We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our staying on July 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Ranked #20 of 871 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our staying on July 2013”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed from July 27 and are going to depart on August 1. Staying at the Krungthep Wing. While the hotel itself is great, Amy - our butler - was outstanding. She went of her way both in our last staying on March, and now in July, to help us with everything that we needed. Whether it was a wireless router, a good advise, a daily smile...she is the best!!! We hope to see her promoted next time that we stay here

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank effyCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,226
    1,505
    365
    129
    75
See reviews for
1,678
3,800
477
1,047
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,912)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

PRO - Service with a heart. Near BTS and Robinsons. Good place to stay.
CON - hardly any hot water in the shower
Overall, I would stay at the Shangri-la again because it's a good hotel and service is superb.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank MCEaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed at the Shangri-La for 3 nights as part of a city stop-over. The hotel was in a great location, with stunning vistas of the river and the city beyond. We had a room on the 21st floor overlooking the river. The views were stunning as was the room. The service was second to none. The staff were friendly and attentive and nothing was to much trouble. We dined at all the restaurants in the hotel and were not disappointed and would recommend them all. Breakfast was amazing. I have never seen a breakfast buffet like it - something for everyone and then some. There are complimentary water taxis available at the hotel which are well worth the experience. Unfortunately I didn't get the chance to try the pool in the main wing, but certainly has a bit of a wow factor about it. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel, a touch of luxury and sanctuary in a busy city.

Room Tip: We had a river view on a high floor. This had fantastic views of the river and city beyond. Quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavieNstewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed at the Shangri- La as part of my 50th birthday celebrations on our way to Bali.We had stayed previously over 10 years ago but returned with our daughters. I had booked a Premier Room but we were upgraded on arrival to a suite in the Shangri-La wing which was truly spectacular.It was elegant,distinctly Thai but done in a modern way. The suite was very well maintained.The views of the river were stunning and mesmerised us for our stay.
The hotel has a resort feel with a lovely pool and luxurious loungers. The pool was a welcome cooling end to the day after seeing the city sights. The location was excellent and we could easily take the regular ferries up the river to see the sights.
The breakfast as stated in previous reviews is amazing with a wide range of options. We are vegetarian and had plenty of choice.
The highlight was dinner at Salathip which has a vegetarian menu. The food was delicious and perfectly spiced.Also the tiramisu at Angelini's the Italian restaurant was great.
The ambience of this hotel is of refined luxury.

Room Tip: Go for a river view and high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 301STPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

When you compare the Shangri La Bangkok to the Shangri La Kuala Lumpur, the former lacks a little of the specialness I have always enjoyed. The property is bigger, and seems to have less of the "personal" touches of the SL KL. However, staff are attentive if a little less efficient. Rooms are as expected, superb, the foyer is less impressive than KL but the staff arranged for us to extend our stay for a late plane for which we were grateful. View was great, breakfast very good, drinks as usual in the Horizon Club, very well served. Would stay there in a heartbeat again. A lovely touch was the hotel launch which took guests to a nearby shopping centre.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diedre_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Read the reviews on trip-advisor so had high expectations from the outset. We found a fantastic rate staying in the Krungthep Wing for two nights, so decided to give it a go.

A short wait at check in for a receptionist to become available (we sat in the peaceful foyer and enjoyed lemongrass tea), but after many apologies for the slow start we were swiftly led up to the room. The Krungthep Wing itself seems rather dated, but still grand in appearance with an old world charm. The room was large, clean and comfortable with a fantastic balcony and river view.

The benefits of staying in this wing are inclusive breakfast at a choice of venues (we ate at the main wing -WOW!), afternoon tea, cocktail hour, free soft drinks in the mini bar and around the pool and Riverside Lounge all day and butler service if required. We really enjoyed all of these extra touches.

The pool in the main wing was better for families and there was more atmosphere, with glossier surroundings, but if peace and exclusivity are what you are after do not hesitate to stay in the Krungthep Wing - you won't regret it! It's our new favorite place to stay in Bangkok!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Usercart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, D.C.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Our family of four (Mom, Dad and 2 kids, 12 and 6) stayed for four nights in July 2013 and loved it. Biggest pluses: (1) location (right next to the river, which serves as an urban superhighway) and the SkyTrain, an above-ground mass transit system that allows you to avoid the street traffic; (2) the breakfast (really lavish spread, kept us going almost all day - never really considered Indian food or ice cream breakfast items!), and (3) the friendly and helpful staff. We liked it so much that we decided to book it again for our final night in Bangkok at the end of our trip, even though we were initially inclined to try a different hotel. We stayed in the main tower, and when we walked around, the Krungthep wing seemed strangely deserted; it seems as though they might be renovating there. The main tower is definitely where the action is. We all managed to squeeze into one room with a rollaway bed, although it was a bit tight. I did not visit the spa, but my wife went every day to shower and get ready there and have a little quiet time, and she reported that it was magnificent. One nice perk is the complimentary river shuttle service that, in the evening, will take you down to the new (and great) Asiatique area, full of shops and restaurants. You can also take a boat across the river to visit the Peninsula hotel, or stroll over to the Mandarin Oriental next door. We were trying to decide among those hotels, and chose the Shangri La, and are glad we did.

Room Tip: We had a nice room on the 19th floor with a river view and a little balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 27Quincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 871 in Bangkok
4,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#30 of 871 in Bangkok
6,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Property: Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Address: 89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#14 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#19 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 802
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok, is a 5-star luxury hotel in Silom district, Bangkok. The design and appointments express the welcoming warmth and richness of Thai culture throughout the hotel, from traditional teak dining pavilions to the most up-to-date room features.The hotel has a total of 802 rooms including 72 suites in two wings, Shangri-La and Krungthep, and is adjacent to the Saphan Taksin station of the Skytrain, Bangkok's elevated metro system.The hotel also offers fully-serviced apartments for guests wishing a longer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travelbag, TravelUp, Nozio Netplan srl, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Shangri La Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing