We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great For A Short Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Ranked #21 of 890 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We visited to spend New Years Eve Bangkok and it certainly is in the best location for this right on the Chao Phraya River. It is quite a business orientated hotel however that does fit perfectly with it's City centre location. We had a Riverside view which I would recommend and I would also suggest a high floor for optimum views. Some rooms were looking directly at the apartment block to the side which isn't very private.
The bathroom was lovely with a large bath and a separate shower. The room also had a large double bed, plenty of storage and writing desk. The balcony was very small but we didn't particularly use it.
We ate within the hotel and the food was very nice, as were the drinks by the River. Breakfast is varied and a buffet style mix of fruit, pancakes, cooked breakfast etc. It can be quite busy but we always managed to get a table. We did opt for room service one day which was prompt and delicious, a much more relaxed start to the day.
We were busy exploring so didn't use many of the facilities that the hotel has to offer but we would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: It's close to a metro link / subway stop which is a fast, clean and simple way to get around the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LucieAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8,627)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,067 - 5,073 of 8,627 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2012

I booked this after reading the recommendations online and largely was not disappointed. Stayed 4 nights on the 15th floor in a Deluxe room at the Krungthep wing of the Shangri-La. It is right beside the skytrain (Saphan Taksin) station and near the pier of the same name. The hotel lobby is dated and smelt of chlorine from the water feature. However, it was a restful and quiet area and the staff were quite welcoming. The main wing Shangri-La has a more plush feel to it but the Krungthep wing seems friendlier.

The lobby lounge is actually quite small. The staff are friendly but a little lethargic when seeing to requests. They have a small spread for breakfast which is a general Asian hotel buffet style spread. The coffee was good as were the poached eggs-done to perfection. Afternoon tea was very good, a complimentary service of sweet and savoury pastries and sandwiches. All served on a lovely two layered tier service with plenty of smiles. Complimentary evening cocktails and canapes are served between 530 to 730 pm and are good value too.

The Krungthep pool area is lovely and relaxed as is the outdoor seating area which is peaceful and overlooking the busy river. The gym was being renovated so a temporary gym was located in a conference room on the 3rd floor. Amenities were basic and no sauna or steam room were available but if you wanted to sweat, just stand out in the Bangkok sun!

The room was spacious and the view was great. Yes, the bridge next to the building was noisy but when the doors were shut, you couldn't hear the traffic. One downside to the balcony is that you cannot sit down and watch the world go by due to the shrubs so you actually had to stand up to get a view of the river... pity.

The bathroom was well appointed apart from the shower which wasn't a rain shower and had poor water pressure. They supply L'Occitane products which is a nice touch. Non alcoholic drinks in the mini bar are complimentary and I was a little disappointed by the cheap Nescafe sachets in the room. I would have thought at least a better brand of coffee would be supplied.

Overall, great service-unobtrusive but pleasant, very nice room with only minus points being the shower and the balcony. Superb high tea and evening cocktails which represent good value for money. I would recommend it based on these features and the location of the hotel. Jump on the skytrain and you can be in the central downtown in about 15 minutes. I would definitely return to the Shangri-La Bangkok but may try the main wing the next time around.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moveaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We stayed for four nights at the Shangri-La in Bangkok and were very grateful to our Kuoni rep for recommending it to us. Definitely upgrade to a river view room - the view is amazing and well worth the extra. The choice at breakfast was very good and we also enjoyed the World Buffet in the evening which had something for everyone and was very reasonably priced. We also went on the hotel's river boat for dinner which was a wonderful trip and again reasonably priced. The hotel is situated in a very good location and it is very easy to visit all Bangkok's attractions from there. We had lovely foot massages in the vicinity and also some very good street food. Close to the sky-train too for the shopping malls. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was immaculately clean. Everything you would expect from a top class hotel. On our next visit to Bangkok we would definitely stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

I arrived at 11pm with my wife and surprisingly it still took about 20 minutes before we got our room key. Nonetheless, the River View room is very nicely appointed in modern Chinese deco and very typical of a Shangri-La hotel.

We had room service on the arrival night and food was served pipping warm. Service is also top-notch all around the hotel but it gets very busy with many conferences on-going.

Would I stay again? Maybe not but I would recommend to anybody who have yet to visit Shangri-La Bangkok

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xhrstphr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We started our Thailand trip in Bangkok in the Shangri la hotel. We travelled with 3 kids (2 boys 9 & 7 year and a girl of 20 months). The Shangri la is perfect located to explore the city. Very convenient with the river in front. Very nice staff, very good food and spacious rooms. For the kids very nice that there is a pool in front of the river side.

Room Tip: ask a family room with river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thierry V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We have stayed at this hotel every time we visit Bangkok, almost every year for the last 7 years.

Our holiday always starts by being met at the airport by a representative and hotel limo and straight away relax on the 45 minute journey to the centre of Bangkok.
The entrance and meet and greet are exceptional. Being taken straight to your room to check in is a nice touch, especailly after a long journey.

The atmosphere, decor, cleanliness, polite and friendly staff, good food, great location and right next to the river make this an exceptional hotel.

Always get a high riverside view, with view over the pool and across and down the river. Watching the river at night from the window seats of the room high up in the hotel is a must.

Room Tip: get a riverside view high up
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartinMuscatOman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

I stayed here with a friend for 3 nights in total, 2 nights when I first arrived in Bangkok before heading south; and loved it so much I booked a further night before returning home.
So what can I say about this hotel? WOW.
The most attentive staff I have ever experienced, from the second you arrive you are more than just welcome! Although I had visited Bangkok before, I had not been to this part of the city, the staff were so knowledgeable and offered up amazing recommendations for real local Thai restaurants and places to go late evening.

We were in an executive river view room for both stays. The excellent views of the Chao Phraya river from our room helped offset the fact we did not have a balcony. Breakfast is a MUST! The best variety in a buffet breakfast I have seen in a long time.

It's worth taking the time to have a couple of drinks at The Long Bar, just by the main lobby, it seemed a little under-used whilst we were there. I highly recommend trying the cocktails from the 'Martini Station' section of the drinks menu...exquisite and beautiful natural ingredients.

Both perfect stays were topped off by a complimentary limo transfer to the airport...with it's own Wi-Fi (still find that cool in a car!)

If your not backpacking and want a little luxury in amongst the chaos, Shangri-La is the answer.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vicky k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
The Peninsula Bangkok
#11 of 890 in Bangkok
4,564 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#37 of 890 in Bangkok
6,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Address: 89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#20 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £136 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 802
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok, is a 5-star luxury hotel in Silom district, Bangkok. The design and appointments express the welcoming warmth and richness of Thai culture throughout the hotel, from traditional teak dining pavilions to the most up-to-date room features.The hotel has a total of 802 rooms including 72 suites in two wings, Shangri-La and Krungthep, and is adjacent to the Saphan Taksin station of the Skytrain, Bangkok's elevated metro system.The hotel also offers fully-serviced apartments for guests wishing a longer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelbag, Expedia, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Shangri La Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing