We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Ranked #23 of 894 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 December 2011

Time after time, coming back to the Shangri-La Bangkok, is like returning home, only the setting is different. The staff of this hotel know how to make a guest feel welcome and at home, and the service is always attentive and excellent. For this reason my wife and I always seem to gravitate back to this place that has always made the list of one of the best 100 hotels in the world. Whether one stays at the Krungthep wing or on the other side, one is guaranteed of a wonderful stay. The award winning river cafe is reputed to have the best buffet lunch and dinner in Bangkok, and that says a lot for a city with many fabulous hotels. The Italian restaurant, Angelini, is also reputed to be the best of its kind in the city. This New Year we will try out the Hongkong Dim Sum in their gorgeous Chinese restaurant. So what more can one say in favour of this outstanding place?

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeterHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8,865)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,605 - 5,611 of 8,865 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2011

We stayed in a river view executive suite for two nights as a layover enroute to Samui. This our second stay at this hotel and all I can say is it just gets better. We were pampered from start to finish and our visits to the Horizon club were met with the warmest welcomes from the wonderful staff who work at the hotel. Our room was immaculate, and when we had an electrical issue with the room it was seen to almost immediately. When we left we felt like we were leaving friends. The service is first class and my wife and I both agree that we will be back for a longer visit. We travel 5 star everywhere, and they do it better than anyone we have stayed with so far.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gbasky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

What can I say. It is reccommended to be one of the best hotels and it really was. I greatly enjoyed everything. The Service was stunning as well as the whole ambience. Thak you very much.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tomchester1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

We frequently stay at Shangri-La hotels and generally at least once a year at this property on the banks of the Chao Praya in Bangkok. Returning often, It is always good to see the continuity of some of the staff and their continuing welcomes and smiles, particularly as, on this occasion, a number of them were suffering losses and distress with the flooding of their homes.

The pool area of the Shangri-La wing has improved over the past couple of years and is now a lovely place to sit and/or swim and an excellent location to view the passing traffic on the Chao Praya. Add the free cold water, little refreshing fruit drinks and the improved lunch time service at the Next2 restaurant and it is excellent particularly if, like me, you wish to while away time relaxing (my husband was working a lot of the time!) in a city where you have seen most of the sight-seeing options on offer. We have eaten in Angelini’s restaurant a few times and have always experienced great service and food.

We choose to stay in the Krungthep Wing for its “added” services – the opportunity to move to a quieter pool in the afternoon where you are served afternoon tea by the very attentive pool attendants Samai and Mai; the evening cocktail served to your room and enjoyed on your balcony overlooking the evening traffic – both boats and cars (yes it can be quite noisy but you are in a large city so complete quiet would never be achieved); and the quieter atmosphere in the beautiful lobby/reception area. This hotel is also perfectly placed close by the Saphin Taksin Bridge skytrain station and public/hotel boat ferry services making it easy to move around the city.

The only comment on ‘something missing’ that we have would be a slightly more ‘intimate’ bar option – there is only the large Long Bar in the Shangri-La wing. However, with so many other options close by this is hardly a deterent from staying here and we will be returning again soon.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank the_stoddarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Stayed for four nights enroute home from Australia to the UK. Bangkok is amazing but to get away from all the noise and crowded streets etc, if possible you should stay in a 5 star hotel where they look after you so well. The hotel has wonderful views of the busy Chao Phraya and compared with UK prices, represents exceedingly good value.

Room Tip: Try and get a river view room on one of the higher levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank grahamdlloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

My husband stayed at the Shangri-la for the first four days of our time in Thailand. It was so wonderful that we changed our travel plans and returned here for another three nights at the end of our trip. Hands down, this is the best hotel I have ever stayed in.

From the minute you walk into the glittering lobby you are greeted by smiles and the most exemplary service. Nothing is too much for the staff at the Shangri-la. The rooms we had were both beautiful - the room on our first stay had a balcony and it was very special waking up early and sitting on the balcony in the morning. The rooms, and indeed the hotel are all furnished in the most sumptuous fabrics and soft furnishings. There are so many finishing touches to enjoy at the Shangri-la - from the bed turning down service where they leave you a beautiful bookmark to the nothing-is-too-much-trouble room service.

The hotel itself is wonderful, and worth spending a good portion of your time in Bangkok enjoying. Laying by the magnificent pool, looking at the flowering orchid and palm trees was the epitome of relaxation. The poolside service was excellent.

We ate at the Next 2 buffet (very enjoyable, a great choice of foods), Angelini's the Italian restaurant (superb, try the Angelini wine, delicious) and also had a lovely afternoon tea in the lobby. Not forgetting of course the evening cocktails at the long bar.

We swam one evening in the Krunthrup wing's pool as the main pool was closed for an event and whilst the Krunthrup wing and pool were lovely, I actually think the main part of the hotel (particularly the pool) were better. Swimming in the Shangri-la pool at evening, with the fairy lights twinkling all around is brilliant.

I enjoyed a massage at the CHi spa and we used the sauna and steam room facilities regularly. All wonderful.

My husband and I were travelling to Thailand for a special holiday and whilst we have enjoyed nice hotels previously the Shangri-la surpassed anything I have experienced before. I enjoyed Bangkok, I loved my Thailand holiday but the one stand out thing for me was staying in the Shangri-la. Very special and I feel very lucky to have enjoyed such an indulgence.

Room Tip: Worth paying a little more for the executive deluxe room with balcony - very spacious and the balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lozrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2011

We stayed at the Shangri-la in November for 7 nights in the horizon club rooms. The hotel is an traditional type hotel right on the riverside.

We would return to the hotel again in a heart beat, probably not for 7 nights too long for Bangkok, maybe 5 nights max. The Horizon rooms and benefits are good and they certainly look after you, the only downside is that it ties you to the hotel a liitle bit if you want to take advantage of the free food and drink.

Had breakfast outside by the riverside each morning, the breakfast buffet is good and has a wide choice of food for most tastes.

Location is good and if you need to go anywhere the sky train is not far away and tuk tuk's are cheap, so there are no issues getting aroung Bangkok. There is a 24 hour Mcdonalds 5 minutes walk away from the hotel if you want some western food.

Food and drink in the hotel is expensive though. The staff are friendly and can not do enough for you.

We never saw any flooding in Bangkok or any of the rubbish that has been written on Tripadvisor about smells, mosquitoes, or disease, it was business as normal

Bangkok is a great city to visit with a large variety of things to do and is cheap compared to western prices. Try some street food you will be surprised.

We would stay here again next time we visit Bangkok.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank durhamdonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
The Peninsula Bangkok
#10 of 894 in Bangkok
4,684 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#33 of 894 in Bangkok
6,821 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Address: 89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#18 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#22 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £125 - £305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 802
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok, is a 5-star luxury hotel in Silom district, Bangkok. The design and appointments express the welcoming warmth and richness of Thai culture throughout the hotel, from traditional teak dining pavilions to the most up-to-date room features.The hotel has a total of 802 rooms including 72 suites in two wings, Shangri-La and Krungthep, and is adjacent to the Saphan Taksin station of the Skytrain, Bangkok's elevated metro system.The hotel also offers fully-serviced apartments for guests wishing a longer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Shangri La Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing