We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 out of 10”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Ranked #22 of 896 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Shangri La (in the Krungthep wing) in December 2012 and January 2013 at the beginning of a trip to India and at the conclusion of the trip. Even though we stayed in fantastic 5 star luxury properties in India ( among them was the Lake Palace in Udaipur) I still thought that the Shangri La was just as good in an unpretentious and friendly way.

The staff were so friendly and helpful. The room was lovely. The free wifi was really good. Afternoon tea and pre dinner drinks in the riverside lounge were great too. I also liked the location of the hotel - close to the sky train and the ferry wharf. The Thai restaurant was also excellent.

Room Tip: All the rooms in the Krungthep wing were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kangerooexpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8,881)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,974 - 4,980 of 8,881 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2013

My wife and I just stayed at the Shangri-La again on our stay in Bangkok as part of vacation in Thailand and Vietnam. We found it, again, to have been an excellent choice. With a river-view room, it's location next to the river provides constant entertainment, but the extremely attentive level of service is what makes it really stand out. The breakfast buffet still is the most amazing I've ever encountered and they cater to the varied ethnic backgrounds of their clientele. The concierge desk is always hopping as guests have learned that it is a place to get excellent advice and assistance. The doormen and also very attentive and help to ensure that cab rides are safe and at the correct rate, by making certain that the cabbies turn on their meters before leaving and by giving guests a slip with the number of the taxi to report trouble back to them when you return to the hotel. The pool is wonderful and the attendants there are quick to help you find a place and set it up for you. A quality property.

Room Tip: A river view room is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OttawaRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013 via mobile

From the moment we walked in we were given 5 star service. Our butler was helpful , and one of the staff at breakfast was very helpful offering us advice on where to visit. Nothing seemed too much bother !

The room was great , it was big , with a lovely chandelier. The complimentary cocktails and canapees were really nice , and a great touch!

The spa was a little expensive , however the ambiance and environment was supurb woth the massage being great !

Only thing i was thought could of been better , was the shower , the grouting wasnt great and looked almost dirty , i wouldnt expect that from a 5 star.

Overall amazing place to stay at a reasonable price for a 5 star !

1  Thank Ashley J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We love Shangri-La. One of the most valued chain of th Eastern hotels. First time we've spent 3 nights in Bangkok at the Shangri-La. Was a misstake. Extortionate prices for a less than average service. Waiters are arrogant and tired, the hotel is old and very very exhausted. Like a victorian inn on the country side. You feel the ex elegance but it's just a museum.
Not a good value for it's prices.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annamaripeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

What a delight our stay was - comfortable, pampered and amazing. A great location on the river, with attentive staff, great buffet breakfast, rapid and excellent room service; and a constant source of pleasure from the setting and property.

We spent three nights in a balcony corner room over-looking the river. Even the bathroom had a breath-taking view, and the room was comfortable and clean. The open area by the river with a pool, bar, and restaurant was a delightful resource, and an oasis of escape from the craziness and fun of Bangkok. Good value too.

The only things I can think of to ding them on is check-in was slow, and there really ought to be a line of cabs allowed at the entry. Whenever we wanted a cab, someone had to radio them from some other spot, and so there was five minutes of hanging around every single time. Given the plethora of cabs in Bangkok, I have to believe the hotel is choosing not to allow cabs to wait at the entry and instead is staging them further off.

Don't let that put you off staying there though, I would stay here again in a heart-beat. I wish we had been able to spend another week here. Much more fun than steamy, commercial Phuket.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnMat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This is the 2nd time I've stayed at the Shangri La in the Krungthep wing. It really is a fantastic hotel, I've stayed in others in Bangkok and have now decided that this is the only hotel for me in Bangkok!! We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a suite too which was AMAZING!! The canapes were as lovely as ever and all the staff are so pleasant and friendly. Have nothing but praise for this wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and stay in the Krungthep wing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeborahBath_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I went to Bangkok for my honeymoon, stayed in Shangri-La for 3 nights in September 2012. I enjoyed the hotel, they offered a good service but with some issues. Is not normal to be awakened at 8 am because they want to clean the room... They should schedule better they housekeeping. Not regarding this issue, our trip in Bangkok and hotel experience was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NunoAntunes7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
The Peninsula Bangkok
#10 of 896 in Bangkok
4,695 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#34 of 896 in Bangkok
6,830 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Address: 89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#21 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £124 - £304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 802
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok, is a 5-star luxury hotel in Silom district, Bangkok. The design and appointments express the welcoming warmth and richness of Thai culture throughout the hotel, from traditional teak dining pavilions to the most up-to-date room features.The hotel has a total of 802 rooms including 72 suites in two wings, Shangri-La and Krungthep, and is adjacent to the Saphan Taksin station of the Skytrain, Bangkok's elevated metro system.The hotel also offers fully-serviced apartments for guests wishing a longer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Shangri La Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing