We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Ranked #19 of 862 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Luxurious hotel”
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We stayed only for 3nights as we were told that would be enough in Bangkok I would of happily stayed for a week the hotel was beautiful the staff were extremely helpful the breakfast was unbelievable my boys loved the fact that they could have dim sum for breakfast an pancakes the breakfast selection was amazing the room in the hotel was so luxurious and we had a balcony overlooking the river,we loved the shangri la so much we have gone on o use them again you really won't be disappointed it's amazing and we cannot wait o go back.

Room Tip: The rooms on the river are lovely great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheshireGloria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,139
    1,485
    362
    125
    75
See reviews for
1,631
3,773
472
1,037
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,896)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

The room, the service, the food, the location, the view, the ambiance, the staff, the bed, the gym....EVERYTHING....perfect!

We stayed at this hotel over the New Year's weekend and had a BMW Series 7 limo pick us up at the airport and had roses for in the car waiting for us - all as planned! The manager also provided chocolates and a card in our room because it was our anniversary. Truly 1st class and made our stay memorable.

The only thing that made this hotel not perfect was the pool - a lot smaller than most 5-star resorts and was annoying at times because we'd try to find a chair to layout and it would be totally packed and crowded. This was a minor inconvenience but one would think a hotel of this size would have a larger pool area.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nyujay2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We love the Shangri-La in Singapore so decided to come to the Bangkok property for New Year. However, the Bangkok hotel is hopelessly understaffed for New Year and there are niggles big and small. Big include a ridiculous bathroom design which means that although I'm not tall (5 foot 5) I can barely squeeze past the unnecessarily enormous shower to sit on the loo! The shower takes 10 mins to warm up, is hopelessly under-powered, and on our first night the drain was blocked so it flooded the floor. They did sort this out very quickly which was great. There is only one basin, which has an old-fashioned surround to it which means less space for all your toiletries.

The second biggest gripe is the chaos around the pool. Get to the pool after 8.50am and you are TOO LATE. All the loungers have gone. The morning is then spent watching bemused guests of arying degrees of politeness arriving hoping to sunbathe, and instead spending their holiday trying to enlist the help of the hapless staff to find somewhere to sit. There's supposed to be an etiquette that if you leave your sun-lounger vacant for 30 mins it can be given away, but the staff never enforce this.
There's a much better pool dedicated to the Krungtap Wing so I suggest you do as I did and blag your way in there - it is cleaner, quieter and hey: you actually get to have a sun-lounger for your money. Who would have thought it?
Small gripes include when they forget to give you a laundry bag or provide uncomfortable pillows which keep your head at an angle of 45 degrees to your spine. Last night a poor women was screaming at the conceirge about two bags she had left which now couldn't be found. There is simply not enough staff to cope.
The Next2 evening buffet is extremely good, but a scrum at breakfast. The whole thing feels incredibly down-market, not helped by the number of tattoo-covered Brits stalking the pool.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Londona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dehsA, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Dear Londona,

Happy New Year and thank you for a thorough review of our hotel! We sincerely apologise our service did not meet your expectations and that we were understaffed during the higher occupancy period. Your comments have been forwarded to our Hotel Manager Mr. Martin Brenner who will undoubtedly find them very useful for future improvements to both our service and hotel facilities.

Again, please accept our apologies and we wish to welcome you again in the not so distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We stayed in the Krungthep Wing at the Shangri La for 5 nights. Whilst the room was spacious, it is a bit outdated in terms of the decor and could do with an update. We found the air conditioning was freezing and had to leave it off. The cold air was still coming through from the foyer under the door. Our shower was cold and had low pressure on several mornings during our stay. The afternoon tea and canapes provided during our stay were average (cakes were dry) although it was nice how they could be brought to your room if you preferred. The service provided by the butlers (namely Amy and Wendy) and the Concierge (Addison) was exceptional and nothing was ever too much for them The overall service at the hotel could not be faulted and we never once had to open a door! Not quite as good as we expected for the price paid. Service was great but Krungthep Wing in need of some maintenance & repairs.

Room Tip: Rooms near the bridge a little noisy at times due to the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank _TravelBuggas_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dehsA, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok, responded to this review, 29 December 2011
Dear _TravelBuggas_,

Thank you for choosing to stay in our Krungthep Wing and for letting us know your honest opinions about your recent stay with us. All of your comments have been passed on to our Krungthep Wing Manager Frank Motzkus who will certainly look into the problems highlighted by you.

In addition, we are delighted that the services of Amy, Wendy and Addison made a good impression with you and we are sure they will be glad to hear your compliments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

From the moment of arrival you are overwhelmed with a sense of occasion. It's like meeting an old friend that welcomes you and makes you at home. Recognition by staff by name is a nice touch, especially on vacation. A truly great hotel

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hercules77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

I had an afternoonon my own without the kids, so decided to treat myself to an afternoon tea. Good presentation, but disappointing overall. The menu offers clotted cream, but instead i was served whipped cream out of a can in a small dish. Instead of refreshing the pot of tea with another bag, the waitress just added more hot water. Unless you are okay with just two cups of tea, it is not recommended. I ended up having some tea colored water while finishing the mediocre pastries. The tea was nothing special to begin with - just a tea dust bag with the label removed (perhaps wanting to hide subpar tea??). The view was nice, but perhaps i should try The Peninsula across the river next time.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank argonautlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dehsA, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok, responded to this review, 29 December 2011
Dear argonautlisa,

Thank you for your honest feedback on your experience with our high tea at the Lobby Lounge. We take all our guests' input seriously and will pass your comments to our Director of Food & Beverage for future improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south carolina
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

We spent three nights in the Krungthep Wing. Our room was comfortable, well appointed and had a nice balcony with chairs overlooking the river. The staff are gracious and extremely helpful. We needed help with changing our flight reservations and found the business office staff to be amazingly capable. Breakfast, afternoon tea and cocktails were exceptional.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 862 in Bangkok
4,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#29 of 862 in Bangkok
6,208 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Property: Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Address: 89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#13 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#18 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 802
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok, is a 5-star luxury hotel in Silom district, Bangkok. The design and appointments express the welcoming warmth and richness of Thai culture throughout the hotel, from traditional teak dining pavilions to the most up-to-date room features.The hotel has a total of 802 rooms including 72 suites in two wings, Shangri-La and Krungthep, and is adjacent to the Saphan Taksin station of the Skytrain, Bangkok's elevated metro system.The hotel also offers fully-serviced apartments for guests wishing a longer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Shangri La Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing