We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dishonest management staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marvel Hotel Bangkok
Ranked #501 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dishonest management staff”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

The management of this hotel is very dishonest and sleazy. I stayed at this hotel in February 2014 and gave my credit card to hold a deposit for the total cost of my stay. I booked it through Expedia and the terms are that I was supposed to pay the hotel directly in cash(THB). The night before my checking out I paid cash and the two girls at the reservation desk (housekeeping supervisor and the evening manager) said the credit card will be refunded promptly. It is now 2 months and no refund back to the credit card. STAY AWAY FROM THIS HOTEL.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    87
    103
    44
    46
See reviews for
66
89
47
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
163 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I think this place is pretty good for its price and you can easily take a taxi to different sightseeing areas. The staff is not that friendly even at check in - they're very quiet and don't seem to address the client as friendly as they should.

The kitchen staff during breakfast is very friendly and they have a multi-cuisine breakfast which was good.

Room Tip: it's in the middle of a busy street so I think it doesn't really matter which direction faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This hotel is adequate. The front of house staff are polite and helpful and those that have a better command of English are far more helpful than others. The rooms are basic,clean and comfortable but the bathrooms are sadly in need of refurbishment. Water to the basin was variable when on cold, but I have to say the shower was excellent.
It is fairly heavily frequented by tour parties and our experience of that is that they can be inconsiderate of others, being totally wrapped up in their own needs, this particularly applying to Indian tourists.
The breakfasts are interesting, presenting Thai and Indian cooking with a selection of fruit and a slight shot at some European breakfasts. I enjoyed the spicy Thai breakfasts for a change along with some Indian curry. Makes a change from home.
Location wise, it is near to train and busses, both of which we used and they get you about the city and provide a different experience. The downside of this location is that restaurants are restricted, there is better to be had further afield.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derms-reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
122 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

This was our second time staying here. The staff both in reception and restaurant are very efficient and helpful. The rooms are very clean with tea and coffee making facilities,downside bathroom too small. The wifi did not work well in the room and TV very old with not a good choice of channels. The breakfast still favored the Indian or Asian clientele who I have to say out number every one else. The Swimming pool area very disappointing wish we had looked at this on our last visit but weather was not good. There are not enough sunbeds round the pool and it is so narrow. If you get a deal it is still good value but a bit far away from the Skye Train.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllyBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

The hotel was booked for me at a very short notice and I arrived there late evening on 7th March. Check-in was smooth and the staff at the reception was friendly. The whole process of check-in took about 10 minutes.

Before departure, I had read some reviews, based on which I was expecting to find a very small room, but to my surprise the room size was fairly decent. The room was clean, the carpet did not seem too old, and the sheets on the bed were spotless.

The facilities in the room included a mini-bar, a complimentary tea / coffee maker, complimentary bottled water, a TV (not flat-screen), and a decent sized working table.

On the down side, the bathroom was small. However, it was clean. The only other issue I had was that I could not connect to the wi-fi throughout my stay despite having been given the password.

The breakfast buffet was fairly decent and had a good selection of cereals, juices, breads, fruits, Indian & Thai dishes, and eggs to order.

Overall, A good, value-for money hotel in the Sukhumvit area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rajiv B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indore
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Went there for a business commencing leisure trip and found the hotel slightly above average. There would definitely be better budget hotels in Bangkok. The food was decent and there is very good Indian restaurant adjacent to the hotel which I would highly recommend to anyone interested.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank VaibhavIndore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Normally stay in another hotel in Bangkok (5 years) but this year we decided to change. So pleased we did. Couldn't fault this Hotel. So pleased too that they have smoking and non smoking rooms. Excellent!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xxxbloss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
RetrOasis Hotel
RetrOasis Hotel
#399 of 858 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Sukhumvit
Check Inn Regency Park
Check Inn Regency Park
#250 of 858 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Sukhumvit
President Park Bangkok
President Park Bangkok
#323 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Hotel Mermaid Bangkok
Hotel Mermaid Bangkok
#179 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Sukhumvit
D Varee Diva Bally Sukhumvit
D Varee Diva Bally Sukhumvit
#294 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Sukhumvit
Le Fenix Sukhumvit
Le Fenix Sukhumvit
#342 of 858 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marvel Hotel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marvel Hotel Bangkok

Property: Marvel Hotel Bangkok
Address: 30 Sukhumvit Rd Soi 22 | Klongtoey District, Bangkok 10110, Thailand (Formerly Grand Mercure Bangkok Park Avenue)
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#245 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Marvel Hotel Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in Bangkok's Sukhumvit area, Marvel Hotel Bangkok is a 5-minute walk from Prompong BTS Skytrain ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marvel Hotel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Bangkok Park Avenue Hotel Bangkok
Mercure Hotel Bangkok
Grand Accor Park Avenue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing