We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Bangkok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Ranked #20 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Witham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in Bangkok”
Reviewed 11 January 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and booked a Deluxe River View room with balcony overlooking the river. It really is worth paying that little bit more for the balcony. Busy Bangkok seemed so peaceful from up there and after the hustle & bustle of the day / night times, it really is a lovely escape. You wouldn't believe you we're in a busy city.

We couldn't fault anything. The staff cant do enough for you. the rooms are comfortable, spacious and clean and the location is the best, in my opinion, in Bangkok. Just around the corner from The State Tower, Patpong & China Town and just a short taxi or Tuk Tuk ride away from Koah San Road and Bangkok nightlife.

The pool is fantastic and gets the most sun of all the hotels on the river. The Peninsula (opposite) seemed not to get any sun at all due to the high rise buildings, but the Shangri-La is positioned so that it gets the sun all day, which is great if you fancy taking a day away from all the hustle & bustle a chilling by the pool instead, especially if you get a bed overlooking the river.

Overall, fantastic value, excellent service and location - I would go as far as to say that this is the best hotel I've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nattyjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,016 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,995
    1,465
    358
    125
    73
See reviews for
1,584
3,716
469
1,005
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,868)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Stayed at at the Shangri-La while attending a friend's wedding. We got a group rate for our room that included the buffet breakfast. Considering the amazing breakfast buffet they have and the quality of the hotel, We were very happy with the rate.

The standard room is not huge, but it's very nicely decorated and very comfortable. We slept like babies each night on fresh soft sheets and woke up to great views of the River and the city. The complementary fruit plate, replenished daily, is a nice touch you will appreciate if you are hungry and your partner is taking a bit long to get out of bed. Bathroom is very spacious with bathtub and separate shower and long, double sink console. Plenty of seating. Particularly nice is the long couch by the window, where you can relax reading a good book or just looking out into the city from the large windows. This is a room you are happy to go to after a day of sightseeing.

The grounds are modern and beautiful. The pool area, though large, was a bit crowded. But I can't imagine it otherwise. It's hot in Bangkok!

Location: Great if you are visiting all the major sightseeing places. The Shangri-la is right on the banks of the Phraya River.
-You can catch the Taxis boats that run constantly up, down, and across the river transporting both tourists and locals. The stop is right by the hotel. 2 minute walk.
-The very modern sky train is right outside the hotel. 2 minute walk. It takes you to the Siam Paragon Mall in about 15 minutes. It's clean, air conditioned, and very modern.
-Main temples are about a 15 minute boat ride.

Though other high end hotels like the Mandarin Oriental and the Peninsula are right next door and across the river, the immediate area outside the hotel away from the River is not so great. But it is safe. And you should certainly walk around and learn about the structure of the city.

The Buffet... The excellent Buffet!
I could stay 2 hours easily just tasting all the delicious food. A large variety of fresh, juicy fruits from all over the region. Guavas, papaya, mango, mangosteens, dragon fruits, pineapples, jack fruit, and others did not even know what they were called, but all delicious.
-High quality pastries of all kinds. The croissants...you would have thought they came right out of a French oven at a parisian bakery.
-Eggs any way you wanted them, sausages, sautéed potatoes, hash browns
-Waffels, pancakes, rice cakes, you a name it.
-Dumplings, soups, indian food, etc. and on and on.
It was the united nations of food buffets. Again, I could have stayed there all morning just trying the different things.
I would stay at the Shangri-La just for the breakfast!

Very pleased with the hotel. Would stay here again as long as the Buffet is included in the price.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LenParci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
258 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013 via mobile

Arrived and was warmly welcomed by the staff at the entrance to the hotel. The gentleman at reception could not find my booking and I had to give him the confirmation number eventually and then was taken to the Horizon Club lounge where I was seated in front of a dirty glass from a previous guest while again I waited for the check in process. When taken to my room someone else's luggage was inside- so unfortunately from the start I did not feel welcome.

The room was superb and the view over the river must be one of the best in Bangkok. I loved the detail in the room, the beautiful traditional headboard painting, the mirror and the reading area overlooking the river was outstanding.

The bathroom was also wonderful with a great shower nice toilet area and perfect bath. The L'Occitaine toiletries were in abundance and smelt heavenly.

Had coffee in the lounge at night and waited to be served only to have to go and get service myself as I was not noticed.

The Horizon club lounge is great and breakfast was nice with a great selection of food types.

Loved the facilities not so sure about the staff.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasonleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
808 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 374 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Hotel Shangri La's Krungthep Wing rooms are excellent - book one with a view to the river, then you will have a small balcony and can sit there enjoy the lively boat traffic while enjoying a glass of cold white wine.
You have access to the Riverside Lounge where the breakfast is served, and then you can enjoy complimentary afternoon coffee or tea and later also snacks and drinks without extra cost. Also available and included is a butler service.
Staff is extremely helpfull and smiling and it is just a pleasure being in this hotel.
The pool at the riverside is also worth a visit.
Highly recommendable.

Room Tip: Choose a room to the riverside and also pay a little extra to have the room in the Krungthep Wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynge T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

My wife and I booked this hotel as a treat when we needed a stop-over on our travels.
Having used Shangrila and Traders before our expectations were high and we were not disappointed. We had booked a room in the Krungthep Wing which affords some benefits over the main Shangrila hotel and is well worth the extra cost. First benefit was immediate when we were escourted directly to our room for the checking in procedure whilst waiting for our luggage. First knock on the door was the personal butler with refreshing fruit punch drink to accompany the complimentary fruit and chocolate on the coffee table. Luggage arrived as check in was completed and we were left in peace to explore the room and bathroom - all excellent with a further benefit of having a balcony with river view.Breakfast the following morning was an excercise in being spoilt for choice with excellent service from friendly, attentive staff.

The hotel is well situated though probably not right in the heart of tourist Bangkok. The area bustles with locals and there are many shops and a small market nearby. It is also very convenient for the river ferry service and there is a sky train station opposite. Transport to other parts of the city is therefore quick, cheap and easy.

After exploring the area and the hotel with its two swimming pools, roof top tennis court, spa, fitness centre and several restaurants it was time for the complimentary afternoon tea. This together with complimentary soft drinks, tea and coffee at any time is another benefit of the Krungthep wing as is happy hour with canopes and alcoholic drinksin the early evening. The wing is exclusive to Krungthep guests and is quieter than the main hotel. This is an advantage at busy times and also gives exclusive use of one of the two pools, so never a problem finding a lounger or a seat in the garden. The several restaurants are shared by all guests and are of an exremely high standard. Well worth a try is the buffet style diner at Next 2, you will be amazed at the choice and quality!

We felt that this is an excellent hotel and well worth the extra for the priveleges afforded by the Krungthep wing.

Room Tip: Try to book a high floor for the better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SashaYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
key largo
Level Contributor
190 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We stayed here because it was recommended by Princess cruises. It was extremely nice. The breakfast buffet was so fabulous it's well worth the price. It has so many different items and everything enjoyable. The pool are is beutiful and the orchid display is gorgeous. Our room was comfortable and quiet. I was extremely pleased

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seekmyface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
79 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

The Shangri-La is in a perfect location on the river right opposite The Peninsula and next to the Mandarin Oriental. Check in was perfect and hassle free...we got interconnecting rooms and generally our 2 night stay was great. Pool side gets very busy with regard to the provision of seating but it was peak season so to be expected. The buffet breakfast was good.... again a little hectic. Coffee wasn't good at all...sorry my only complaint!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadia2671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,255 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#25 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Property: Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Address: 89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#19 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 802
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok, is a 5-star luxury hotel in Silom district, Bangkok. The design and appointments express the welcoming warmth and richness of Thai culture throughout the hotel, from traditional teak dining pavilions to the most up-to-date room features.The hotel has a total of 802 rooms including 72 suites in two wings, Shangri-La and Krungthep, and is adjacent to the Saphan Taksin station of the Skytrain, Bangkok's elevated metro system.The hotel also offers fully-serviced apartments for guests wishing a longer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotelopia, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Shangri La Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing