We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Ranked #23 of 894 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Stayed at the Shangri-la hotel early January.A very busy hotel,with very professional
Staff,very helpful especially the guest relations.The rooms overlooking the hotel are ok nothing exceptional,bathrooms need to be upgraded as well as the rooms. Don't think of eating at the lobby lounge,half an hour is requested to be served!!!!! the Italian restaurant next to the pool was
No good, tasteless, As for breakfast it is excellent with a wide range of varieties
Don't miss it.Room service is highly appreciated.
The service we received from Front Office manager and the Resident Manager when we had to admit my son to hospital was amazing.They sent with us a very nice young lady with very good command of the english language to accompany us to the hospital where my son was admitted for high fever,she stayed with us at the hospital until after midnight.This gesture of the hotel proves the efficiency and responsibility of the management towards their guests, which we highly appreciated.
Will definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8,865)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,994 - 5,000 of 8,865 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2013

We recently spent one night at the Shangri La in Bangkok for the sole purpose of enjoying an evening out on one of their boats for dinner - the Horizon Cruise. Well what a stay it turned out to be. The hotel was beautiful. The kids and I swam in the pool which is located along the riverside. The deluxe rooms were to die for. My Diamond Membership was a nice touch with afternoon tea in the Horizon Lounge on arrival, and drinks before boarding the boat for dinner. The boat cruise was great, there was four adults and two kids. We were well taken care of, the food selection was good, and the sights by night where tremendous. The next day we concluded our visit with breakfast in the Horizon Lounge. What a great thing to do for a family who already lives in Bangkok...

Room Tip: Become a Golden Circle Member and start saving those points...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamD1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

From the moment we checked in we were so impressed with this lovely hotel. The staff so charming and helpful - the lobby beautiful with amazing displays of orchids and so elegant. Our huge bedroom with balcony overlooking the river, giving incredible views both day and night. We had dinner at Salathip, the Thai restaurant and sat outside by the river watching the boats go by and ate an incredible meal. We had breakfast at the Next 2 restaurant and my husband, who has eaten many breakfasts in some of the world's best hotels, thought this to be the best he'd ever had. Whatever you wanted was there, from fresh fruit and yoghurt, to Thai, to pastry chefs cooking croissants, to eggs (whichever way) bacon, the list is endless. The pool was palm fringed, lovely and not crowded, within a minute of lying down, someone came with iced water and cold face towels, and after an hour fresh fruit kebabs - fantastic - could have stayed for a week! Wonderful position the sky train literally just down the street, as was the pier where we hired a long tail boat and zoomed up the river to the Grand Palace, which was stunning, but you do have to cover your shoulders and no shorts, otherwise you have to go back to the entrance and get a shirt or sarong to put on! For shopping afficionados, look no further than MBK (handbag heaven) and so easy on sky train.
Sorry if this review is full of superlatives, but so was our stay at the Shangri-La - can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joannaflamingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in a suite in the Krungthep Wing with my wife and 15 month old son. Everything very baby friendly - we used a hotel babysitter (one of the chambermaids) on a couple of evenings which worked out well and was not too pricey. As kids were not allowed in the lounge for evening cocktails we had cocktails and food delivery to our room which the staff happily accommodated. We took afternoon tea in the lounge a couple of times too which was nice. We had breakfast in the main restaurant (more selection than in the Krungthep wing lounge)...great selection, all sorts of different foods and freshly squeezed drinks. It was pretty busy in there though. We had dinner one night in the Thai restaurant - great setting, we had a table right by the river. However, it was busy, and was was very disappointing - service was very slow (staff were so busy they seemed to be deliberately avoiding people who needed service). Drinks arrived after the food. Food was very average and overpriced. Definitely one to avoid. SPA was ok, typical hotel prices. Lots of other great restaurants in Bangkok so look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Stayed in early January for 2 nights. Was a very pleasurable stay, with very helpful staff and a great set up on the river. We did actually incur a hiccup on check in where the type of room we had booked (standard) was not available (well, there were no kingsize beds, just 2 twin), so they upgraded us to an executive sized room on top floor instead, and comp'ed breakfast. Massive sized room, and def recommend room 2513 (note, this also had two twins, but housekeeping made them up and put them together in a particular way that you wouldnt really know the difference). The one criticism, would be the river boat service. The english language 'skills' and lack of written info (from what we saw), didnt make it clear we could catch the mandarin oriental flagged boat that also comes to the jetty in front of the hotel that takes you up to the riverside centre where there are a group of good looking outdoor bars and restaurants. We were actually trying to get back from the riverside and waiting for ages for the shangri la boat (along with others) whilst the mandarin boats came and went.. eventually we got on a M.O. boat and it took us back to the shangri la jetty. Go figure. Also, we were told these boats shut at 7.30pm, well we saw them from the hotel room at 10pm criss-crossing the river. So some fine tuning by management on how these boats (look like oriental house boats) work would be good idea.
The Next2 bar def worth having a drink/meal at, especially as sun sets as has great outlook.
Would recommend staying in the main part of the hotel rather than the other 'wing' as it appears somewhat disconnected from the hotel, and could be a bit of a trudge if you wanted to use the main hotel facilities (pool set up looked good, but didn't use)..
All in all, what you would expect from a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xmyass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Great location, room and hotel but ignore concierge advice!

make sure that you get a room with a view over river.

Use the river taxi and rail system to get around Bangkok. So fast and an experience.

The advice of the concierge/guest relations people was poor. Asked them to book a restaurant over Christmas. It was closed so we asked for a similar type place. Sent to awful Thaiworld place down the river near the big ferris wheel. Like a Thai Disneyland, but without the charm or culture of Disneyland! Consult a guide book instead.

Otherwise a great stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GregHongKong16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We attended a conference being held in Shangri-La, so we spent four nights. I was delighted that the service was so good, unlike some other reviewers had said.
Our room was in the 20th floor, and it had a great view of the river and the city. The bathroom shower was incredible!
The staff was very helpful and attentive, hats off to them. I ordered the continental breakfast for room service, and I have to say it was too much money for what you get, but the coffee was incredible.
We had lunch at their Next2 restaurant, and we liked it SO much we went back two more times! They change the menu every day, so you won't get bored.
We had prearranged a spa visit, but because I had hurt my knee we only got a foot massage. The place was reserved for just my husband and I, and it was a very intimate and personalized experience. We tipped those girls well!
The lobby bar was also comfy and cozy, and drinking tea during the sunset hours was delightful.
I would love to go back to this hotel, even if it hurts my budget!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caromitxirrika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
The Peninsula Bangkok
#10 of 894 in Bangkok
4,684 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#33 of 894 in Bangkok
6,821 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Address: 89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#18 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#22 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £125 - £305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 802
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok, is a 5-star luxury hotel in Silom district, Bangkok. The design and appointments express the welcoming warmth and richness of Thai culture throughout the hotel, from traditional teak dining pavilions to the most up-to-date room features.The hotel has a total of 802 rooms including 72 suites in two wings, Shangri-La and Krungthep, and is adjacent to the Saphan Taksin station of the Skytrain, Bangkok's elevated metro system.The hotel also offers fully-serviced apartments for guests wishing a longer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Shangri La Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing