We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Biggest mistake”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marvel Hotel Bangkok
Ranked #459 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

I went there with my friends and booked for three nights as a package tour but when we enter into the room, we realised that we had made a mistake.
Room was too dirty. Wall paints was in very bad situation and walls are very dirty... Size of washroom was tooooo tiny...
I called at reception and told them the problem and then they said no other room available today but they will upgrade me to deluxe room next day... But we got the same category room with little bit better condition.

Overall i will suggest if you want to stay at 4 star hotel don't choose thus hotel at all... As per my experience it was a unrated hotel. Very rude staff at reception. Small pool, too bad break fast. All three days we had only bread and butter only.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank thecoolguy02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

211 - 217 of 368 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

I stayed at the Marvel Hotel for almost two weeks while attending a conference at a nearby hotel. Most attendees stayed at the hotel where the conference was but it was very expensive. I was pleasantly surprised to discover Marvel was right across the road and was almost half the price of rooms at the other place. My room was decent, it was decently clean and well maintained. The windows were a little thin so you could hear noise from outside (specifically a rooster that liked to wake me up). The staff were very friendly and were very accommodating. Breakfast was decent, it filled me up every day. The pool was clean, and I never saw anyone else in it so it was relaxing. The live music at mid-day in the restaurant/lounge seemed a little out of place, but if you like one-man karaoke it was alright. The Air Conditioning worked really well, almost to well, so I usually had to turn it off at some point in the night as I was cold.

The Location is great. You are within a short walk of Sukhmuvit and the Phrom Phong BTS station. There are also quite a few decent restaurants close-by including a fantastic Indian Restaurant right outside the door.

Room Tip: If you can avoid getting a room that looks West you will not have to hear the rooster at the little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thekirkby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed in this hotel 10 days back,there are not one but a number of bad experiences awaiting you if you dare to stay here :
1) Rude staff :
(a)we were even told to wash our own glasses when we asked for the glasses to be changed
(b)they looked,laughed and passed comments whenever any couple or family passes the gate
2)No room service for food at all
3) Complimentary breakfast
(a)We had the same thing for continuous 3 days
(b)After 10 am they donot even give you a glass of water and start packing up stuff from the serving hall its insulting and embarrassing both
4)The rooms are terribly small
5)The Bathroom is conjusted with no hand shower or rolls
6) Lastly when we asked for a Phone Call to a Local Thai number they said its cost 24 Baht a min(50 Rs approx per min)

I request sincerly to stay away and discourage such disastrous hospitality.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Anwesha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Hotel is located centrally in area with all the other five stars. Rooms are big and well furnished with free wi-fi facility. Hotel staff is very helpful and also fluent in English. They serve variety of dishes in complimentary breakfast which includes many Veg Indian options. Hotel ambience is really nice. It was a comfortable and memorable stay there.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yashpalchugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Better don't opt for this hotel ... Floor/ carpet was stinking .. Washrooms are very small in size .. Overall not recommend ..we'd booked our package through make my trip.com & they claimed that it is 3* category but it was not

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Neha_Kap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Don't expect 4 star frills and an immaculate room here, but do not let that put you off, if you get the right deal. I paid no more than £23 a night to stay here and therefore it is generally true of course that you get what you pay for. Hotel staff, however, are very friendly, hotel reception, restaurant and lobby are attractive and modern. The actual rooms are a bit dated with dark wood (bit chipped and shabby in places) and bathrooms in need of attention. Nothing too bad that would affect you greatly - simply a little bit dated and needing a re-decor. Overall represented good value for money, nice pool with sun in the morning and short period on afternoon. Breakfast was fine with a good mixture of international cuisines. Soi 22 is away from it all - yet it has its own micro nightlife and entertainment (which you may even prefer) and is also a short walk or BTS ride to the madness of the main areas - so perfect location. Marvel is mid way down Soi 22 and therefore if you want to spend more you can find other hotels at the entrance to Soi 22 which put you nearer the BTS lines. I looked at that option and have stayed at the Queens Park Imperial for instance but value for money I have to stick with Marvel. Holiday Inn is right near entrance to Soi but not stayed there yet. Ideal location that would be for sure but expect you will pay more. With a ten minute stroll you will at the Asok shopping area and the madness of Soi Cowboy nightlife if thats your thing and a ten minute stroll in the other direction you would be at Phrom Phong BTS. From the BTS everything is accessible.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up that overlooks the street and not the pool and rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin_Tyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The breakfast provided at this hotel is awful, specifically they for Indian dishes they don't even refill the food till the customers leaves the restaurant. rooms are extremely shady and dark. Only advantage is the location, its on a best of Sukumvit location.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ANTONYREVIEWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Admiral Suites Bangkok by Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
D Varee Diva Bally Sukhumvit
D Varee Diva Bally Sukhumvit
#308 of 891 in Bangkok
730 reviews
Sukhumvit
Check Inn Regency Park
Check Inn Regency Park
#222 of 891 in Bangkok
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
President Park Bangkok
President Park Bangkok
#344 of 891 in Bangkok
805 reviews
Sukhumvit
Citrus Sukhumvit 13 by Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
The Manhattan Sukhumvit Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marvel Hotel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marvel Hotel Bangkok

Address: 30 Sukhumvit Rd Soi 22 | Klongtoey District, Bangkok 10110, Thailand (Formerly Grand Mercure Bangkok Park Avenue)
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#246 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £29 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marvel Hotel Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in Bangkok's Sukhumvit area, Marvel Hotel Bangkok is a 5-minute walk from Prompong BTS Skytrain ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Marvel Hotel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Bangkok Park Avenue Hotel Bangkok
Mercure Hotel Bangkok
Grand Accor Park Avenue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing