We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Balcony overlooking Chao Phraya”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Ranked #18 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
nj
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Balcony overlooking Chao Phraya”
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We choose the Krungthep wing because of the balcony and it worth it !! The view is amazing during the day and even more especial at night. Sitting there sipping a drink your own butler just welcomed you back with its a must!! Rooms are extremely confortable. Bathroom in need of a renovation.
They wait you at the airport with a bmw 7xx, nice cool towels to refresh yourself and cold water bottles. No check in needed... you are escorted to your room and they fill out all the paperwork while you are having something to drink... in your balcony.
Beautiful, quiet gardens right by the river for some relaxing time. Separate pool for this wing is much quieter than the main Shangri-la building pools.
Breakfast just ok and don't really bother about staying for the high tea...doesn't worth it.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scmnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,081
    1,474
    361
    125
    74
See reviews for
1,611
3,753
470
1,026
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,886)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Poona , India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We had a lovely time (2nd time) at the shangrila hotel Bangkok during the weekend. We stayed in a river view executive suite for two nights. The location and the view is simply amazing, cool as you like!! This property is on the banks of the Chao Praya in Bangkok.Antilogvacations.com is reputed for budget Thailand tours and we booked from them a Bangkok/Pattaya package ( 4 nts total)..In the end it was fabulously done
Having travelled around quite a lot, I would say this is among the best I ve seen for sure in Bangkok and otherwise too. Both the wings, the Krungthep and the other one too are really good. We choose to stay in the Krungthep Wing for the reason, it was less populated and the pool looked quitier. The rooms had all the facilities, wifi at 2 Mbps!! Tea coffee maker, excellent LCD and soothing interiors. Talking about sleep quality, it was no nice and cosy with the big beds. The bathroom was huge and was a great size for 2 adults. The only downside is no one told us that there were renovations happening right next to the pool area, which was dissappointing and not very relaxing when the kids were swimming.
…………….. Some positives…………….:
Stunning public spaces
Superb, flawless service with a smile
Contacted us before and after our visit
Remarkably good food and bars within the hotel
Hotel room had wonderful views in the best part of town

…………………..Negatives……………………………..:
Complimentary fruit was missing in the room
Concierge could have been much better. His recommendations for a short tour were not that good.
Signature beer was missing from the bar.
Just do remember to have your breakfast at the river café. The award winning cafe is reputed to have the best buffet lunch and dinner in Bangkok, and that says a lot for a city with many fabulous hotels. The Italian restaurant, Angelini, is also reputed to be the best of its kind in the city. Worthy of every penny you spend.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suresh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

This hotel was five star all the way. The room was great, the breakfast, sitting outside on the river was breathtaking and the location was fabulous. We could walk to public transportaion, restaurants and an entire block of massage parlors adjacent to the hotel. These were legitimatwe establishments, no funny business and were inexpensive. As a matter of fact, I had a Thai massage which alleviated a twenty year shoulder pain and the pain has not come back.
The staff was accomodating and made our stay very pleasant. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants luxury combined with efficiency

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jreyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Everything in the hotel has been thought out to make you feel really relaxed. We loved the tropical gardens, massage tents by the pool and the constantly changing river front scene. On our last night we discovered the most wonderful duo - singer and pianist - this was the jazz of Ella Fitzgerald and more - they weren't good - they were fantastic and really made our last night very special; the hotel is incredibly lucky to have this world class duo with them! The staff were everything they need to be to make guests feel welcomed and relaxed. Our only big concern is that one of the Concierges recommended we go and buy jewellery at the Royal Lapidary Company, which is actually a huge scam involving police officers and corrupt government officials.

Room Tip: Ours overlooked the river - fascinating both at night and in the morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindieloulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Fantastic hotel in a slightly out of the way position. However I wanted to be on the river.
Note that there is a sky train terminal just outside the hotel, which more than compensates for the out of the way position. Beautiful hotel with magnificient rooms some of which face the river.
Great pool area with excellent and attentive service. Helpful and knowledgeable staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank howard c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Although a bit oldish it has all the charm and smiley faces one would expect in Thailand.
Walking distance to many nice places. Great Spa and relaxation area.
A special thinks to the duty manager who immediately took care of the noise that bothered us and moved us to an even nicer suite HERSELF! We did feel like we are spoilt!
Excellent service.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller2628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

I love this hotel from the moment when I checked in, luxury and good service. The hotel has 2 wings, Shangri La & Krungthep, the Shangri La wing (main wing) is much bigger than Krungthep wing. If you book your room in the Krungthep wing, you will be checked in Krungthep Lobby, that looks more luxury and grand, by the way you will have a lovely afternoon tea, wonderful cocktail hours and free beverage all day, purser service but in my opinion, the breakfast of Krungthep wing is not variety, don't have hot food as Shangri La wing's, and the staff in Shangri La wing is very helpful, friendly much more than Krungthep's.

In the bathroom, even they use L'Occitane toiletries but donn't have rain shower head and the shower maybe not high pressure in 15th floor

Room Tip: Book a riverview room (included breakfast) & don't stay in the Krungthep wing longer than 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhamHCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 858 in Bangkok
4,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#26 of 858 in Bangkok
6,151 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Property: Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Address: 89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 802
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok, is a 5-star luxury hotel in Silom district, Bangkok. The design and appointments express the welcoming warmth and richness of Thai culture throughout the hotel, from traditional teak dining pavilions to the most up-to-date room features.The hotel has a total of 802 rooms including 72 suites in two wings, Shangri-La and Krungthep, and is adjacent to the Saphan Taksin station of the Skytrain, Bangkok's elevated metro system.The hotel also offers fully-serviced apartments for guests wishing a longer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Nozio Netplan srl, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Shangri La Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing