We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exemplary example what Five Star hotels should be.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Ranked #18 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Exemplary example what Five Star hotels should be.”
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

Excellence. This is the most fitting one word to describe our experience staying in this hotel. If it was a student we will mark it with an A plus, honours and high distinction. A role model in all aspects; luxurious and well kept state of the rooms, beautiful and clean surroundings, delectable cuisines, relaxing atmosphere, and the most hospitable staff we have ever met. To add to that, the smell of the air in the hotel alone is so fragrant, sweet in tone but it's captivating that you will be enticed enough to ask the staff what's in the air? So here, I could say that our five senses were captured and enhanced, so much and so well that we decided to extend our stay and even came back to experience again a blissful stay, after all it's Shangri-la, it's a paradise on earth :-)

Staff - we were treated so warmly and politely. Even down the corridors, we were greeted with smiles and a wai "Sawadee ka". The pool attendants always lay out fresh towels and offer us cold bottled water. Wow, a service you wouldn't get in other five star hotels. Shangri-la Bangkok has really excelled in service and hospitality. From the reception and reservation team (highly commendable their pre-arrival message), accommodating waiters, cleaning staff, fantastic cooks, helpful concierge, to the resident manager Mr. Marlon Hirsch who kindly reply to my survey answers. All we could say that we were very pleased with the service these people have provided to us.

The Horizon Club Lounge - I think one of the best hotels staff work here. They speak English language very well, highly trained in hospitality, knowledgable and very professional. Special mention to Oui and Tum, who were always friendly and kind to share their thoughts about Hua Hin. Now it's our favourite rest and recreation place outside Bangkok. By the way, the design and deco of the lounge is Vogue worthy. Chic and classy. Great tasting cocktails and delish food. The view is beautiful, especially at night as we sat down beside the window watching the colourful (neon lighted) river boats pass by the Chao Phraya river. The Peninsula hotel is just right in front of our view. I just wished though the hotel have a restaurant on this level (24th floor) because the view is simply gorgeous and the ambiance is fitting for a romantic dinner. We'll be regular customers if this happens :-)

Room - we've tried an Executive Suite room and the Horizon Club room. Both are luxurious. Top notch state of the rooms. From huge LCD/plasma tvs, to high graded cotton sheets, L'occitane toiletries, electric controlled curtains, good quality furniture, details in layout and design - this is a paragon of luxury and comfort. The cleaning team is worth to be commended for their diligent duties of maintaining the cleanliness and state of the rooms.

Food - the breakfast in Next 2 cafe is a delightful feast! You should see the eyes of our kids rolled in excitement when they saw the immense choices of food (LOL). You may think that because there were so many choices the quality is not that good (quality over quantity) but it's not the case with Next 2. We were very impressed with the taste of the dishes. The pastries for example were fresh, moist and scrumptious. The food presentation is well organised and tidy no matter how busy sometimes the place can be. Hats off to the chefs, cooks and serving staff!

Rate - well worth, money well spent. Our entire family worked really hard especially the past 12 months (even weekends). So we felt we should reward ourselves a good holiday. I know there are some cheaper places in Bangkok but you get what you paid for. We are pleased with the value of the
rate. The price met our expectation for a top class hotel.

Overall Experience - fantastic, relaxing, luxurious, delicious, we're well respected and well looked after. We can highly recommend this place to those who like to experience the same. An exemplary service almost fitting for royals, Shangri-la Bangkok delivered its best. Thank you very much and count us in as regular returning guests :-)



  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frizz18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,081
    1,474
    361
    125
    74
See reviews for
1,611
3,753
470
1,026
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,886)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Witham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Stayed for 3 nights before heading off to Krabi. Had a great stay. Staff couldn't do enough for you. We were upgraded to the Krunthorpe Wing giving us the luxury of afternoon tea and drinks and canapes in the evening. Very central for all we needed. Would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I have been to Bangkok about ten times over the past fifteen years and stayed at the Shangri La for about ten of those visits. Each time I plan to visit Bangkok, I think that I should stay somewhere different and cheaper but when I really look at other hotels there are always things that are missing from what is offered by staying at the Shangri La. Location is unbeatable, on the next to the Choa Phraya River away from the hectic activity of the city but next to one of the worlds best inner city transport systems and only a few stops to the central city.

Although it seems expensive, when you really look into it, it's excellent value for money compared to even many 3-4 star hotels and the advantages, level of service and comfort far out way any perceived additional expense. Each time we returned the hotel remembers our past visits and past request. It's like visiting friends.

On our recent visits we have stayed in the Horizon Club rooms, all inclusive of breakfast, use of the Horizon Club lounge and business service, as well as any drinks and amazing food during the two hour "drinks & canapés " in the evening. If you look at value for money alone, this is a big saving on paying for breakfast and, after the drinks and food, you couldn't possible want dinner.

The new Health Club is amazing as is the location of the pool by the river. Hard to convince yourself to leave the hotel at all.

I will alway look for a better deal but I bet I will always end up at what has become our home in Bangkok.

Room Tip: Check out the Horizon Club. Great value for money. Avoid rooms near the lifts as you do get a sligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Petrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights before heading off on a tour. Arrived at 7am and no problem to check in even offered us breakfast on them. Has its own riverboat jetty and is right beside the skytrain. Great central location. Staff couldn't do enough to help especially the housekeeping staff. Only ate in the buffet restaurant but that was first class. If you want a bit of luxury in a central Bangkok location then can't recommend it highly enough

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

While staying in bangkok we had the amazing opportunity to take the dinner cruise! After reading many reviews about dinner cruises we were so pleased with how amazing this adventure turned out! The food was amazing and our waitress was absolutely wonderful. Seeing all the temples glistening at night was so unforgettable!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crystallee76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

During our stay at Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok we have seen what luxury accommodation and perfection means. We have been delighted by their impeccable services, room ambiance and experience overall. It is a very good looking hotel, very classy.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandru I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

A great five star hotel and the best location in Bangkok. Just 500 meters from the sky train or River Taxi, which will take you to most places in Bangkok. Hotel is great, services are great, resturants are superior and rooms are comfortable. Make sure you get a room overlooking the River.

Room Tip: Sign up for their club, which is freee, and receive a free breakfast, which is second to none.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AGITATORKEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 858 in Bangkok
4,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#26 of 858 in Bangkok
6,149 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Property: Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Address: 89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 802
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok, is a 5-star luxury hotel in Silom district, Bangkok. The design and appointments express the welcoming warmth and richness of Thai culture throughout the hotel, from traditional teak dining pavilions to the most up-to-date room features.The hotel has a total of 802 rooms including 72 suites in two wings, Shangri-La and Krungthep, and is adjacent to the Saphan Taksin station of the Skytrain, Bangkok's elevated metro system.The hotel also offers fully-serviced apartments for guests wishing a longer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Agoda, Odigeo, Nozio Netplan srl, Ctrip TA, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Shangri La Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing