We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value and ambience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Ranked #18 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Excellent value and ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

The Shangri-La Bangkok was a beautiful hotel, we stayed in the Krung Thepp Wing which was beautiful, with attentive staff and well fitted rooms. Staff go out of their way to welcome children such as encouraging them to have a turn on the 'gong' at the foyer and giving them helpful sheets of Thai language and a welcome teddy! Meals were fantastic with an array of dishes and excellent quality. This was our second return visit, we look forward to visiting again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,805
    1,426
    344
    121
    66
See reviews for
1,530
3,619
450
961
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,810)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Horizon club. The service is excellent throughout the stay. From the moment you out of the taxi it just perfect. The staff is friendly and helpful. The room is clean, nice and the bed is comfy. Breakfast at the coffee house is wonderful.
We booked Salatip for my husband birthday but unfortunately the food is not as expected. We expected authentic thai food but it adapted to tourist food. The prices is expensive than it worth.
Other than that nothing to add.
Keep it up !

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank audrey l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed in the ''ordinary'' wing, in a deluxe river view room, and thought it was anything BUT ordinary! The view from our room was superb and the room service was impeccable. In fact, the service everywhere was excellent and the restaurants on site top quality. The Next2 buffet restaurant served lovely breakfasts and even though it was sometimes crowded the staff always did their best to sit you where you wanted to be. The outside area was particularly pleasant in the mornings. We also ate at the Salathip Thai restaurant where there was a display of traditional dance during the meal, as well as at Angelini's Italian restaurant which had good quality food, although somewhat lacking in Italian atmosphere. We took advantage of the free shuttle river bus to the nearby Asiatique shopping area which was quite lively, with a relaxed atmosphere. All in all a fantastic hotel, and we will certainly stay there if we visit Bangkok again.

Room Tip: Try for a room as high up as possible to take advantage of the river views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onemoreglobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Have been visiting Bangkok now for a number of years and generally stay in some of the nicer locations on the river, however this year was our first in the Shangri-La. My daughter has stayed there before and recommended it and quite rightly so, it was wonderful! So close to the river with magnificent views especially at night, however when relaxing at the poolside there did not appear to be too much traffic noise from the river. On our trip back to the airport my wife realised she had forgotten her handbag! A quick call by the taxi driver and the handbag was retrieved and despatched to the airport, we were met by a representative from the hotel who stayed with us until the bag was delivered. Amazing service!

Room Tip: By far the easiest access to the sky train, less than a 100mtrs from the door. A room on the river s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BMcGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

i always stay in this hotel because of the quality of the staff and the services they provide. I adore the Chi spa services and the so professional attitude of my massor. Food is exellent . You rest there in a so quiet atmosphere

Room Tip: junior suite on the Krungthep wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Gilles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

The noise level is ridiculously high and did NOT get a single night of quality sleep. Surprise the walls are not sound-proof. Strongly recommend to go next door to the Peninsular Bangkok as the prices are more or less the same range, but MUCH better quality.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
6 Thank Frequent T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager_SLBK, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Frequent T HongKong,

I am sorry to hear of your recent unpleasant experience. We would like to get more details and wish to give you a call so we can investigate the challenges that have lead to your disappointment and to prevent repeat occurrences. Please do give me a call or email your contact details to me at kieran.twomey@shangri-la.com.

I look forward to speaking with you.

Sincerely,
Kieran Twomey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanocuver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Shangrila Hotel has always meet my expectation to be a high quality hotel. It is certainly a nice retreat after a long day exploring the city. The staff at the Krungthep Wing were absolutely amazing. Professional, friendly and provide us with excellent service throughout our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank VT619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,123 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#25 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Property: Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Address: 89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#13 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 802
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok, is a 5-star luxury hotel in Silom district, Bangkok. The design and appointments express the welcoming warmth and richness of Thai culture throughout the hotel, from traditional teak dining pavilions to the most up-to-date room features.The hotel has a total of 802 rooms including 72 suites in two wings, Shangri-La and Krungthep, and is adjacent to the Saphan Taksin station of the Skytrain, Bangkok's elevated metro system.The hotel also offers fully-serviced apartments for guests wishing a longer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Travelbag, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Hotelopia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Southall Travel and Agoda so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Shangri La Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing