We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and cosy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Golden Tulip Sovereign Hotel Bangkok
Ranked #326 of 862 Hotels in Bangkok
Puchong, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice and cosy”
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here twice on a business trip. I got to enjoy the executive lounge on the 22nd floor. Very excellent service from the attentive and courteous staff! Two thumbs up!
My room was spacious and clean.
It is about a 10-15 min walk to the nearest subway station and shopping mall but the path does not look very inviting - I wouldn't walk it alone at night.

Helpful?
Thank StChin
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    215
    96
    25
    15
See reviews for
58
132
37
120
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aalen
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

I have been there during two business trips to Bangkok. Hotel was good, actually close to four stars in Tripadvisor. However it is a little far away from everything but the RCA. Public transportation such as the metro train is also not really in walking distance. Breakfast was good with many choices. A lot of airline crews stay here also. Checking in and out was easy and fast. Wifi is free, but coverage and speed are just average and could be improved. Room was fine and clean. Would stay there again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank SchillerOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Admittedly, we only stayed here for one night after being bumped off Emirates flight (against our will) but we were treated like second class citizens by the more senior staff (waitresses, desk staff were pleasant enough and helpful).

We went into the restaurant and were looking at the main menu when the manager snatched the menu off my wife declaring that we were only allowed the buffet. He also took the wine menu away as "we had to pay for this"

Nothing to do there - too remote - next to a construction site - next to a six lane highway.

My advice is to stay clear!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Hotshotchippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I stayed at the Golden Tulip Sovereign Hotel because I was attending a seminar at the hotel.
The hotel's is probably (over)due for some renovations - its age is showing in the furniture and fittings.
The location is rather remote - near the airport, but hardly anything else. There's nothing within walking distance except a hospital. The nearest BTS station is Asok, which is quite some distance away by taxi.
There's free Wi-Fi for guests, but you need to login with an impossible-to-remember combination of user ID and password which is valid for only 24 hours. And you need to logout on one device before you can login on another device with the same user ID and password, which expires after 24 hours.
The breakfast was very average and certainly not good value for money (by Bangkok standards) but then there is hardly anything else in the vicinity.
I stayed in a 'deluxe' room which had an LCD TV, but I heard the 'superior' rooms have CRT TVs!?
Considering the prices, this hotel is definitely not good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Not sure why anyone would stay here, it's old, dark and has a smell of old stale hotel. Location is out of the way next to the highway with nothing around the hotel worth visiting. The pool area is old and right next to the highway. Only meal I had was the breakfast buffet which was almost inedible, bitter strong tea, powder orange juice, sweet bread, saggy scrambled eggs and sausages with consistency making you think they were made of powder. The plastic flowers and the bottle opener mounted on the wall pretty much sets the mood of the cosiness of the rooms...

Bangkok has so many other hotels, and even at this low price range one can find something a lot better.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HKexpat88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Stay here for few night on business trip.room is big but a bit old,free wifi but sometime is weak when room located away from the Reuter.
Location of hotel is near to Rama 9 where lot of bar n pub around that area n also very close to central plaza a big shopping mall..free shuttle provide every hours n only 10min travel time to/from.
If not interested going to downtown area this is a good option as traffic jam is really bad nowaday in Bangkok .

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Vincent C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed at the Tulip for one night in February not my own choice!
My flight was cancelled so my airline put me up in the Golden Tulip .
I arrived at 3am and my first impressions were not great, the hotel had a musty old unused smell
in the reception area, I thought the hotel was empty and only used for airline cancellations.
My room was clean but had the same old unused musty smell of the reception area.
The Tulip was on the outskirts of Bangkok but in a good location for the airport .
We where given full board for our one night stay and I was not disappointed with the food,
The restaurant buffet was superb, fantastic choice of fresh food, my compliments to the chefs!
The Tulip had a large swimming pool which overlooked a busy highway! not the best air quality for sunbathing,
Over all the Golden tulip was OK for a stop over but I wouldn't recommend it for a long stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lpool63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Golden Tulip Mandison Suites
Golden Tulip Mandison Suites
#153 of 862 in Bangkok
804 reviews
Sukhumvit
AVANI Atrium Bangkok
AVANI Atrium Bangkok
#139 of 862 in Bangkok
1,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hi Residence
#661 of 862 in Bangkok
119 reviews
Chiva Residence Bangkok
#498 of 862 in Bangkok
15 reviews
Dusit Princess Srinakarin
#108 of 862 in Bangkok
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Sovereign Hotel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Sovereign Hotel Bangkok

Property: Golden Tulip Sovereign Hotel Bangkok
Address: 92 Soi Saengcham, Rama 9 Road | Huay Kwang, Bangkok 10320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#208 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Sovereign Hotel Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in an ideal location adjacent to the main motorway to the Suvarnabhumi International Airport The hotel is only a 20 minute drive from airport and has a modern- contemporary design. It is a perfect destination for business and leisure guests alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Tulip Sovereign Hotel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Bangkok
Bangkok Radisson
Radisson Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing