We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasure to behold”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Ranked #19 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A pleasure to behold”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

From the moment of arrival you are overwhelmed with a sense of occasion. It's like meeting an old friend that welcomes you and makes you at home. Recognition by staff by name is a nice touch, especially on vacation. A truly great hotel

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hercules77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,907 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,913
    1,449
    352
    124
    69
See reviews for
1,558
3,675
465
982
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,842)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

I had an afternoonon my own without the kids, so decided to treat myself to an afternoon tea. Good presentation, but disappointing overall. The menu offers clotted cream, but instead i was served whipped cream out of a can in a small dish. Instead of refreshing the pot of tea with another bag, the waitress just added more hot water. Unless you are okay with just two cups of tea, it is not recommended. I ended up having some tea colored water while finishing the mediocre pastries. The tea was nothing special to begin with - just a tea dust bag with the label removed (perhaps wanting to hide subpar tea??). The view was nice, but perhaps i should try The Peninsula across the river next time.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank argonautlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dehsA, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok, responded to this review, 29 December 2011
Dear argonautlisa,

Thank you for your honest feedback on your experience with our high tea at the Lobby Lounge. We take all our guests' input seriously and will pass your comments to our Director of Food & Beverage for future improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

We spent three nights in the Krungthep Wing. Our room was comfortable, well appointed and had a nice balcony with chairs overlooking the river. The staff are gracious and extremely helpful. We needed help with changing our flight reservations and found the business office staff to be amazingly capable. Breakfast, afternoon tea and cocktails were exceptional.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
133 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in December at the Horizon club and we had a great time.
Separate check in on the 24th floor and a very warm welcome from all the staff. Complimentary afternoon tea and cocktails was very well recieved. Great pool area with very attentive staff.
Just round the corner from sky train so easy to get about Bankok.
Breakfast was a good experience with great food.
My only criticism was on check out with the door staff, i asked for a taxi to go on meter to the airport and he told me it would be approx 400 Bht when i only paid 300 Bht on arrival, however when i got in the cab this had not explained to the driver who wanted to charge me 500Bht but after some negotiation we settled on 350bht. I know the Bankok taxi drivers along with everyone else has been hit by the floods and i reflect this in tipping but i think the door staff should be on the side of the Tourist not the other way round.
That said i would not hesitate going back to the Shangri-la, in fact i am going back to Bankok in February and it will be the highlight of my trip.

Room Tip: Try Horizon Club well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BiffaChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
77 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

Just spent 2 nights at the Shangri La Krunthrep wing in Bangkok. Rooms overlook the bustling river and give great feel of this city. Rooms and bathrooms are luxurious and well equipped. The Krunthrep wing is in walking distance to the sky train, which makes getting around the city really easy. The hotel offered free pick up from the airport which was really great after the long international flight. Free soft drinks in lounge,pool and from bar fridge. Canapés and drinks served from 530pm and a wonderful breakfast included and really fast Internet throughout the hotel too. Great value for money! Would highly recommend

Room Tip: All rooms have balconies and overlook the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KimCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

The Krungthep Wing at the Shanghri-la is by far our favorite hotel experience in Bangkok. The excellent food and beverage service (all included breakfast, afternoon tea, evening canapés and cocktails) along with the quieter, more private space makes the hotel the destination as much as the city outside. The wing's pool can be used by anyone, but fortunately most guests opt for the more crowded pool at the other wing, which is fine by us. The team there works well together and the experience is top notch. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: It seems all rooms face out to the river with a balcony, so all are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

I loved everything about this Hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful and chatty, the hotel was beautiful, the room was lovely, the pool gorgeous and the buffet!! Oh my... The buffet was AMAZING, I would recommend adding the horizon club to your booking, they have an amazing top floor view!

Room Tip: We had a river view and it was beautiful"
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thesnowbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,201 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#26 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Property: Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Address: 89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#14 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#18 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 802
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok, is a 5-star luxury hotel in Silom district, Bangkok. The design and appointments express the welcoming warmth and richness of Thai culture throughout the hotel, from traditional teak dining pavilions to the most up-to-date room features.The hotel has a total of 802 rooms including 72 suites in two wings, Shangri-La and Krungthep, and is adjacent to the Saphan Taksin station of the Skytrain, Bangkok's elevated metro system.The hotel also offers fully-serviced apartments for guests wishing a longer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotelopia, Agoda, TravelUp, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Travelbag, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Shangri La Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing