and it was great.

The restaurants at the hotel we tried was the mexican and the italian, and the food at both where delicious.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank norwegiandanish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SenorPico, General Manager at Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
Dear Norwegiandanish

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on Tripadvisor. Your words are highly appreciated and we are glad that you liked our product. We’re pleased to read that we met your expectations. We all hope to welcome you back with your friends in the near future. If you have any further question or comments please do not hesitate to contact us.

Thank you & best regards
The Rembrandt Team
booknow@rembrandtbkk.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hyderabad
Level Contributor
122 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

Rembrandt hotel bangkok is a very good hotel in Bangkok with very reasonable price and comforts almost matching 5 star + hotel. Very good spacious rooms and good staff. Wifi didnt work and after complaining atleast 10 people came and gave me explanation and sorry. They rectified it next day. Breakfast is very good at this hotel. Very good variety of food. Room Service didnt try. Everything else is ok.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoteladvice123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SenorPico, General Manager at Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
Dear Hoteladvice123

Thank you for your wonderful headline and review on your stay. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for the time and effort you have invested to rate us on Tripadvisor.

It was a pleasure having u as our guest here at the Rembrandt Hotel and we are already looking forward to your next visit.

If you have any further questions please feel free to contact us at any time.

Best regards
The Rembrandt Team
booknow@rembrandtbkk.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights in december and three nights in January at the Rembrandt. I loved our stay! The location in a quiet street off the busy Sukhumit was really good, close to where the shopping and restaurants are, close to the Skytrain (which we didn't use, we took cabs), but with no traffic noise around the hotel. Relaxing atmosphere, good pool area, maybe a bit crowded, attentive staff, decent breakfast (but no delicious bread), a cosy room with nice views. The decor is a little dated, but overall: just loved the place!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Golden butterflyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SenorPico, General Manager at Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
Dear Golden butterflyfish

Thank you for your kind and motivational words. We appreciate the effort and time you took to write us a review on Trip advisor.

We forwarded your comments to all our associates who felt honored serving guests like you.

We hope to welcome you back during your next trip to Bangkok and wish you a good time.
If you have any further questions or comments please feel free to contact us at any time.

Best regards

The Rembrandt Team
booknow@rembrandtbkk.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Sukhumvit
Park Plaza Bangkok Soi 18
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
#85 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Park Plaza Sukhumvit Bangkok
Amari Watergate Bangkok
#63 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok

Property: Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
Address: 19 Sukhumvit Soi 18, Sukhumvit Road, Klong Toei | Klong Toei, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#54 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#66 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#66 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#82 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 407
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok is conveniently located in the new, trendy Sukhumvit area of Bangkok. Our hotel is within walking distance of Asoke (BTS) as well as Sukhumvit (MRT) public transport stations offering our guests access to all major shopping, entertainment and nightlife areas of Bangkok. Here at the Rembrandt, we pride ourselves on our high levels of service, great food, diversity, offering great value for money and giving our guests the home away from home feeling.Welcome!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bangkok Rembrandt Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing