We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over the top luxury!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Ranked #21 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed at this amazing hotel for a week and loved every moment. We had two rooms our family of four and both were extremely large, clean, well supplied and it seemed more like being at home than in a hotel. We had a "butler" assigned to our rooms who was always available to provide any assistance we needed. It was incredible. The best part of this luxurious hotel however was the food. The breakfast/brunch buffet was the best I have ever had. Also everyday for tea they had amazing sandwiches and bite size goodies that were incredible. Around happy hour, they again put out a large variety of foods for the guests to enjoy. I am not sure we ever needed to go out to a restaurant, as there was always food available! If in Bangkok I would definitely stay here again. It was one of the best hotel experiences I have ever had.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAH_Chicago_Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8,740)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,970 - 3,976 of 8,740 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2014

I stayed here with my girlfriend last year. She had booked the room at the Kunthrup wing , which was suggested to her by a office colleague. The rooms are spacious with small balconies. The view offered was over the top. The Hotel seemed to be located just over the river. We did not have a room that allowed us direct access to the Horizon Club. During the third day of our stay we upgraded our room to the Horizon Club class. Absolutely terrific experience. The Horizon lounge offered us free breakfast, coffee, evening snacks and a pile load of alcoholic beverages. Beautiful hotel with some extraordinary staffs.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I was in Bangkok in four to five days and I can honestly say this is one of the best hotel I stayed. The staffs were all polite. The breakfast was incredible; it had Asian, Indian, Western style breakfast, and not to forget you can have sirloin steak for breakfast.

Although the hotel is a bit out of the way (not in city centre), but taxi is always available.

Room Tip: Choose one that faces the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MHYT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Stayed at this hotel on a recommendation from an acquaintance, and we were not disappointed. We stayed in a beautiful Shangri-La Wing executive suite overlooking the river. Great bathroom, soaking tub, shower. Had room service many times, and it was fantastic. Fresh fruit in the room every day. The breakfast buffet at the Next2 restaurant is truly unbelievable, especially eating in the shade by the river. Service was impeccable, and the cocktail hour was wonderful, with a ton of food (all included int he price of the room). This may be a bit expensive by Bangkok standards, but a great value by US standards. We also took the dinner cruise which was one of the best things about the trip.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank Cathystacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Last 2 nights in Bangkok are worth staying along the river especially in the dry season.
The terrace is great for breakfast (an elegant and very large buffet with all choices: sweet or salty, european style or japanese...), dinner or to stay at the swimming pool.
Rooms are large and very well equiped and bathroom as well.
A 5 stars hotel with asian style, perfect atmosphere to relax and personell is always very kind and available for each question.
Location is also perfect: close to the peer (if you don't use the private one) and to the Sky train.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BebeMilano_Italia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This is just a wonderful hotel with good value for money. Easy acces to the riverboats at no charge, a very pleasent environment and good service. Close to airport and nice small streets to walk in around the block.


Room Tip: Take a superior at Shangri La wing awhich is a little away from the traffic on the bridge and with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank Per S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

This hotel is in an excellent position on the riverside and we had our meals in the restaurant overlooking this busy waterway. Our room also had a river view which at sunset was a stunning cityscape. The transit system was an easy walk away and that made the rest of the city accessible.
Our room was comfortable and stylish with all the usual amenities. The staff very helpful and concerned for our safety(there were very large anti-government demonstrations on during our stay), advising us of where we should or shouldn't go. The only grumble was that at times, in one of the restaurants service could be a bit shambolic; a case of too many cooks spoiling the broth, lots and lots of staff, none of them really sure what the other was doing, so the simple task of getting toast and coffee became complicated. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Highest floor possible river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
The Peninsula Bangkok
#10 of 891 in Bangkok
4,616 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#36 of 891 in Bangkok
6,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Address: 89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#16 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#20 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £141 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 802
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok, is a 5-star luxury hotel in Silom district, Bangkok. The design and appointments express the welcoming warmth and richness of Thai culture throughout the hotel, from traditional teak dining pavilions to the most up-to-date room features.The hotel has a total of 802 rooms including 72 suites in two wings, Shangri-La and Krungthep, and is adjacent to the Saphan Taksin station of the Skytrain, Bangkok's elevated metro system.The hotel also offers fully-serviced apartments for guests wishing a longer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Shangri La Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing