We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“next tp perfect !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Ranked #22 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Shangri-La Bangkok: a Hotel about as good as it can get. A very pleasant stay, with excellent quality in any respect ! excellent Breakfast buffet in the pleasant outside Next Café, Swiming pool in dream situation, just a great place.



Room Tip: the upgrade to Club level is very well worthwhile! Big room, River view, Super club lounge, generous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Emilio2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (8,540)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,969 - 3,975 of 8,540 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2013

It's not about just the furnishings. It's about the people who works there. Me and family stayed here...and the staff helped us out in almost every aspect of our visit to Bangkok. To me that's remarkable. I didn't get that anywhere. From where to go, what to do, what to buy, where's the cheapest, where to eat, etc. On their day off, some of them brought us around. My wife was happy with this. We would certainly come here again, stay at this hotel and meet the staff who have given us worthwhile recommendations. I would consider giving them a treat on my second visit to Bangkok in May next year. Its truly Asian hospitality.

Room Tip: I would suggest rooms facing the river...a good view with things to talk about and see from your roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We stopped for 2 days after a long round the world business trip.
We enjoyed the great view of the river and the great Thai restaurant in the hotel.
The pool was a little cold but it was in November.
You can't beat the local foot massage.

Room Tip: Go for the view. It is really worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights, we found the hotel very clean and comfortable-a real escape from the hustle and bustle outside. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

The location was great for getting all over the either by long boat from behind the hotel or by taxi. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amye_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

My family thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Away from the hustle and bustle of Bangkok but close enough to the shopping district. Walking distance to BTS and in-house river cruise that takes you to Asiatique.
Dining by the Chao Phraya river was another plus, spectacular room view of the river in the mornings was a sight to behold.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mactan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We were only in Bangkok for one night due to flight scheduling on our way to Myanmar, but definitely enjoyed our short stay at the Shangri-La hotel on the Chao Praya river in Bangkok. Had dinner at Salathip, the Thai restaurant on property and it was excellent. We booked the hotel through Expedia and arrived a day earlier than planned, but a quick call with Expedia to adjust the dates with the hotel took care of everything. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the hotel was beautifully decorated for the upcoming holidays.

Room Tip: Deluxe river front balcony rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We had a balcony room in the Krunghthep wing. The room was comfortable but I thought the bathroom little dated and perhaps due for refurbishment. Internet was good and reasonably fast. Breakfast in Riverside lounge was good, although not sure they have the cooked to order eggs just right. (scrambled strange, and medium boiled had a runny egg white) We avoided these after the two days. Afternoon tea was fantastic and cocktail hour very enjoyable. My only criticism is it was be too easy to eat and drink too much. Staff were all very helpful and advised us on areas to avoid during the recent demonstrations. I would definitely stay here again. We had considered the Horizon club and I am glad we whose Krunghtep as the main hotel seemed a lot busier. A major disappointment was the Thai restaurant in the main hotel. We had the seafood menu and it started well but the mains were cold and very bland and sticky (think bad Cantonese takeaway)
I like the location- all the important sites can be visited using the Skytrain and river express boats. However for those who want to do serious shopping in the international malls it might be more convenient to stay nearby in Siam Square

Room Tip: Any room with a river view will provide hours of entertainment. It's a real working river and yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edinburghtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
The Peninsula Bangkok
#11 of 887 in Bangkok
4,525 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#41 of 887 in Bangkok
6,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Address: 89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#16 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#21 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £132 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 802
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok, is a 5-star luxury hotel in Silom district, Bangkok. The design and appointments express the welcoming warmth and richness of Thai culture throughout the hotel, from traditional teak dining pavilions to the most up-to-date room features.The hotel has a total of 802 rooms including 72 suites in two wings, Shangri-La and Krungthep, and is adjacent to the Saphan Taksin station of the Skytrain, Bangkok's elevated metro system.The hotel also offers fully-serviced apartments for guests wishing a longer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Holiday Gems, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Travel Republic (UK), Splitty, Travelbag, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Shangri La Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing