We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegent grand hotel on the river, impeccable service, great food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Ranked #21 of 883 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2011

One of the Bangkok classic hotels: great location on the river, close to the Oriental and right next to the Skytrain and river bus pier. Has two separate wings. We stayed in the Krungtep wing, with free breakfast, free soft drinks round the pool all day, free happy hour and impeccable service. With a little pressure, the hotel shoe-horned two extra beds into our room for our kids. The connected original wing has a better pool, a great casual restaurant and a classy traditional Thai restaurant overlooking the river. It is a couple of minutes walk along a corridor of conference rooms. Although there are newer, more fashionable hotels, this is still a great choice if you want to be on the river

Room Tip: Good for service, food, river, access to transport
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grahaem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (8,447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,486 - 5,492 of 8,452 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2011

We stayed in this top class hotel overnight on our way out to Vietnam and it is an absolutely superb hotel. From the moment they picked us up at the airport - which we had already paid for - when they greeted us in a Merc leather seated minivan and gave us cold mint perfumed towels to wipe ourselves over with and iced water, to the time tthey spent sorting out our problems they were fabulous. The rooms are immaculate and large, the staff bend over backwards to be helpful, the breakfast buffet is the best I have EVER seen and I have been to quite a few really nice hotels in my time.

We also stayed here on the way back home - overnight - and one of the couples with us had a problem with their air con in the night. It caused a large pool of water on the carpet as it wasnt operating correctly. The manager came straight up to see my friends, moved them to another room, did not charge them for their overnight stay and refunded our dropoff to the airport! On leaving in the minivan to go back to the airport for the flight there was the Manager, the Assistant Manager and a door man all helping us into the van and apologising profusely for the upset.

Our hotels should take a leaf out of this one's book and get their customer service up to scratch.

We all agreed it was the best hotel we had ever stayed in. The position is also superb overlooking the river and there is a pool on the ground floor by the river with a bar and restaurant.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank razzzzzzamatazzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2011

I an bangkoker and stayed at this hotel wih my family for one night. This hotel is located at a very good location prepably the best one in Bangkok. Coz it's just next to sky train (tak sin bridge) and 1 min from silom expressway, also can take an express boat just 4 min walk from the hotel. Overall is just only except the hotel is so width to walk across from shangrila wing to krung Thep wing. Breakfast and dinner buffer are so fabulous, very variety and have thai food fresh cook outside. I also organized a meeting function with
Shang, overall is great but please request staff in advance if you would like to have your business meeting in quite area as last time they set my meeting room opposited the engagement party and sometimes itla very noisy

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kunny84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2011

We have stayed twice at the shangri-la, last year and for 3 nights this march prior to flying on to koh samui. We got a brilliant price via lastminute.com (they beat flight centre) we had a horizon club room on both stays -well worth it for the extra's - breakfast (can be taken in the club lounge or in the next 2 restaurant) both great, loved a table on the river with a massive breakfast buffet - amazing!! Horizon club provides soft drinks and snacks all day - great for after a heavy mornings sight seeing prior to going to the pool for the afternoon! Evening drinks and canapes for 2 hours prior to going out.

Easy taxi to patpong market - brilliant fun!

Easy 5 min walk to boats for trips up the river to wat arun/wat poh/kings palace/china town etc., so cheap!! Near to sky bar (scirroco) and other restaurants for magnificent views over bangkok at night - very expensive £15 for 2 singha beers!! but ...... has to be done for the experience.

Wonderful hotel and restaurants, will be back!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lw007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

Stayed in the Krungthep Wing for 3 night because of the flooding in Koh Samui. Not our first visit to the Shangri La. We stayed on the 16th floor and at the opposite end of the wing from the busy bridge. Everything spotlessly clean as usual although I can see why people do think the decor (particularly in the bathroom) is a little dated. However, the riverside location and views more than make up for it. Where this wing wins hands dow is the butler service and the freebies included in the package. We tend to sightsee very early morning and then head back to the pool around 2pm for the afternoon teas, which are excellent. A few hours sunbathing and swimming and we watch the sunsets from the balcony while being served endless supplies fo free cocktails and canapees by the butler before heading out for the night.

It was my birthday during our stay and the hotel gave me a free seafood barbecue buffet dinner for 2 (which was unexpected) and the most moist and melting chocolate birthday cake. Yummy. The hubby was in hog heaven and his tummy almost burst by the time he had finsihed going back for 2nds and 3rds.

All in all very good value and service for a 5 star hotel

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twiggyrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2011

Stayed at the Shangri La for 3 nights after a long journey from Jersey. This was my first time in Bangkok, before heading to the beaches in the south. The hotel is in a fantastic location, a 20 minute boat ride from the Grand Palace, Wat Arum and Golden Buddha, a five minute walk to the Sky bar at Lebua State Tower and 20 minutes on the Sky train (which is 2 minutes away from the hotel) to the night markets at Sala Daeng and between Nana and Asok.

You did not feel like you were in the middle of a big city when sitting by the pool on the river. Water and fresh fruit were regularly handed out by the pool boys which was lovely.

We had a river view room on the 16th floor. The room was big, good aircon and had a balcony to sit on and watch bangkok river life go on, which was fascinating to watch.

The breakfast selection was great, otherwise I did not eat at the hotel. The gym was great, nice views of the river and more modern equipment at the Fitness First back home.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Bangkok and am considering going back before the long journey home!

Room Tip: Had a river view room with balcony, no regrets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2011

We (2 adults, one child aged 10) just spent 3 nights at this wonderful hotel. We decided to stay at the Krungthep Wing, taking advantage of the Dream Deals package, and we are so happy that we did.
Upon arrival at the airport we were met by a hotel representative who called our driver (included in room deal) and made sure that we were comfortably seated in the car. Hard not to be - the car was fab!
We arrived very early in the morning (06:30) and did not expect our room to be ready, so we were very happy to learn that not only was it ready, we could also go straight there and do the check-in. Again, smooth and quick. After that, the butler knocked on our door with a welcome drink and showed us all the room features.
The room itself is not modern, but comfortable. It is quite big, and provided enough space for the three of us. We were on the 8th floor, and even though we looked straight out over river and skytrain/highway (meaning that it was quite noisy) we liked the balcony; and once you closed the windows it was completely silent inside. No noise whatsoever. You have an oldfashioned tv with a CD/DVD-player. Bathroom was big with tub and shower and lovely amenities from L'Occitaine. Fresh fruit and complimentary soft drinks in minibar provided every day.

The Krungthep wing has its own pool, which unfortunately was closed for the first day of our stat, we did not mind that and went to the other pool instead.

When staying at the Krungthep Wing you get complimentary Afternoon Tea (which was amazing) and from early evening to 7:30pm canapes and drinks are served (again, complimentary) in the lounge or in your room, if you prefer. I must say that we had to hold back in order to have any room left for dinner. Drinks and canapes were all delicious.
Breakfast is also served in the lounge and again - so delicious!

I decided to try out the spa CHI - truly wonderful and not to be missed!

We did not have high expectations to this hotel, which might help in my review, but I must say that we truly enjoyed every moment of our stay and we will not hesitate to stay here again or to recommend it to friends and family. We have previously stayed at Peninsula and Banyan Tree - but we think that our stay at the Krungthep Wing is by far the best we have had in Bangkok so far.

Room Tip: Look at website for great deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katrineCPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
The Peninsula Bangkok
#11 of 883 in Bangkok
4,465 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#30 of 883 in Bangkok
6,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Address: 89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#20 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £125 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 802
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok, is a 5-star luxury hotel in Silom district, Bangkok. The design and appointments express the welcoming warmth and richness of Thai culture throughout the hotel, from traditional teak dining pavilions to the most up-to-date room features.The hotel has a total of 802 rooms including 72 suites in two wings, Shangri-La and Krungthep, and is adjacent to the Saphan Taksin station of the Skytrain, Bangkok's elevated metro system.The hotel also offers fully-serviced apartments for guests wishing a longer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelbag, LoveHolidays, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Agoda, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Shangri La Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing