We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a shocker!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Unico Express Hotel
Ranked #783 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“What a shocker!”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The old saying is your get what you pay for and the Unico Express is a good example of that. I did wonder why their pictures on the website were all from the outside and of local attraction more than of the rooms.

I was very surprised and hopeful when I was dropped off out the front, very nice reception area and very friendly staff......all 20 of them. The check in was straight forward and the staff extremely efficient and was escorted to my room with a porter carrying my bags.

This is where it goes bad. The room is shocking, small, dirty, damaged and just bad. The TV only has 10 working channels and maybe one in English and Ill be here for week with just me and the BBC! There is actually graffiti on the wall beside the bed.....never seen that before! The light beside the bed is just hanging off the wall, the lino flooring was lifted up and missing pieces.

Anyway, the location is good and the price is ok and the bed is pretty comfortable but you can do better.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    113
    142
    105
    107
See reviews for
43
69
87
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Hotel is central, reasonable rated, good and friendly staff, clean rooms and neat bathrooms rooms. What was the highlight is the good quality bed. I stayed in delux room. If I visit Bangkok, here is where I would stay.

Room Tip: Choose delux room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gunjan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 November 2013

in a nutshell, if you are used to staying in decent hotels when you travel but because of the low price you pick unico express, a bad bad decision. I stayed in this hotel 5 nights last year only because it was close to Bumrungrath hospital. Everything about this hotel is below average. You get what you pay for. I know some other decent hotels around the hospital now (around $60 per night mark). Never going to stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomal62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Taipei
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I came to BKK every year , this the most terrible hotel , I has been stay so far ,
when I open the room , bathroom was dirty , and everything in room look old and dirty , the door look like someone was break in , when I inform front desk ,first in the begin was agree me move to other room in second day , and second day in the morning when I went to front desk ask move room , they told me hotel full booking , if I want move room I have to pay extra 15 USD to better room , I told them I will not pay extra money , they either clean the room they was gave to me , or move me to other room , funny thing is they have space for me to move after I told them I will not pay extra , really bad experience , never stay here again ,

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathu510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mawanella
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Mmmmmmmmmmmmm Value for the price but price is not everything, I will not go this cheap again, since it was just one night we booked in to the hotel, it was not expected, rooms were big but need refurbishing, it was nothing what they show on Agoda, the BF was OK, staff too was not that bad, when we came back there was no power and they dint have a backup generator so no elevator we dint want to climb all the way may be some 18 floors, we slept on the couch knowing there wouldn’t be AC too in the room, I wonder what happens to the elevator while on the move, are we going to be stuck there? check this before booking, overall this what you get for what you pay, if you’re on budget go for it or pay more for the TAXI and be out of town, this is not my type of hotel

Room Tip: Try to get in low floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crishanthe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne, australia.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

after an overnight flight and arriving tired and jet lagged at 7am i was told my room wouldnt be available until 2pm......extremely unimpressed. no offer of water, coffee or breakfast from the disinterested staff. front desk suggested i might like to sleep by the pool! rather than rest on one of many couches. i waited and i waited. at 11am i was shown to my economy room. believe me, nothing like the photos! black mould in the bathroom, dirty old tap fittings, a rusty, dinged up refrigerator i would expect to find in the tipping yard and a bashed up sideboard/cupboard with its edges so damaged you could see its chipboard construction underneath the plastic veneer, also long overdue for the scrap heap. i was shocked. definately not what i was expecting. and i was quite prepared to trudge the streets and find a new hotel if things didnt get better. i paid 300 baht per night extra for a very comfortable upgrade.....the complete opposite.....clean white cotton linens, modern fittings, smart bathroom, newly re-furbished, good aircon and lighting, secure and with a safe. and then there was the breakfast debacle - cold food, scraps of food, no fast top ups of what was being consumed quickly, no frills food, fake orange juice, tepid coffee and tea super super weak, uncleared tables, incompetant staff/not enough staff (given the large tour group present), violent movies on large flat screen and bad piped music competing. so given everything i have said, tolerance levels, aesthetics, food quality, etc on my/your holiday need to be considered......i can't recommend this hotel, as much as it's staff's typical thai politeness tried it's operation was too clunky and clumsy for me to feel completely comfortable......i guess you only get what you pay for. and just to add....rooms were under re-construction whilst i stayed.....that's promising!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roamlikequeens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I request not to stay in this hotel. All the pictures given in the website are COMPLETELY FAKE..
I room size is too small to stay...bed covers were dirty, no window in the room, suffocating, narrow aisle passage, staffs were not supporting.Ver bad ambience, dirty. We stayed there from 11th Sep - 13 Sep 2013..
PLEASE NOTE :- Specially for INDIANS, the door of the washroom is completely transparent in SUPERIOIR ROOMS, even there is no curtain.
The sofa set of the Deluxe rooms are simply pathetic..
We made a mistake of booking this hotel and paying for it....
Plz dont make the mistake like us...
Better make a comfortable stay with the same price in other hotels..

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 994MOUSE14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Royal Asia Lodge Bangkok
Royal Asia Lodge Bangkok
#778 of 858 in Bangkok
428 reviews
Sukhumvit
The Euro Grande Hotel
The Euro Grande Hotel
#490 of 858 in Bangkok
186 reviews
Sukhumvit
Royal Ivory Sukhumvit Nana By Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Nana Hiso Hotel
Nana Hiso Hotel
#497 of 858 in Bangkok
3 reviews
Sukhumvit
Aspira Hiptique
Aspira Hiptique
#714 of 858 in Bangkok
241 reviews
Sukhumvit
FuramaXclusive Sukhumvit
FuramaXclusive Sukhumvit
#416 of 858 in Bangkok
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unico Express Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unico Express Hotel

Property: Unico Express Hotel
Address: 74 Sukhumvit Soi 3 | Khlongtoey-Nua, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #783 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Unico Express Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Unico group is pleased to be able to introduce The Unico Express Sukhumvit, situated in the heart of Bangkok with easy access to a wealth of amenities and some of the most specular sights Thailand has to offer.This property offers excellent value for money to price conscience guests with a transparent pricing scheme that is affordable for all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Unico Express Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unico Leela Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing