We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel this world traveler has EVER stayed in!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Ranked #18 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best hotel this world traveler has EVER stayed in!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

Wow. This hotel experience literally took my breath away. The only other hotel that comes close was the Dussit Thani's Rattanakosin suite. But the Shangra-La wins the overall experience without even breaking a sweat. I've stayed in 5 star hotels all over the world. Thailand. USA. Mexico. Canada. Japan. Taiwan. The Shangra-La is a MUCH better value and provided an overall experience that absolutely left the competition lightyears behind.

Our in-residence butler, Phillips, is a big part of what made our experience. Everything from travel assistance to happy hour drinks to advice about tours and culture -- Phillips was always there to help us with a beautiful Thai smile on his face. He was, as they say in America, the icing on the cake! He took our experience over the top from being just a great hotel experience to being a personalized adventure where every whim and need was perfectly catered to.

If you ever stay in the Krungthep Wing, I strongly recommend that you request Phillips by NAME personally. He will make your experience one that you will never forget.

I hope to stay at this hotel on EVERY visit that I make to Bangkok from now on. It really makes a world of difference. The spa is world class. The food is some of the best in Thialand. The facilities are fantastic. The river location makes getting around even easier than the BTS because you can take water taxis. I wish I could find ANYTHING to complain about, but the honest truth is that I can't. I have absolutely NO complaints -- only compliments.

I saw that they also offer serviced apartments. While I may not be in the market for housing in Bangkok right now, if I ever am, I am absolutely going to look into an apartment at Shangra-La and request that Phillips be our butler. I really can't praise Phillips highly enough. Nothing we requested was ever a problem, even when we thought that maybe we were asking too much!

I LOVE THIS HOTEL!!!! IT IS TRULY PARADISE!!!!!

Room Tip: If you can afford it, the Krungthep Wing will provide an experience that you will never, ever forget...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flagstaff928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,805
    1,426
    344
    121
    66
See reviews for
1,530
3,619
450
961
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,810)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

Firstly I must state that there are two sides to this property and we stayed in the Krungthep wing overlooking the river. Having arrived at the other part of the hotel, we were whisked away in a late model BMW and taken to the correct place. The staff were very welcoming and professional.
Our room overlooking the bustling and colourful river was beautifully appointed. Inclusions of internet, afternoon tea, free alcholic beverages and delicious snacks during happy hour (5.30 - 7.30 each night), free soft drinks in mini bar, free pressing for 2 garments per person, a delightful butler like Emmy to make you feel even more special and more importantly with the ability to make reservations or phone calls for you in Thai, very helpful. Thai restaurant has a delightful river setting. We will definately stay there again on future trips to Bangkok.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kduce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

We had a booking for a Horizon Club room but were upgraded to a balcony room on the 21st floor as the hotel was aware that it was our 25th Wedding Anniversary. There was also a welcome letter and some chocolate designs from the chocolate boutique on the lobby level.
Normal high standards for the Shangri La brand. The beds and pillows are always a treat to sleep on.
Horizon club lounge on the 24th floor was very good and the service was 1st class.
Breakfast in Next2 was always superb with the biggest range of foodstuffs you could imagine.
All of the staff were very well trained and could not do enough for you, and always service with a smile.
I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

For our second trip to bustling Bangkok we decided to stay at the Shangri La. From the outset we loved it. We had prebooked Horizon Club access which allowed us to check in from our room. Some reviews have commented unfavourably on the attitude of the reception staff, but this was certainly not our experience. Without exception we found them to be polite, helpful and considerate. Our executive suite was superb. The views could have been better, but that wasn't an issue. The rooms were large & well appointed, with fresh fruit & toiletries daily. We couldn't fault them.

We were very impressed by the Horizon Club on 24th floor. We received complimentary drinks (beer, wine, cocktails or soft drinks) and snacks, which varied nightly. The service in the Horizon Club was impeccable.

The Shangri La is very centrally located, just a few minutes walk to the Skytrain station or the ferries which run up and down the Chao Praya river. If you can put up with the heat and traffic, it is also only about 20 minutes walk to Patpong market with its dubious delights. Stand by for some pretty constant badgering from taxi & tuk tuk drivers if you walk out of the hotel - they are persistent but polite.

We didn't use the riverside pool much, but when we did, it was worth it. Staff there are like those throughout the hotel - polite & willing to help. The outdoor bars are fairly expensive, but are a tropical treat, particularly on the warm Bangkok evenings. We particularly enjoyed the breakfast buffet, it was nothing short of world class, with high quality breakfast foods from all over the world to cater for all tastes. Let's face it, anywhere that serves curry for breakfast must be good.

Overall, this was a beautiful, classy hotel whose staff are a real credit to it and help make it a highly pleasurable experience.

Room Tip: River view rooms are quieter with a much better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJS2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UAE
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

From the moment we were picked up at the airport, the staff at this hotel went out of their way to make us feel at home. The rooms were great and my daughter still talks about the amazing swimming pool. We enjoyed the free boat transfers to various stops along the river. We stayed Here for two nights before travelling further inland and then returned after a week. It felt good to come back and once again, the service was excellent. We were able to check in early on both occasions and check out late on our last day in Bangkok. We received complimentary chocolates for the kids from the hotel which we thought was a nice touch. The hotel conveniently located near supermarkets, markets, a Sky Train station and a ferry taxi stop.

Room Tip: The family rooms are very spacious and the 4 of us slept quite comfortably. Horizon club rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maynooth Co.Kildare
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

We arrived at BKK to be met with a Shagri- la employee who took us directly to our hotel pick up which was a 7 series Bmw with lovely cold cloths and cold water.
We arrived at the hotel Krungthep wing around 10 pm to be met by 4 staff all greeting uswith typical Thai hospitality.
Our room was 965 and was very spacious with a double balcony and views of the river,The bed was enormous and for some reason the sheets seemed to stay cool all night long. The ac was perfect.
As we were travelling with our son the re was chocolate bear on arrival from the hotel chocolate shop!
The butler on arrival set up our room wireless which was perfect for our whole stay.
As part of the Krungthep wing package we had free soft drinks from the mini bar and fresh fruit every day. We had free breakfast which could either be taken at the lounge in the Krungthep wing or the next 2 cafe. The choice was better in the next 2 cafe , ranging from Chinese, Indian, western to Thai food for breakfast with fresh pastries made there and then!
In the afternoon ther was afternoon tea which was fab and thsi was then followed at 5:30 with Cocktails and canapes! It was then that we were introduced to the Tom Yam Mojito! Fab!
Each day when we came to the pull at the Krungthep wing we had free soft drinsk and coffee all day, even at the 'regular' pool there was fresh water and fruit sticks and Chai latte's offered.
The service at the Shangri- la was second to none.
The location is perfect beside the sky train and just round the corner from the Lebua state tower.
We found the concierge to be fantastic and fullof useful advice.
The massage shops outside the hotel were fabulous and we had a massage each and every evening including my 9 year old son.
My only complaint was that due to the amount of food provided by the hotel we did not get the chance to experience other Thai food!

Room Tip: 965 has a double balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jenjacknick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012 via mobile

This is my third stay at the Shangri-la hotel Bangkok and the hotel never disappoints.From the wonderful welcome to the check in and baggage delivery. Upgraded to a river view room in the Shangri-La wing was much appreciated. The rooms are nicely appointed.If you are looking for a modern style of room this is not the hotel for you. Rooms are Thai in style and very clean and comfortable. Fresh fruit daily and wonderful housekeeping staff. Any request managed without fuss. The thing I love about this Hotel is the pool and it's wonderful staff. The Next 2 cafe was also wonderful for Buffet lunch with a great selection. The outdoor bar area next to the Cafe was a great spot for a sunset cocktail. Room service was always delivered within the time advised and the food was always served with a smile,especially from Guy serving breakfast. I have viewed the rooms in the Krungthep wing( which are large and with balcony) but would prefer to stay in the Shangri-la wing which has a much nicer lobby with a better atmosphere in my opinion. I have also been in to the Peninsular and Mandarin Oriental but much preferred the Shangri-La especially the pool/ restaurants. After a wonderful 5 day stay, check out was easy and my bags were waiting for me in the taxi. The Concierge and doorman were on hand to wish me farewell. Another faultless stay. I would not consider another Hotel in Bangkok.I will be back,hopefully next year.

Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank NickSydney_australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,123 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#25 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Property: Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Address: 89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#13 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 802
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok, is a 5-star luxury hotel in Silom district, Bangkok. The design and appointments express the welcoming warmth and richness of Thai culture throughout the hotel, from traditional teak dining pavilions to the most up-to-date room features.The hotel has a total of 802 rooms including 72 suites in two wings, Shangri-La and Krungthep, and is adjacent to the Saphan Taksin station of the Skytrain, Bangkok's elevated metro system.The hotel also offers fully-serviced apartments for guests wishing a longer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelbag, Agoda, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Southall Travel, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Holiday Gems, Hotelopia and Hotels.com so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Shangri La Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing