We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed every moment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Ranked #20 of 871 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Enjoyed every moment”
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We attended a conference being held in Shangri-La, so we spent four nights. I was delighted that the service was so good, unlike some other reviewers had said.
Our room was in the 20th floor, and it had a great view of the river and the city. The bathroom shower was incredible!
The staff was very helpful and attentive, hats off to them. I ordered the continental breakfast for room service, and I have to say it was too much money for what you get, but the coffee was incredible.
We had lunch at their Next2 restaurant, and we liked it SO much we went back two more times! They change the menu every day, so you won't get bored.
We had prearranged a spa visit, but because I had hurt my knee we only got a foot massage. The place was reserved for just my husband and I, and it was a very intimate and personalized experience. We tipped those girls well!
The lobby bar was also comfy and cozy, and drinking tea during the sunset hours was delightful.
I would love to go back to this hotel, even if it hurts my budget!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caromitxirrika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,227
    1,505
    365
    129
    75
See reviews for
1,678
3,801
477
1,047
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,912)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Me and my partner have decided to spend our New Years Eve in Shangrila as we have heard so many positive comments from our friends staying there before. We were staying in private quaters outside the hotel but were looking forward to nice and famous menu in Shangrila.
We were welcomed by fantastic and most friendly staff both in the lobby and, which become our favourite, Next 2 restaurant and bar. Very serviceminded staff there at the river and yummie buffet.
And at last but not least.....what a music! Very nicely done Shangrila! A musician who sings every song, we requested and even more! My partner was stunned by the voice and we had to visit the hotel 3 nights in the row. Truelly worth every money to experience together with nice dinner and good night shake. We will stay at Shangrila next time for sure to experience the whole package.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JowitaN_44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

I had this 'vision' of spending Christmas some where really luxurious as a treat to ourselves and staying at the Shangri La in the Krungthep Wing met my expectations wonderfully. All the little extras with this hotel were just lovely.

We spent Christmas round the pool and had in room dining in our bathrobes.

The breakfasts were great - everything you could possibly want. We had a lovely meal at the Salathip Thai restaurant.

There is so much good food in Bangkok we never made it to the afternoon teas and instead of joining the cocktail hour drinks, we had our butler deliver our cocktails and canapes to the room to enjoy on our balcony.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
378 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

The Krungthep wing of Shangri-la Hotel is a wonderfull place to stay in Bangkok. Spaceous rooms and bathrooms. Balcony overlooking the garden and the river so one can enjoy the ongoing boattrafic. Especially at night it is a marvelous sight.
Excellent breakfast, afternoon-tea and drinks and canapees before dinner.
Excellent service including butlerservice. The staff is very kind, smilling and helpfull.
Everything is just perfect and makes your stay in Bangkok unforgettable.

Room Tip: Rooms with a riverview are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and booked a Deluxe River View room with balcony overlooking the river. It really is worth paying that little bit more for the balcony. Busy Bangkok seemed so peaceful from up there and after the hustle & bustle of the day / night times, it really is a lovely escape. You wouldn't believe you we're in a busy city.

We couldn't fault anything. The staff cant do enough for you. the rooms are comfortable, spacious and clean and the location is the best, in my opinion, in Bangkok. Just around the corner from The State Tower, Patpong & China Town and just a short taxi or Tuk Tuk ride away from Koah San Road and Bangkok nightlife.

The pool is fantastic and gets the most sun of all the hotels on the river. The Peninsula (opposite) seemed not to get any sun at all due to the high rise buildings, but the Shangri-La is positioned so that it gets the sun all day, which is great if you fancy taking a day away from all the hustle & bustle a chilling by the pool instead, especially if you get a bed overlooking the river.

Overall, fantastic value, excellent service and location - I would go as far as to say that this is the best hotel I've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nattyjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Stayed at at the Shangri-La while attending a friend's wedding. We got a group rate for our room that included the buffet breakfast. Considering the amazing breakfast buffet they have and the quality of the hotel, We were very happy with the rate.

The standard room is not huge, but it's very nicely decorated and very comfortable. We slept like babies each night on fresh soft sheets and woke up to great views of the River and the city. The complementary fruit plate, replenished daily, is a nice touch you will appreciate if you are hungry and your partner is taking a bit long to get out of bed. Bathroom is very spacious with bathtub and separate shower and long, double sink console. Plenty of seating. Particularly nice is the long couch by the window, where you can relax reading a good book or just looking out into the city from the large windows. This is a room you are happy to go to after a day of sightseeing.

The grounds are modern and beautiful. The pool area, though large, was a bit crowded. But I can't imagine it otherwise. It's hot in Bangkok!

Location: Great if you are visiting all the major sightseeing places. The Shangri-la is right on the banks of the Phraya River.
-You can catch the Taxis boats that run constantly up, down, and across the river transporting both tourists and locals. The stop is right by the hotel. 2 minute walk.
-The very modern sky train is right outside the hotel. 2 minute walk. It takes you to the Siam Paragon Mall in about 15 minutes. It's clean, air conditioned, and very modern.
-Main temples are about a 15 minute boat ride.

Though other high end hotels like the Mandarin Oriental and the Peninsula are right next door and across the river, the immediate area outside the hotel away from the River is not so great. But it is safe. And you should certainly walk around and learn about the structure of the city.

The Buffet... The excellent Buffet!
I could stay 2 hours easily just tasting all the delicious food. A large variety of fresh, juicy fruits from all over the region. Guavas, papaya, mango, mangosteens, dragon fruits, pineapples, jack fruit, and others did not even know what they were called, but all delicious.
-High quality pastries of all kinds. The croissants...you would have thought they came right out of a French oven at a parisian bakery.
-Eggs any way you wanted them, sausages, sautéed potatoes, hash browns
-Waffels, pancakes, rice cakes, you a name it.
-Dumplings, soups, indian food, etc. and on and on.
It was the united nations of food buffets. Again, I could have stayed there all morning just trying the different things.
I would stay at the Shangri-La just for the breakfast!

Very pleased with the hotel. Would stay here again as long as the Buffet is included in the price.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LenParci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013 via mobile

Arrived and was warmly welcomed by the staff at the entrance to the hotel. The gentleman at reception could not find my booking and I had to give him the confirmation number eventually and then was taken to the Horizon Club lounge where I was seated in front of a dirty glass from a previous guest while again I waited for the check in process. When taken to my room someone else's luggage was inside- so unfortunately from the start I did not feel welcome.

The room was superb and the view over the river must be one of the best in Bangkok. I loved the detail in the room, the beautiful traditional headboard painting, the mirror and the reading area overlooking the river was outstanding.

The bathroom was also wonderful with a great shower nice toilet area and perfect bath. The L'Occitaine toiletries were in abundance and smelt heavenly.

Had coffee in the lounge at night and waited to be served only to have to go and get service myself as I was not noticed.

The Horizon club lounge is great and breakfast was nice with a great selection of food types.

Loved the facilities not so sure about the staff.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasonleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 871 in Bangkok
4,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#30 of 871 in Bangkok
6,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Property: Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Address: 89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#14 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#19 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 802
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok, is a 5-star luxury hotel in Silom district, Bangkok. The design and appointments express the welcoming warmth and richness of Thai culture throughout the hotel, from traditional teak dining pavilions to the most up-to-date room features.The hotel has a total of 802 rooms including 72 suites in two wings, Shangri-La and Krungthep, and is adjacent to the Saphan Taksin station of the Skytrain, Bangkok's elevated metro system.The hotel also offers fully-serviced apartments for guests wishing a longer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Travelbag, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Shangri La Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing