We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent two nights”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Ranked #21 of 885 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My wife and I stayed for two nights in Horizon Club room. We were very pleased to be located on 25th floor (top) in a lovely room overlooking the river. The pre dinner drinks were good, but would have liked a choice of wine rather than red or white. The food that was given with this was excellent, truly 5*. We are staying at the Shangri La in Cairns in February and have today upgraded to the Horizon Club there, on the strength of this.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank Stewart_Tauber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (8,456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,101 - 4,107 of 8,456 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

Super hotel, great staff, especially with my son.

Only problem we had was at breakfast. I have never seen such disgusting behaviour and poor manners by adults. Spitting food out, taking photos of the food in their mouths was just disgusting. I know this isn't the hotels fault but this experience might put me off staying there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank attok7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We have just spent 6 days in the Krungthep Wing of the Shangri La hotel in Bangkok. It was excellent . From the most gracious and warm welcome from Amp to the excellent service of Henry in the lobby lounge where breakfast,afternoon tea and cocktails were served. Henry was so professional and attentive and did everything he could to make the guests feel happy even when it was very crowded.
The hotel is in a great location and just sitting at the bar watching all the activity on the Chao Praya river is so therapeutic.

Room Tip: The Krungthep wing is good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolynn f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I have just returned from BKK and could not wait to write this review. The hotel is amazing. From the second they pick you up at the airport to when they drop you off again. We stayed for 4 nights at the Krungthep Wing. Our room was lovely with a balcony on the highest floor. The chandelier in the room made it really romantic. As we arrived late we checked in in our room which was really good. The spa Chi is lovely and the massages really good as well as the atmosphere. Breakfast has a decent selection of food and the cocktails in the evenings were well worth it. We also visited the tailor in the hotel whom sews suits and jackets and were very pleased with our purchases.

The restaurant Salathip serves some of the best Thai food in Bangkok and is very romantic.

On our last day, my husband spilled coffee on his shirt and the manager of the restaurant sent it in for a complimentary wash. It came back in 20 minutes. Amazing!

Overall they stay was lovely and the service first class. Thank you for making our stay in Bangkok memorable and magical.

Room Tip: Stay in the Krungthep Wing as it is less busy then the main wing of the hotel. Ask for a room on a h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SecoyaGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We had needed our Thailand trip by staying in this hotel for 4 nights.
Great experience. The staff were very courteous and friendly.
The rooms were beautiful with all amenities. They also had a tropical fruit platter that we enjoyed very much. The tv had international channels that made it fun also.
And the view from the room, was spectacular !!!!
The restaurant had amazing breakfast buffet with awesome Indian food. They had the best naan bread we ever had. The Thai food was also amazing. The staff were amazing. They would greet us by our name and room number.
They also have courtesy boat shuttle to the near by shopping which also made a great experience.
Would highly recommend and would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ATV62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I stayed for 2 nights Hotel Shangrila is amazing,

Only of its own kind, was my experience staying in this hotel. . one can benchmark in all aspects; rooms, restaurants, morning breakfast etc, Hospitality offered by their staff is one of the stand alone feature of this hotel, they treate with very warmly and politely with the word wai "Sawadee ka". The pool attendants always lay out fresh towels and offer us cold bottled water, unlike others. They speak English language very well,

as for rooms are concerned,from huge LCD/plasma tvs,better toiletries, electric controlled curtains, good quality furniture, details in layout and design - this shows the quality of luxury and comfort.

window view is amazing from this hotel, varities of boats, ships passing thruogh, one more benifit is that their is free boat drive to some of the shopping malls.

Overall Experience - superb, comfortable, & luxurious, I can highly recommend this place to all travellers may be business purpose or tourist purpose, to enjoy their stay. Shangri-la Bangkok is best hotel in Bangkok

Room Tip: take the river facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GururajRavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

Excellence. This is the most fitting one word to describe our experience staying in this hotel. If it was a student we will mark it with an A plus, honours and high distinction. A role model in all aspects; luxurious and well kept state of the rooms, beautiful and clean surroundings, delectable cuisines, relaxing atmosphere, and the most hospitable staff we have ever met. To add to that, the smell of the air in the hotel alone is so fragrant, sweet in tone but it's captivating that you will be enticed enough to ask the staff what's in the air? So here, I could say that our five senses were captured and enhanced, so much and so well that we decided to extend our stay and even came back to experience again a blissful stay, after all it's Shangri-la, it's a paradise on earth :-)

Staff - we were treated so warmly and politely. Even down the corridors, we were greeted with smiles and a wai "Sawadee ka". The pool attendants always lay out fresh towels and offer us cold bottled water. Wow, a service you wouldn't get in other five star hotels. Shangri-la Bangkok has really excelled in service and hospitality. From the reception and reservation team (highly commendable their pre-arrival message), accommodating waiters, cleaning staff, fantastic cooks, helpful concierge, to the resident manager Mr. Marlon Hirsch who kindly reply to my survey answers. All we could say that we were very pleased with the service these people have provided to us.

The Horizon Club Lounge - I think one of the best hotels staff work here. They speak English language very well, highly trained in hospitality, knowledgable and very professional. Special mention to Oui and Tum, who were always friendly and kind to share their thoughts about Hua Hin. Now it's our favourite rest and recreation place outside Bangkok. By the way, the design and deco of the lounge is Vogue worthy. Chic and classy. Great tasting cocktails and delish food. The view is beautiful, especially at night as we sat down beside the window watching the colourful (neon lighted) river boats pass by the Chao Phraya river. The Peninsula hotel is just right in front of our view. I just wished though the hotel have a restaurant on this level (24th floor) because the view is simply gorgeous and the ambiance is fitting for a romantic dinner. We'll be regular customers if this happens :-)

Room - we've tried an Executive Suite room and the Horizon Club room. Both are luxurious. Top notch state of the rooms. From huge LCD/plasma tvs, to high graded cotton sheets, L'occitane toiletries, electric controlled curtains, good quality furniture, details in layout and design - this is a paragon of luxury and comfort. The cleaning team is worth to be commended for their diligent duties of maintaining the cleanliness and state of the rooms.

Food - the breakfast in Next 2 cafe is a delightful feast! You should see the eyes of our kids rolled in excitement when they saw the immense choices of food (LOL). You may think that because there were so many choices the quality is not that good (quality over quantity) but it's not the case with Next 2. We were very impressed with the taste of the dishes. The pastries for example were fresh, moist and scrumptious. The food presentation is well organised and tidy no matter how busy sometimes the place can be. Hats off to the chefs, cooks and serving staff!

Rate - well worth, money well spent. Our entire family worked really hard especially the past 12 months (even weekends). So we felt we should reward ourselves a good holiday. I know there are some cheaper places in Bangkok but you get what you paid for. We are pleased with the value of the
rate. The price met our expectation for a top class hotel.

Overall Experience - fantastic, relaxing, luxurious, delicious, we're well respected and well looked after. We can highly recommend this place to those who like to experience the same. An exemplary service almost fitting for royals, Shangri-la Bangkok delivered its best. Thank you very much and count us in as regular returning guests :-)



  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frizz18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
The Peninsula Bangkok
#11 of 885 in Bangkok
4,472 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#30 of 885 in Bangkok
6,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Address: 89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#20 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £127 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 802
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok, is a 5-star luxury hotel in Silom district, Bangkok. The design and appointments express the welcoming warmth and richness of Thai culture throughout the hotel, from traditional teak dining pavilions to the most up-to-date room features.The hotel has a total of 802 rooms including 72 suites in two wings, Shangri-La and Krungthep, and is adjacent to the Saphan Taksin station of the Skytrain, Bangkok's elevated metro system.The hotel also offers fully-serviced apartments for guests wishing a longer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Agoda, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Shangri La Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing