We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Ranked #19 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Zug, Switzerland
1 review
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

In Shangri-La, the guest is in focus. Perfect breakfast. High service availability in all areas. Here the guest is taken seriously and absolutely spoiled.
Great pool right on the river with first class service.



Room Tip: Deluxe River View
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Frederic H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,777 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,817
    1,428
    345
    121
    66
See reviews for
1,533
3,621
450
966
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,813)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

My husband and I stayed five nights on the 11th floor of the Krungthep Wing in a Deluxe Balcony Room at the Shangri-La Bangkok. The Krungthep Wing has a separate entrance from the Main Wing; this wing is more subdued and intimate than the Main Wing which was perfect for us since we were celebrating our 10th Wedding Anniversary. When we arrived after 11 pm, we were met by the hotel staff in the reception area who promptly escorted us to our room; it was a smooth and hassle free check-in process. The room décor could have been a tad more modern but the room was still lovely with panoramic views of the Chao Phraya River. Some great things about the Krungthep Wing are breakfast, afternoon high tea and evening cocktails including canapés are all complimentary and the proximity of the wing to the Skytrain and riverboats can't be beat. A variety of exotic fruit and bottle water were delivered daily to our room. The staff in the Krungthep Wing were top-notch. They knew my husband and myself by name and remembered our likes and dislikes when it came to food, drinks and things we wanted to do while in Bangkok. Chris the waiter in the lounge was wonderful! Hite who worked at the concierge desk was marvelous; there are no words to describe the type of service he gave us. He always knew the best places for everything around the hotel and then he would escort us using the hotel golf cart to all the suggested places!!! That's what you call excellent customer service!!! To top it off, the hotel gave us a gorgeous chocolate heart from The Chocolate Boutique and also roses for our anniversary! The Main Wing also has great amenities: We definitely enjoyed breakfast better at Next2 Restaurant in the Main Wing; this breakfast buffet is massive with a huge variety of international foods. Note: You are able to eat complimentary at Next2 Restaurant when you stay in the Krungthep Wing. There is also a complimentary van service that leaves daily form the Main Wing which takes you to the heart of Bangkok's shopping area. We did use this service once but we found using the Skytrain was faster due to the awful traffic in Bangkok. As you can tell, our stay at the Shangri-La Bangkok was simply amazing and we would definitely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Primadonna9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Excellent and very friendly service in a lovely relaxed atmosphere all over the hotel. Great views of the city skyline and river from bedroom on the 22nd floor - highly recommend booking room with river view.

Pleased to be given early check-in and late (4pm) check-out without extra charge due to our flight arrival and departure times.

However, the one minus experience was the CHI Spa, which was very expensive for being allowed to sit (2 of us alone) in a simple jacuzzi bath and steam-room for 30 minutes without access to bath or body products and no professional knowledge-sharing or guidance. Afterwards, we discovered that the health club has a larger and sufficient jacuzzi, steam-room, sauna and tranquil relax room in each of the male and female changing rooms, which is free of charge for guests.

Room Tip: Room with river view and access to the horizon club lounge (great city view), which provide one with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

A must place to stay. Great location with lovely view over the river. Staff very helpful and friendly. The Thai restaurant is amazing especially if you sit outside by the river. Breakfast has a huge variety of food.

Room Tip: Request a room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed here for two nights while on a cruise of SE Asia. Our room faced the Chao Prays river and was within walking distance of the river boat dock. Amenities were fabulous. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Face the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dkreuzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

This is a beautiful hotel in a great location on the river, close to Skytrain and river boats. Staff is exceptional and the room is well appointed, with complimentary bottles of water and fruit each day, which are replenished. The spa in Shangrila is one of the best i have ever visited.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivek J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

First time staying here with my wife. We arrived in Bangkok at 10pm. We booked the hotel limo and the transfer from the airport was superb. The S class limo cannot be beaten. Whilst expensive, it was amazing. We reached the hotel in about 20 minutes. We were met by staff at the lobby and whisked straight up to our room. We had an amazing corner room and upgraded because of my Diamond GC status. The room had a balcony with view of river. Overall the room fantastic, staff was superb throughout the hotel.
Room service - We ordered something at 11:30pm. A club sandwich and some fries. It came quickly and tasted great, very very pricey though. It was around $20 USD which is mad!
breakfast - Beautiful views or river, excellent massive selection of food options comparable to the other Shangri La's I've stayed at.
After this personal trip, I stayed at the Intercontinental Bangkok which didn't impress me as much as it did before. On my next business trip, I'll likely stay at Shangri-La Bangkok now.
I'm young and though the decor of the hotel isn't exactly my taste, its still really nice. Looking forward to my next stay.
Small suggestion: the air conditioning on the floors was freezing, you needed a warm jacket to get from the lifts to your room or vice versa.
Location: its a good 5-10 min walk to get to the station. you're not really that central.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellerlaw80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,129 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#25 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Property: Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Address: 89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#14 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#18 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 802
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok, is a 5-star luxury hotel in Silom district, Bangkok. The design and appointments express the welcoming warmth and richness of Thai culture throughout the hotel, from traditional teak dining pavilions to the most up-to-date room features.The hotel has a total of 802 rooms including 72 suites in two wings, Shangri-La and Krungthep, and is adjacent to the Saphan Taksin station of the Skytrain, Bangkok's elevated metro system.The hotel also offers fully-serviced apartments for guests wishing a longer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Travelbag, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Holiday Gems and Booking.com so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Shangri La Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing