We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”
Review of The Tawana Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Tawana Bangkok
Ranked #232 of 866 Hotels in Bangkok
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent value”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I found that the hotel exceeded my expectations for the price they charged. It is located in Silom, a business district with lots of tourist services, with excellent connections to other places. There are restaurants, a night market, massage parlours, shops etc. all around. Some looked a bit sleazy, especially at night, but overall I enjoyed the exuberant activity and the tastes and colours of the place.

The room was spacious, the bed comfortable and the service friendly and efficient. The breakfast menu was ok, although I was not enthralled with the orange juice and the tasty yoghurt is only served in tiny portions.

It is forbidden to take visitors to your room after 6 p.m., but that was not a problem for me. (I wonder how they enforce this rule.)

I swam in the hotel pool, it was a little cool (deep and shadowed by the high buildings all around) but pleasant exercise all the same. Brazilan samba music at just the right volume added to my enjoyment of the swim.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    474
    167
    39
    25
See reviews for
64
238
132
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I have stayed here now about 5 times and over the years have started to see the rooms slowly fade away. A nice coat of fresh paint, some new carpet etc would do wonders for this grand hotel. Showers need to be renewed as well, standing in a bathtub to have a shower went out in the 70's. Plastic shower curtain always getting in the way, surprisingly takes forever for cold water to get through the taps, at first I thought I had two hot water taps.

However saying all of this, location is great for the Patpong market, the BTS and the night life. Staff are always very helpful and never found any trouble with them. Only disappointment was the security guy who comes on duty about 6.00pm and scrutinises everyone heading to the elevators. They have a policy now of no visitors in guests rooms after 6.00pm which I find a bit off-putting, if I have paid for the room why can't I have a visitor???

So be warned if you plan bringing any visitors of any type back to your room after 6.00pm, especially if they are a local as they may get the third degree.

Other than that the price is good, but DEFINITELY book online, I had to stay a few extra days and to book my room at the front counter would have been double the amount charged to book online. Was nice of the receptionist to tell me this :-)

Outside renovations were in progress as I was here, the main reception room is spotless, just individual rooms need a make-over.

Room Tip: Think carefully before paying for room with breakfast, extra charge for my room was 500bath and no w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scottik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Excellent value for money hotel in the heart of Silom close to Patpong night market. Tawana is showing her age in the rooms which vary widely. First few nights we were in room 628 painted a vivid green with white furniture a bit tatty and totally out of character for the rest of the hotel. On our return a few days later we were initially put into a room on 11th floor which sounded good until we got there and it was a smoking room which stank. They changed the room without question and we then got room 620 which was much more in character for this lovely old hotel. Service excellent throughout our stay and the breakfast buffet was satisfactory but we do remember it being better when we stayed here 3 years ago. The Tawana is convenient for the BTS and local shopping just a short walk away.
A nice hotel which I would return to again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The hotel is excellently situated with both business and entertainment being close by.
It is a while since I last stayed at the hotel and there has been some refurbishment, this has been tastefully done without losing the character of the place.
The room was quite spacious, good sized ans appointed bathroom with plenty of pressure in the shower, Bed was comfortable as were the pillows.
The restaurant is also well on a par with the rest of the hotel.
The staff were all polite and genial but for a hotel in the area a better understanding of English would have been expected particularly in the front line areas like the bar, on several occasions I has to translate for my partner.
Overall though a good hotel that has moved forward well but some it would be good if the management could give some attention to staff training.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Stayed here on numerous occasions, if not here the Furama, but here more central and less expensive. Room size good, free wifi, swimming pool set in an inclosed garden area, Gym small and not very great. Staff very helpful and attentive, within waking distance to night market & numerous bars & resturants

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The hotel is kinda old but the room is quite clean and comfortable. the bathroom is ok if ur not too picky. anyway its clean but not so luxurious. but the simple thai style is good enough. the location is quite good since its not far from BTS Sala Daeng station.thats why i like it because u can just take airport link and BTS from airport to the hotel, not taxi, and thats cheaper. its not far from Patpong night market so u can just bargain and shop. also there are many mini marts and restaurants near the hotel, so basically its a nice choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dafei Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johore Bahru, Johor, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

It's an old hotel but rooms are well mantained.theres a small oasis like pool area on 2nd floor.Lobby a bit dark due to mezannie floor.floor corridors nicely done up.
Patpong nite spots n nite market is diagonally across the road.tro patpong block about 150m,are the silom skytrain and underground-near Dusit thani Hotel.
Many convenient sshops,foot massage,F&B outlets etc.
Breakfast pricy but one can find cheap alternatives within 5 minutes walk-italian,Thai etc.
Overall Silom/Suriwong is ssort of central bangkok,not far from Sukhumvit,pratunan shopping,Yaowarat China town etc.
Good location,comfortable value for money hotel.i likee it's eye level easy to use in cabinet safe deposit box.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Segmin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
The Siam Heritage
The Siam Heritage
#189 of 866 in Bangkok
882 reviews
Silom
Montien Hotel Bangkok
Montien Hotel Bangkok
#380 of 866 in Bangkok
867 reviews
Silom
The Tarntawan Hotel Surawong Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
De Arni Bangkok
De Arni Bangkok
#472 of 866 in Bangkok
169 reviews
Silom
Le Siam Hotel
Le Siam Hotel
#270 of 866 in Bangkok
402 reviews
Silom
Rose Hotel
Rose Hotel
#412 of 866 in Bangkok
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tawana Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tawana Bangkok

Property: The Tawana Bangkok
Address: 80 Surawongse Road | Si Phraya, Bang Rak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #232 of 866 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tawana Bangkok 3*
Number of rooms: 265
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Tawana Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tawana Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Tawana Hotel Bangkok
Ramada Bangkok
Bangkok Tawana Hotel
Bangkok Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing