We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shangri-La Hotel Bangkok
Nearby Hotels
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Peninsula Bangkok(Bangkok)
US$298
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$242
The Peninsula
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$179
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (9,246)
Filter reviews
9,246 results
Traveller rating
6,921
1,682
408
149
86
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6,921
1,682
408
149
86
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskrungthep winghorizon clubthe riverriverside loungechi spakrung thep wingthe main hotelbalcony roomthai restaurantdinner cruiseevening cocktailsour honeymoonbreakfast buffetfive star hotelwonderful hotelsky train stationnight market
Filter
Updating list...
4,653 - 4,658 of 9,246 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The once famous Shangri-La needs help. The hotel is beautiful and the service is good not great. We stayed there for 4 days and had hot water only on occasion. Unfortunately, never when I was showering! Our phone service worked occasionally but voice mail never did so we received notice that we had voice mails by notes put under our door.

We stayed in the Krungthep Wing and it was very nice and very quiet. Just limited hot water and no services other than at stated times. I wouldn't recommend a stay in this wing. No bar in the evening without a 15 minute walk to the main hotel.

My biggest problem with this hotel is in the customer service area. Our butlers were great and many of the others we encountered were also great. The concierge service seems to be a bit "smelly". We were directed to below average venues rather than our choice as the restaurants were 'busy with a private party" or "fully booked". There was not much tourist traffic this week....Really no table for 4?

For example, we wanted to dine at Siracco, a very highly rated Trip Advisor location, but were told it was booked for a private party. He recommended Mezzaluna instead as it was just above this restaurant. To make this story short...there was no private party at Sirraco and there was no reason why we could not have dined there. Instead the rip-off restaurant ended up charging each couple $1200!!! Horrible food as well.

I am writing this review in hopes that other travelers will not take the concierge services offered by Shangri-La and other hotels as the absolute end of the line.

If you have the chance to stay elsewhere while in Bangkok, please do as perhaps new management could come in a create a better experience...maybe some plumbers to get some hot water!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank augiemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager_SLBK, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear Augiemom,

I am sorry to hear of your recent negative experience. Rest assured we have investigated into the challenges that have lead to your disappointment and have put forth the effort to prevent repeat occurrences. We look forward to your return so that we me demonstrate the services you have come to expect from a Shangri-La. You may contact me at kieran.twomey@shangri-la.com for any assistance required.

Best regards,
Kieran Twomey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This hotel has everything and more that you would expect from a 5 star hotel; great service, fabulous room, beautiful bathroom amenities, great food and huge selection at the breakfast buffet, luxury spa, one of the best outdoor pools of any hotel in Bangkok, and a constant scene of activity being played out on the river from the balcony of your room.
Will definitely return one day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dianne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Shangri-la. We stayed in the Krungthep Wing which has the best location, 100 meters from the Skytrain and river boat stop.
We enjoyed the free breakfast, afternoon tea and evening drinks and nibbles - this is great when traveling with children as they are always hungry!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank JSC347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Greeted at the airport shangri representative whisked away Merc S Class. Check in with ease.Upgraded river view balcony room.
Exquisitely furnished room spotless. Breakfast 5 star +. Staff from concierge to cleaners & house keeping excelled.
Have travelled to Bangkok several times will definitely make Shangri La home again next visit.
Hospitality industry is a very tough gig this hotel comes out ahead of the rest congratulations.
Bazzaboy 66

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bazzaboy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

My husband booked 2 nights in the Krungthep Wing - what a delight. Fabulous room with great balcony views of the river (so beautiful at night). The afternoon tea and, later, canapes and cocktails and the impeccable service kept us pretty much in the hotel! This of course means we need to return to do the sightseeing bit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank denise247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews