We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Attention to detail is disappearing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Ranked #19 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Hornbaek, Denmark
Level Contributor
98 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Attention to detail is disappearing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

We have stayed many times in this magnificent hotel. Best location, nice rooms, delicious food. Unfortunately I have to report, that the service level has detoriated. Too many new staff in too short a period. When you charge 500+ USD a night, the service simply has to be perfect.

Room Tip: A river facing balcony room is the best, and DO include the CLUB option
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NEClausen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shangri-La_Bangkok, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear NEClausen,

Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your recent stay with us. Your constructive feedback are valued and necessary investigation has been made for immediate improvement. We look forward to the opportunity where we can demonstrate the services that we are known for. Please contact me directly should you have any other valuable feedback for our improvement - kieran.twomey@shangri-la.com.

Sincerely,
Kieran Twomey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,787 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,827
    1,428
    345
    121
    66
See reviews for
1,535
3,623
450
967
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,813)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

We arrived in Bangkok the day before the shutdown the hotel had information in the lobby also a letter in our room the receptionist advice us to change our pick up time and arranged it for us our room was amazing with a river view selection of fruit and immaculate. The breakfast buffet was amazing so much choice and nothing was to much you could eat inside or on the patio next to the river they even provided bread to feed the fish in the river. We spent some time around the pool they provided waiter food and drink service massages and glasses of water packed with crushed ice when it was really hot they handed out frozen flannels and melon on sticks . The evening buffet was just as good as the breakfast buffet . They had a singer in the lounge and on a Sunday afternoon a tea dance . The staff could not do enough for you and they were so friendly we even
had a waiter giving us a unbiased explanation for the shut down. The hotel provide a shuttle boat to river shopping centre and walking distance to river taxi pier

Room Tip: Book the river view room I sat for ages watching everyday life on the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank uglygourd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Generally, one of the best hotels. Really very good service. Nice Food. Perfect location at the river. Very good breakfast. Almost the best service I have ever received. Ne[t time in Bangkok I will stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Kuzma_300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

We arrived on 31st December for 4nights.We were booked in the Krungthep wing which I recommend.All the rooms have a river view.rooms are large and well appointed .part of the deal is complimentary tea in the afternoon and free cocktails in the evenings.The hotel is right next to the Sky Train which Is safe and easy to use and beats having to deal with Bangkok taxi drivers and the traffic?We were there for the fireworks on New Year's Eve .Now I thought the hotel would do fireworks and perhaps the other Hotels would do theirs,it was not until my daughter said that these will be the fireworks seen all over the world did I appreciate what was about to happen.The fireworks spread up the river at 12 with the main ones right outside our room,we sat on the balcony in awe.The most amazing display I have ever seen.Worth a trip to Bangkok for just that.
The service was first class nothing too much trouble.Check in and check smooth no problems,

Room Tip: Krungthep wing a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keith186463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

A good place to stay in Bangkok. views over the river were great. a large room with balcony is a must. staff were very helpful. meals by room service excellent. The pool was clean and very busy, although the zumba man was very annoying and noisy.

Room Tip: high floor for a great view over the river. best ones have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phyllis404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
133 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

I have stayed at this hotel once a year for the past seven years for work. It is simply one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. All the staff is friendly, polite and work hard to make your stay comfortable. Any question or concern is quickly addressed. When I was checking in a manager saw that the line was getting long and jumped in to help.

The rooms are good size with spotless, gorgeous bathrooms. The breakfast buffet is excellent with a wide range of offerings including Western and Asian favorites. I always ask to be seated outdoors to enjoy the river.

The seating at the pool is rather limited, so make sure you get a chair early during the busy days.

There is a great little restaurant behind the hotel on the way to the Skytrain called Queen of Curry. It is not fancy, but the food is excellent and the prices are very reasonable.

Room Tip: Splurge on the river view rooms. They are worth it. If you are bothered by noise, make sure you ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chinanomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

It started with Shangri La's toll free number for Singapore +65 62134002 where I 'met' Juliet who was not only very helpful but friendly with good initiative. Originally I was ready to book at a different hotel also located by the river- but Juliet changed my mind and we booked Shangri La instead. We were not disappointed.
Instead of Krung Threp Wing River View; we booked King Deluxe Balcony Riverview 42m2 and again we are very pleased with our room, wonderful balcony view from our 9th floor facing toward river away from bridge, the room is spacious enough for an extra bed for our daughter( which had been prepared when we arrived ). As other Shangri La hotels, bottles of drinking water are complimentary and different fruits are on the bowl every day. Turn down service in the evenings with bookmarks with quotes from the Lost Horizon. Our favourite place is the NEXT2 café-for breakfast and dinner. Breakfast buffet is excellent with variety of choices. Tables are plenty along the river front; however, they are always taken resulting only the smoking area tables available. If you are not a smoker and do not wish having cigarette smoke blown to your face while having your breakfast- always remember to tell the attendant upon arrival at NEXT2; a couple of non smoking tables in the middle will get affected though. Thai restaurant Salathip has nice setting too but all outdoor tables were taken when we went there and the attendant personally guided us to NEXT2 table for our green curry. This trip we missed the gym but we found the Jewellery store next to lobby has good collections. During our short stay, they had a special big discount plus tax free which is very competitive price compared to other whole sale suppliers. Yes, they issued valid certificates.
Location is perfect being next to Central Pier Water taxi and Sky train. With Bangkok traffic jam- it is a luxury to have water taxi instead. Walking along the hotel ground toward Krung Threp wing to/from Central Pier is better rather than walking outside along the 'back' part of main hotel. Hotel has free boat service to a couple of places such as Asiatique but the assistant at the pier does not speak English. Go to Concierge for further explanation.
I personally would like to thank Belle from Front desk who had welcomed us and assisted to ensure we had an enjoyable stay. It makes the difference. Wish we could stay a bit longer but with demonstrations and shut down- we preferred to head for airport Sunday.

Room Tip: Balcony River View
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank budgy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,132 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#25 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Property: Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Address: 89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#14 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#18 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 802
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok, is a 5-star luxury hotel in Silom district, Bangkok. The design and appointments express the welcoming warmth and richness of Thai culture throughout the hotel, from traditional teak dining pavilions to the most up-to-date room features.The hotel has a total of 802 rooms including 72 suites in two wings, Shangri-La and Krungthep, and is adjacent to the Saphan Taksin station of the Skytrain, Bangkok's elevated metro system.The hotel also offers fully-serviced apartments for guests wishing a longer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Travelbag, Expedia, Hotelopia, Booking.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Agoda and Southall Travel so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Shangri La Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing