We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Ranked #20 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Bavaria, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

The location is very good. Directly on the river and just a short walk to the sky train. You can take the boat to see the Grand Palace. Clean and nicely decorated kingbed room, a good sized bathroom with bathtub and separated large shower.
Helpful and freindly staff. Best thing is the breakfast. You can sit outside next to the river or inside. The buffet has everything you can think of. The fruit selection alone is stunnig. We were at the bar once and the coctails were perfect.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Horst P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,905 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,912
    1,448
    352
    124
    69
See reviews for
1,559
3,675
465
979
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,842)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

I had a week long class and convention at this hotel. At first I booked a more affordable hotel that was within walking distance. For the last two days, I moved to the Shangri-La, and it was splendid.

It was a bit pricey, for Thailand standards, but the experience was well worth it. There are nice venues on the river to take a drink or dinner and watch the water taxi's ply the river. The room overlooked the river. We had a great stay!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom_Realtor_CIPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varna
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

Excellent service, great rooms, highly recommend for Bangkok stay

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterVarna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macae, RJ
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

Stayed at the property for 3 nights while on a business trip to Bangkok. My wife and I stayed at the new wing overlooking the river, can't remember the room type but we had a butler service and all the rooms in this wing have balconies. The hotel itself is great but for us it lacked soul. The rooms are nice and spacious with a private balcony, though its more like a community balcony since all are in one line at the same level. The river bridge proximity is again very close to the hotel, so if u are thinking about relaxing in the balcony you can forget about it. The breakfast spread is pretty elaborate and the service is excellent at the restaurant and for room service. The inroom dining menu is not very extensive and completely misses out on S.E Asian food, that was a surprise to us. The other thing you have to make sure is to call a cab in advance as the property is not centrally located. Unlike other shangrilas across Asia this one is in a very remote location if you need to travel around downtown. Again its nothing to complain about but if you are pressed in time you rather stay in similar properties around sukhimvit main.
I certainly cannot complain about the property as such, but as I mentioned earlier the property lacks a soul.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nee0912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
120 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

I'm here for a business meeting, which is taking place at the hotel. I would not have spent the money personally, but I intend to enjoy it! I did upgrade for a fairly small amount to the Horizon Club level, which gets me free access to the Horizon Club, a free breakfast buffet, free coffee, snacks and sodas all day and a private meeting space for a couple hours a day. If your budget (or company) supports this level of hotel, I'd highly recommend it. The service is first class and everything about the rooms is well above my usual frugal travel mind set.

Room Tip: I love the river view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thomas n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

You really feel like you are far away in Thailand after walking through the gorgeous manicured gardens/pool area on a hot steamy night. I stayed in an Apartment Suite and could not have been more pleased. Aside from incredible service, luxury at every corner, and great restaurants, I really feel like there is a perfect balance betwee the modernity of the property and keeping that sense of authenticity with its customs and city heritage. My friend and I stayed here before flying to Phuket and it was certainly the highlight of my trip.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clutchbomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

We, a family of 4,stayed at the krungthep wing recently. This is a truly a wonderful place to stay with kids in Bangkok. The krungthep wing is truly luxury redefined. The check in process is smoth and the front office staff go out of their way to make sure you are welcome. The room itself was brilliant and very palatial. The concierge staff are always smiling and ready to help you with providing smart tips about Bangkok, The gentlemen at the riverside lounge is always welcoming and you are spoilt for choices for cocktails and high tea. The whole atmosphere is like a family gathering and the difference can be seen if you decide to have breakfast in the main wing, honestly the main wing is very good itself but krungthep wing is few notches above that.
Having stayed in many good hotels worldwide we know we will be looking for Shangri La wherever we go next.To top the experience our son had a surprise on his 7th birthday with the hotel staff singing the birthday song for him.
A faultless luxury for families coming for a holiday to Bangkok.

Room Tip: Room on high floors give beautiful views of Bangkok at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrandMrs31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,200 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#26 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Property: Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Address: 89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#19 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 802
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok, is a 5-star luxury hotel in Silom district, Bangkok. The design and appointments express the welcoming warmth and richness of Thai culture throughout the hotel, from traditional teak dining pavilions to the most up-to-date room features.The hotel has a total of 802 rooms including 72 suites in two wings, Shangri-La and Krungthep, and is adjacent to the Saphan Taksin station of the Skytrain, Bangkok's elevated metro system.The hotel also offers fully-serviced apartments for guests wishing a longer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotelopia, HotelsClick, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Shangri La Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing