We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Location plus personalized service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Ranked #18 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
112 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Top Location plus personalized service”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Although the main wing has nicer rooms at the horizon level, the Krungthep wing has a more cozy and private atmosphere. The staff is very friendly and attentive and not so much hustle than the main wing.
the rooms give a pleasant view over the river and are comfortable and roomy.
a big plus is the location trafficwise, whereby it can take hours to get to the hotels at Sukkhumvit road,
the Shangrila is neatly located at the silom exit of the freeway and easy with traffic. Plus the Taksin bridge Sky-train station only 50 feet away makes it easy to reach the main shopping centers

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank curtis69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,081
    1,474
    361
    125
    74
See reviews for
1,611
3,753
470
1,026
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,886)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Excellent hotel, great experience
The service was very courteous, all staff were very friendly, the rooms were beautiful with river view
Highly recommend this experience to win
The hotel location was by the river and the view was incredible

Room Tip: Stunning rooms and great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Ivon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Great Hotel. Professional staff. Awesome view. Good location. Generous breakfast. The re-designed pool seems vibrant same as usual. Still premium but it used to looked brighter couple of years ago. Don't miss the cruise at night with sea food dinner

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bilal F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izmir, Turkey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Me and my wife stayed at Shangri-La Bangkok Hotel 4 days.This was 3th time we chose same hotel( Firs stay was on 2005).Hotel services and facilities are excellent and for such a good quality prices were affordable.Spesifically Authantic Thai restaurant is worth of trying.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
2 Thank leventolgun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

It's great that the Shangri-la took a chance bringing in molecular Chef Jeff Ramsey and a nice change from the usual wine dinner formula. The dinner itself was a fantastic journey through 21 courses of well thought out and wonderfully composed dishes. Jeff's showmanship behind the counter, solid knowledge and willingness to share put the evening over the top. The cost was an unbelievable value and I felt quite fortunate to be able to get a seat. Hopefully the Shangri la will continue with these dinners and we will see Jeff back in Bangkok soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TastyNosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Geneva, WI
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The once famous Shangri-La needs help. The hotel is beautiful and the service is good not great. We stayed there for 4 days and had hot water only on occasion. Unfortunately, never when I was showering! Our phone service worked occasionally but voice mail never did so we received notice that we had voice mails by notes put under our door.

We stayed in the Krungthep Wing and it was very nice and very quiet. Just limited hot water and no services other than at stated times. I wouldn't recommend a stay in this wing. No bar in the evening without a 15 minute walk to the main hotel.

My biggest problem with this hotel is in the customer service area. Our butlers were great and many of the others we encountered were also great. The concierge service seems to be a bit "smelly". We were directed to below average venues rather than our choice as the restaurants were 'busy with a private party" or "fully booked". There was not much tourist traffic this week....Really no table for 4?

For example, we wanted to dine at Siracco, a very highly rated Trip Advisor location, but were told it was booked for a private party. He recommended Mezzaluna instead as it was just above this restaurant. To make this story short...there was no private party at Sirraco and there was no reason why we could not have dined there. Instead the rip-off restaurant ended up charging each couple $1200!!! Horrible food as well.

I am writing this review in hopes that other travelers will not take the concierge services offered by Shangri-La and other hotels as the absolute end of the line.

If you have the chance to stay elsewhere while in Bangkok, please do as perhaps new management could come in a create a better experience...maybe some plumbers to get some hot water!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank augiemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager_SLBK, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Augiemom,

I am sorry to hear of your recent negative experience. Rest assured we have investigated into the challenges that have lead to your disappointment and have put forth the effort to prevent repeat occurrences. We look forward to your return so that we me demonstrate the services you have come to expect from a Shangri-La. You may contact me at kieran.twomey@shangri-la.com for any assistance required.

Best regards,
Kieran Twomey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This hotel has everything and more that you would expect from a 5 star hotel; great service, fabulous room, beautiful bathroom amenities, great food and huge selection at the breakfast buffet, luxury spa, one of the best outdoor pools of any hotel in Bangkok, and a constant scene of activity being played out on the river from the balcony of your room.
Will definitely return one day.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 858 in Bangkok
4,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#26 of 858 in Bangkok
6,151 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Property: Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Address: 89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 802
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok, is a 5-star luxury hotel in Silom district, Bangkok. The design and appointments express the welcoming warmth and richness of Thai culture throughout the hotel, from traditional teak dining pavilions to the most up-to-date room features.The hotel has a total of 802 rooms including 72 suites in two wings, Shangri-La and Krungthep, and is adjacent to the Saphan Taksin station of the Skytrain, Bangkok's elevated metro system.The hotel also offers fully-serviced apartments for guests wishing a longer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Nozio Netplan srl, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Agoda, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Shangri La Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing