We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Comfortable Hotel in a Wonderful City”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Ranked #20 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2012

The Shangri La is a most comfortable and elegant modern hotel on the bank of the Chao Phraya River in Bangkok. The hotel comprises two separate buildings, the main hotel and the Krung Thep Executive Wing. There are several fine restaurants in the hotel, including the Sala Thip Thai Restaurant by the river and the high-quality Shan Palace for Chinese food. As might be expected, the service is excellent and the rooms are extremely comfortable, with all the facilities one might desire.

Room Tip: Make a booking in the Krung Thep Executive Wing for luxurious comfort and request a room overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Strathcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8,741)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,000 - 5,006 of 8,741 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2012

I would recommend Shangri la Bangkok to anyone. It is in a great position, right on the river and near the sky train. The staff were so helpful. The view was gorgeous..Everybody was wonderful. I wish we could have stayed there longer.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

So this was our first time to Bangkok, and we wanted to stay somewhere really special for our first few nights. We decided on the Kunthrep Wing, and stayed in a deluxe balcony sweet. As soon as we entered we were impressed, everything was so calming and having just flown 20hrs we needed it. We were checked in, and shortly after met Philip our own personal butler, who gave us a lovely refreshing drink.
The room itself was really nice, we unfortunately had 2 twin beds, and asked for a double but thats my only complaint, big bathroom, and lots of nice finishing touches. Breakfast was included, along with afternoon tea which was perfect after a day of exploring at the temples. We found ourselves on the balcony just watching the boats go by, and although you are nice and central location wise, everything was really quite calm!!

The price was quite alot, and although the rooms were nice I did think they were a little bit over priced however the little extras made it for me. The people who worked there couldnt do enough for you, and always had a big smile on their face - including the doorman who helped us at 3am when one was a little bit worse for wear after an evening on Kao San Road! Defo recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Kunthrep Wing in a deluxe balcony suite - was a little bit pricey for what it is, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenga1300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

This is about our tenth time here and sadly this time we were disappointed. It would appear there is new management that is not working as well. We always get the sky train to this hotel to avoid the Bangkok traffic. This brings you the Krungthep wing entrance where in the past we could check in and leave luggage. Not this time - we had to waste precious time going to the other end if the hotel to check in - annoying. Then when got to our room the electronic keys would not let us in.So back down the 17 floors to reception where we then had to wait for ages. Morning one - no hot water in the shower which apparently is only the overhead rose the wall rose works fine. A sign might have helped. All in all a less than satisfactory experience. There are other hotels on the river.

Room Tip: Have a large credit limit on your credit card.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drlocbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kieran T, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2012

Dear drlocbi,

Thank you for your latest review of Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok and more importantly, thank you for being one of our valuable returning guests. We are disappointed to hear that your latest stay with us was not up to our usual standards and we would like to ensure that the same incidents are not repeated again in the future. Would you kindly get in touch with me directly via email at kieran.twomey@shangri-la.com with your full name and the period of your stay so that I can further investigate and take appropriate action?

Best regards,
Kieran Twomey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

We started out a little rocky...I accidentally booked us an additional night and breakfast was not included as hotels.com had stated it was on their website. The hotel couldn't do anything about changing/fixing this since we had used an external site, I recommend going directly through the hotel as in the end, it actually ended up costing me more because hotels.com was not helpful in resolving this and was painfully slow on the phone. Alas, on to the Shangri-La, they tried to make up for it by upgrading us so our family of 2 young children had an extra room with TV. It was spacious and immaculate! The pool was quite nice, staff was phenomenal, albeit a little slow with the drinks out by the pier. The free boat to Asiatique was awesome, wish we had more time to go back and really check the place out. We used the concierge to book our outings, expensive but worth it to have a personal guide and our own vehicle. Oddi, our guide, saved us baht at the floating market and gave us tips on where to get laundry done and authentic Thai food reasonably nearby the hotel. Location was beautiful, I liked being a little off the beaten path, most places were only about 150 baht or so to get to. Overall, I wish we had stayed longer in Bangkok, we didn't think we would like it as much as we did with small children (4 yrs and 4 mths).

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheTravelingCircus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

I have stayed at the Shangri-La in Bangkok many times. I have stayed in the regular rooms, the Krunthep rooms and this last time in the Horizon Club rooms. I think the Horizon Club rooms are now my new favorites. The Horizon Club is on the 24th floor of the hotel's many building. The rooms are HUGE with a sitting area and nice views. When you arrive at the hotel, just let someone either at the front desk or at guest services know that you are check in at the club and you are immediately whisked away to that 24th floor where you are checked in, by passing any line at the front desk. While you wait in the lounge for the staff to process you, enjoy at wonderful tea with a delicious assortment of food or, should it be later, live it up and have a cocktail also with great food.
The hotel is right on the river so the view whether from inside or outside are always beautiful. I highly recommend leaving the club floor in favor of breakfast downstairs. Get a table outside and watch the world go by on the water--long boats, ferries, cargo boats and tourist boats. Look over the edge at the huge fish which the hotel feeds and who life right there. And enjoy one of the best breakfast buffets anywhere. If you don't see it, ask for just about any food you might want and they will bring it to you. Beware, their croissants are addictive.
The location of the Shangri-La is one of its great features: you can walk through the hotel to the BTS station where the train will take you to where ever you wish to go or walk just a few feet further and take a boat to many of Bangkok's best tourist sights. Both modes of transportation allow you to bypass traffic jams and congestions. And, when your day is done, you will come back to an oasis and peace and quiet where service is an art form.

Room Tip: Horizon club rooms are huge. If looking for quiet and no kids, the Krunthep wing is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cbp59716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Having worked for an airline for 26 years and having stayed at many excellent hotels throughout the world, I cannot recommend the Krungthep Wing at the Shangri-La Hotel in Bangkok more highly. From the moment we arrived my wife and I were made to feel very welcome and special. Without exception every member of staff was charming, gracious, efficient and good-humoured.
The hotel is superbly located next to the ferry point on the river which is a hive of constant, fascinating activity. Breakfast and afternoon tea were wonderful. The very high standards of service, cleanliness, efficiency and friendliness were maintained throughout our stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
The Peninsula Bangkok
#10 of 891 in Bangkok
4,619 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#36 of 891 in Bangkok
6,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Address: 89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#16 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#19 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £141 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 802
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok, is a 5-star luxury hotel in Silom district, Bangkok. The design and appointments express the welcoming warmth and richness of Thai culture throughout the hotel, from traditional teak dining pavilions to the most up-to-date room features.The hotel has a total of 802 rooms including 72 suites in two wings, Shangri-La and Krungthep, and is adjacent to the Saphan Taksin station of the Skytrain, Bangkok's elevated metro system.The hotel also offers fully-serviced apartments for guests wishing a longer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Shangri La Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing