We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with world-class service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Ranked #19 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with world-class service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

This is a very nice hotel on a good location in central bangkok. The factilities are very nice (although a few years old), service is excellenta and the restaurants top-knotch. I recommend it.

My daughter 3.5 years liked the friendly doorman very much. She called him the "king of bangkok".

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TArvinell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,909 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,915
    1,450
    352
    124
    68
See reviews for
1,559
3,677
465
981
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,842)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

The hotel is beautiful. Conveniently located on the river, near a river boat dock. We would recommend using the river boat to get to the tourist areas of Grand Palace, as you will spend a lot of time in traffic taking a taxi through the city. Beautiful rooms with river view, great service. Breakfast buffet is definitely worth checking out as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Omer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

My wife and I waited outside this hotel two years ago when we were waiting to be picked up for an excursion, I must stress that we were not staying at this hotel, The staff came oustide and asked us if we would like to wait inside in comfort and have a drink whilst they enquired as to where our transport was . We agreed and were so impressed by the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff that we decided there and then to stay here the next time in Bangkok.
We were not dissapointed, it was all we expected and more, we stayed at the Krungthep wing in a suite, we had a butler, we had afternoon tea included, and sundowner cocktails /drinks and canapes included, as well as a free mini bar in the room, The service drinks and food were exceptional, faultless in fact, the beds were a dream, huge with loads of comfy pillows, nothing was a problem to the wonderful staff, the breakfast was superb, and there was plenty of choice, we came to Bangkok a couple of days ahead of the rest of our family , basically because we could , The Shangri la was all we expected and more ,we had a balcony that overlooked the Chaophraya river and we sat and watched the world go by in the really early hours with a glass of wine (or two) it does not get better than this.My wife and I have been lucky enough to have stayed in a lot of good quality hotels over the years and this one is right up there with the best of them. One day we will return, until then we will have fond memories of the time we spent there.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank don47Durham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hsinchu, Taiwan
Level Contributor
325 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

This was by far the best money spent on a five-star hotel. Everyone, from the gentleman who greeted me at the airport and helped arrange a cab to the hotel, the reception crew and how they show you personally to your room and remain ever ready to help, to the polite and generous cleaning staff, the man selling postcards in the boutique, and everyone in between, was so kind, helpful, cheerful, and professional.
The pool nice, and the staff helped secure the spot I wanted, shady, but not too shady, and periodically checked up on me, topped up my lemon water.
The guest services recommended a great show (to be elaborated upon in another review), the concierge helped arrange for my suit to be waiting for me in my room while I went out for the day, and the boat crew gave me advice on what to see during the night at Asiatec.
If given the chance, choose the Shangri-La Bangkok. Take a riverview room and be awed by the spectacular view of the river as it curves around the hotel. The night time view shows the ferris wheel from Asiatec.
Take advantage of their complimentary shoe shining service. Inside the first door in your room, the door that has the safe, on the bottom shelf you will see a tray for your shoes. Take your scuffed up loafers and leave them there for a nice cleanup job when you return in the evening. I guess it's only a problem if you only have one pair of shoes, so make a point of bringing a couple of pairs.
If you're not a minibar type of person, like I am, they will gladly remove the items so you can have a fridge for things you prefer. Nice selection of complimentary teas and coffees and loads of bottled water.
The daily fruit is fresh and delicious. Expect a couple different fruit when you arrive and each day after cleaning.
I hope everyone has a similar experience in this hotel that I have had. I really enjoyed my stay and recommend this hotel to anyone who likes prestige and elegance.

Room Tip: Choose a riverview room. If it's extra, it'll be worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asoupcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

Stayed in Krungthep wing in December 2012 before Christmas.
No complaints, good value for money.
Consierge servise is not very profesional and not frendly.
The gentleman faled to organize tour we asked for and gave us wrong direction on second ocasion. Not a good English too.
The rest of the stuff was very good.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vic45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
113 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

I can't stop thinking of going back and feel what a hotel should be like.. The guest is the soul and everything is done to please you. I know there are several things in the property that need upgrading, but they became minor things when compared to what you get back from each and every member of the staff!
One thing i would love to see changed, is that i don't consider appropriate when you have two pools, to accept the same shouting and splashing in both pools. There is people who want to forget about those noises they have home, and also there are some parents who think a public place allows all type of behavior.

Room Tip: High floors and Krungthep wing, for sure... a must..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZeBanaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

Arrived Xmas day & stayed 4 days so to be fair hotel was at its very busiest but as its hardly an unexpected situation lack of approriate staffing gets poor marks. Pool was chaotic - getting a sunbed difficult (even with staff rushing around to try to assist) and a drink/food annoyingly frustrating (45 minutes & ask for assistance to 3 different members of staff before getting served) but worse was the enforced jolity of aquarobics in the pool with instructions shouted over very loud music... Gangnam style?!! All a bit more Benidorm than Bangkok & certainly not 5* Perhaps they have day-memberships for locals & public holiday had them all there? But breakfast was similarly dysfunctional not helped by a poor buffet layout (please re-design to take into consideration traffic flow/people movement!) Long waits to get seated & cutlery/condiments & coffee served with issue apparently no-one to clear & reset rather than no food (lots of empty tables as guests stood in queues to be seated & we were told we couldn't have coffee as they'd run out of pots!) Had similar experience of long waits trying to get phone answered for room service & to make spa appointments (couldn't - full!) Ask at concierge desk for assistance with cars failed (resorted to calling other hotel) & asking for info on boat service from hotel after 15 minute wait found us sent to other wing only to be told there was no boat service (when there was from wing we'd started in as we discovered when we saw it later the same day!!) Room itself was decent, if a little dated, with very nice view across river but returning @ 3pm to find it still not made up having been out since 8am did spoil experience (twice!) For price paid this really was bad value.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottishCoupleMid40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 852 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,203 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#25 of 852 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Property: Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Address: 89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#14 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#18 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 802
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok, is a 5-star luxury hotel in Silom district, Bangkok. The design and appointments express the welcoming warmth and richness of Thai culture throughout the hotel, from traditional teak dining pavilions to the most up-to-date room features.The hotel has a total of 802 rooms including 72 suites in two wings, Shangri-La and Krungthep, and is adjacent to the Saphan Taksin station of the Skytrain, Bangkok's elevated metro system.The hotel also offers fully-serviced apartments for guests wishing a longer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Travelbag, TravelUp, Priceline, Agoda, Hotelopia, Ctrip TA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Shangri La Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing