We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect oasis in the city, incredible service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Ranked #19 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A perfect oasis in the city, incredible service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We chose this hotel as it was central and near the river for our three visit to Bangkok. We never imagined it would be anything other than a quality but functional stay. We were wrong. The service at this hotel is the best we’ve ever experienced for a large hotel of this kind, really exceptional.

Someone has put a lot of thought into the things people might want or need when staying in a hotel. Every detail has been thought of and I find myself unable to find a single negative. Yes its a big somewhat corporate hotel but you know that when you book and they managed to meld business users with holiday visitors in a way that one does not in any way negatively affect the other. There is a lovely harmonious and unpretentious vibe about the hotel yet the service is chic, sleek , super efficient and yet heart warmingly human. From the first greeting by the chatty doormen to the smooth immediate no nonsense and welcoming check in to the ridiculously well coordinated, vast and delicious breakfast that feeds the five thousands and the poolside service which runs with enthusiastic military precision ensuring noone is left wanting.

We had a little issue when we arrived and it was sorted in minutes but the apology afterwards was positively disproportionate to the issue. We received a beautiful bowl of exotic fruit, handmade fudge which was really delicious, a personal apology from the duty manager and the offer of complimentary dinner. We couldn’t take them up on this as we were short of time and had family to meet so instead they gave a complimentary laundry service which would have cost a fortune. The clothes were beautifully laundered with little care labels saying they couldn’t get a one or two stains out ( embarrassing when you hadn’t even noticed they were there : D)
My favourite was the evening turn downs which normally I wouldn’t bother with. But they would arrange things so beautifully and on noticing that you had a book by your bedside they’d put a little bookmark with a romantic quote written on it beside it! They’d be so aware of how you were using the room and what you might need, just incredible.

We managed to do a lot in the time we had as the hotel was so convenient both for the Sky train and the river boats. There was always someone on hand who could answer questions and each member of staff always thought ahead as to how they might help you more with little suggestions like taking change for the boat and timings etc.

Its very rare that you are surprised every day by service in a hotel. Sometimes 5 star can be stuffy and make you feel self conscious but this hotel makes everyone feel comfortable whether you are dressed in shorts and t shirt or all glammed up to go out for the evening, the greetings from the staff were just as sincere and warm. They really seemed to take pride in their jobs. We took a Tuk Tuk back to experience it and none batted an eyelid when we pulled up in it outside the shiny entrance.

I didn’t expect to pay much attention to this hotel as its normally little boutique hotels that score high but it made such an impression that it will be difficult to stay elsewhere if we visit Bangkok. Thank you Shangri La for making our stay so special!

Room Tip: A river side view is a must, beautiful when the sun is setting over the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LorGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,910 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,915
    1,450
    352
    124
    69
See reviews for
1,560
3,676
465
982
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,842)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Holbrook, New York
Level Contributor
392 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

The hotel, grounds and rooms are beautiful as you would expect from a Shangri La. Between being a riverfront property and its convenience to the tour boats, there is truly nothing more to want from a location in Bangkok. We did not have time to enjoy the pool but it looked amazing. The outdoor lounge areas are a great place for a relaxing drink by the river & the breakfast buffet was extremely varied and delicious. The service here is what made our experience even more special. We somehow screwed up our reservation and booked a day earlier than we should have. Not only did the hotel accommodate us with a room, we got the river view we wanted & they did not hit us with no-show charges. Then when we checked out, we were nervously waiting outside for our hired car to take us back to our cruise ship by a certain time & it was about 20 minutes late. Just as the front desk was about to make new arrangements for us - the super-friendly bellhop, who originally helped us to our room when we checked in, came running outside to tell us that our driver was waiting for us inside the lobby the entire time. We were very impressed that in a busy hotel. this gentleman was observant and caring enough to piece the situation together.
Overall this place is an even better value than we expected and we will make it a point to stay here again.

Room Tip: A room high up with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sneakyright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

I have stayed for work at this property for 4 nights. The room was good, overlooking the river, clean, well appointed, quiet and with a very comfortable bed. If asked for anything the staff are really helpful, and nothing is too much. Had breakfast and lunch at the buffet restaurant, and it was superb, with lots of varieties to suit all tastes with food from around the world. I particularly enjoyed the sushi bar at lunch, with freshly prepared food. If back in the area I would definitely go back. I did not have time to use the spa. Location wise Bangkok is a big place, and I missed the chance to just walk to places, but taxis are affordable and getting around was no problem. Also eat at the Thai restaurant on the river, which was excellent if not cheap.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank max-diamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornbaek, Denmark
Level Contributor
97 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

We have stayed many times in this magnificent hotel. Best location, nice rooms, delicious food. Unfortunately I have to report, that the service level has detoriated. Too many new staff in too short a period. When you charge 500+ USD a night, the service simply has to be perfect.

Room Tip: A river facing balcony room is the best, and DO include the CLUB option
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NEClausen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shangri-La_Bangkok, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear NEClausen,

Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your recent stay with us. Your constructive feedback are valued and necessary investigation has been made for immediate improvement. We look forward to the opportunity where we can demonstrate the services that we are known for. Please contact me directly should you have any other valuable feedback for our improvement - kieran.twomey@shangri-la.com.

Sincerely,
Kieran Twomey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

We arrived in Bangkok the day before the shutdown the hotel had information in the lobby also a letter in our room the receptionist advice us to change our pick up time and arranged it for us our room was amazing with a river view selection of fruit and immaculate. The breakfast buffet was amazing so much choice and nothing was to much you could eat inside or on the patio next to the river they even provided bread to feed the fish in the river. We spent some time around the pool they provided waiter food and drink service massages and glasses of water packed with crushed ice when it was really hot they handed out frozen flannels and melon on sticks . The evening buffet was just as good as the breakfast buffet . They had a singer in the lounge and on a Sunday afternoon a tea dance . The staff could not do enough for you and they were so friendly we even
had a waiter giving us a unbiased explanation for the shut down. The hotel provide a shuttle boat to river shopping centre and walking distance to river taxi pier

Room Tip: Book the river view room I sat for ages watching everyday life on the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uglygourd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Generally, one of the best hotels. Really very good service. Nice Food. Perfect location at the river. Very good breakfast. Almost the best service I have ever received. Ne[t time in Bangkok I will stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Kuzma_300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

We arrived on 31st December for 4nights.We were booked in the Krungthep wing which I recommend.All the rooms have a river view.rooms are large and well appointed .part of the deal is complimentary tea in the afternoon and free cocktails in the evenings.The hotel is right next to the Sky Train which Is safe and easy to use and beats having to deal with Bangkok taxi drivers and the traffic?We were there for the fireworks on New Year's Eve .Now I thought the hotel would do fireworks and perhaps the other Hotels would do theirs,it was not until my daughter said that these will be the fireworks seen all over the world did I appreciate what was about to happen.The fireworks spread up the river at 12 with the main ones right outside our room,we sat on the balcony in awe.The most amazing display I have ever seen.Worth a trip to Bangkok for just that.
The service was first class nothing too much trouble.Check in and check smooth no problems,

Room Tip: Krungthep wing a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keith186463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,203 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#25 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Property: Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Address: 89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#14 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#18 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 802
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok, is a 5-star luxury hotel in Silom district, Bangkok. The design and appointments express the welcoming warmth and richness of Thai culture throughout the hotel, from traditional teak dining pavilions to the most up-to-date room features.The hotel has a total of 802 rooms including 72 suites in two wings, Shangri-La and Krungthep, and is adjacent to the Saphan Taksin station of the Skytrain, Bangkok's elevated metro system.The hotel also offers fully-serviced apartments for guests wishing a longer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Hotelopia, Agoda, Travelbag, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Shangri La Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing