We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Ranked #19 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

The Shangri-La Hotel in Bangkok has to be our favorite hotel that we have ever stayed at. We love the NEXT2 breakfast buffet and spending hours watching the river traffic. We love the bright lobby and the friendly staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Trevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,908 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,913
    1,450
    352
    124
    69
See reviews for
1,559
3,675
465
982
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,842)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Excellent hotel, very clean, luxurious and plush, just like a 5 star hotel should be!! Room was excellent, every single member of the staff was kind, polite, friendly and efficient. Breakfast buffet at the Next2café was out of this world, dinner buffet which we had one night was excellent as well. We really had absolutely no problems during our stay here - if I had to find one problem it would have to be that the swimming pool was a little bit too cold, other than that everything was perfect.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Azadeh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
165 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed for 2 nights to break a long journey home from SE Asia to the UK. Although we had booked a River view room, we were offered an upgrade to a club level suite, at a reduced supplement, probably because occupancy was a bit low prior to the Chinese New Year holiday. The suite was just lovely. Two rooms, huge, every amenity, and superb river view. Bed really comfortable. Great pool which I used early in the morning to do my regular swimming laps. Iced water provided without asking at the pool side for me. We had a meal in the specialty Thai restaurant which was great. Others have talked about the grande-luxe feel of the place; it is large, sure, but for us what stood out is the quality of staff service. We always found the staff most considerate, polite and anticipating our needs. One tip however: the hotel offers a limo transfer from/to the airport, but the price is really quite high. We booked an independent transfer online in advance with a travel company with an air con limo at half the price.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndrewS60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peyia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
628 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

I booked a room over the internet and wow what a nice room. The view up and down the river just amazing. The bathroom also had a fantastic view. The room was very spacious. Staff very friendly and luggage was in the room in no time. The staff in the lobby where always friendly and always ready to help and asked what we need. However there where coffee marks on the wall up to the ceiling and they where very visible. These where not removed during our 6 nights in the hotel. The fruit was replenished every day but always the same fruit. Why, when Thailand has such a big choice of fantastic fruit.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sigzag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knokke, Belgium
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed in the Krungtep Wing. Very nice rooms with river view and balcony. Complimentary afternoon high tea and the happy hour cocktail late afternoon-evening was very much appreciated. All the staff and I mean all, were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice. Also outside along the river for a special experience. We've stayed in many hotels in Bangkok and this is one of the best value for money experiences you can get.

Room Tip: Krungtep wing costs a little more but the experience is so much nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Filip N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Very pleasant stay at the Shangri-la. We received a free upgrade and had a very relaxed stay. The pool area is great for a city hotel and the river shuttle excellent. The Italian restaurant was a little over priced but the riverside bar was very pleasant and breakfast was excellent. Good access to all amenities.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Borisboxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
421 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

We are very disappointed with the food quality at the Café Too which we visited in Jan 2014 for a buffet dinner.
I am not sure that is has to do with the situation in Bangkok but we can get better food in other restaurants in Bangkok.

We do not either like the difficulty it seems to book a table outside at the riverside, calling at least 5 times to get through and then as the times are there are few guests getting a questionable table.

When asking for the buffet alternatives only the most expensive buffet available with so called free flow is mentioned at THB 1,850 not the simple buffet!!! This was asked three times and we got the same answer every time.
We expect more from a so called 5* hotel.
We will not come back based upon the food we will probably go to the other side of the river if we want to enjoy a river view,

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tomberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shangri-La_Bangkok, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Tomberra,

Thank you for sharing your candid experience with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointment caused. Your comments are valued and have been taken in a constructive manner. Our goal is to provide impeccable services and facilities for all our guests. We look forward to your return so that we may demonstrate the services you have come to expect from a Shangri-La. Please contact me directly should you have any other valuable feedback for our improvement - kieran.twomey@shangri-la.com.

Warmest regards,
Kieran Twomey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,202 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#25 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Property: Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Address: 89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#14 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#18 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 802
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok, is a 5-star luxury hotel in Silom district, Bangkok. The design and appointments express the welcoming warmth and richness of Thai culture throughout the hotel, from traditional teak dining pavilions to the most up-to-date room features.The hotel has a total of 802 rooms including 72 suites in two wings, Shangri-La and Krungthep, and is adjacent to the Saphan Taksin station of the Skytrain, Bangkok's elevated metro system.The hotel also offers fully-serviced apartments for guests wishing a longer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travelbag, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotelopia, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Priceline, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Shangri La Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing