We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to be back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Ranked #22 of 896 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Great hotel, top location, nice rooms. Visited first time in 95. Still well maintained. We had a balcony room on 12th floors. Really enjoyable. Beautiful common area. Only one negative point: we had the saturday Surf and Turf buffet. a disappointment compared to other nearby offerings like Hiltons buffet (Hilton as a hotel is not same league as Shangri La….however Hilton buffet is much better).

All in all, would decently come back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Idamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8,882)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,038 - 4,044 of 8,882 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2014

This was our first stop on our honeymoon in Thailand. After a long flight from the US and a very late night arrival the hotel did not disappoint! We had a corner room on a high floor facing the river and the view was worth every penny! The hotel is centrally located and easy to get to all the major sights. The breakfast each morning had a big variety and everything was delicious. I would definitely return!

Room Tip: Splurge for a good view- you wont be disappointed!
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank JDFNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Pros:
Premier room had plenty of space for 2 adults and 2 children
Nice view of the river
Great breakfast buffet
Nice dinner cruise
Located a few minutes from BTS (train)
Cold Beer

Cons:
Significant language barrier for a 5 star chain hotel
Rushed through spa treatment because it was close to closing time
Incredibly rude during check-out

Room Tip: Premier room is the way to go and reasonably priced when compared to other Shangri-la properties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I have had the pleasure of several times staying at this luxury riverside hotel in Bangkok, and I it always gave me great pleasure. This time I took business associates for some snacks and drinks at the ground riverside restaurant and café, expecting a quite night of talks. This did not happen, though! We were totally overwhelmed by a tiny Philippine with a huge voice and great song selection. Ships with noisy tourists arrived with engines running, the wind was quite strong, but this guy over powered it all, only equipped with an acoustic guitar his low-tech sound system and his HUGE voice. The tapas were great, the wine tasty and surroundings more than up to par. As I would expect it from this hotel. All was fine.

But the night belonged to the humble Philippine guy with his guitar.
Go, check it out, you will be leaving with great feelings of joy!
PS: he is even able to play most requests.

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank ReneBorgholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We stayed for five nights in the Horizon-Club of the Shangri-La Hotel. We would recommend this club to all our friends, because you have a breathtaking outlook from your room and from the lounge with very private service.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Angela5310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Always a pleasure to stay in a Shangri-La hotel! Our balcony room on the 5th floor had superb views over the river. The quality of the bed, bathroom fittings etc was excellent.

Pool area is not overly large but pool attendants always found us a spot for us to settle. One or two pool staff don't understand much English but it wasn't a problem.

Breakfast buffet was great - plenty of choice.

Would definitely stay here again when in Bangkok.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Platsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I satyed at room ***8 series on shangri-la wing.
River view from the bath room is truely wondeful!
Before I satyed at rooms on Krunthep wing, but I prefer shangri-la wing.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank rudy305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
The Peninsula Bangkok
#10 of 896 in Bangkok
4,696 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#34 of 896 in Bangkok
6,831 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Address: 89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#21 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £124 - £304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 802
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok, is a 5-star luxury hotel in Silom district, Bangkok. The design and appointments express the welcoming warmth and richness of Thai culture throughout the hotel, from traditional teak dining pavilions to the most up-to-date room features. The hotel has a total of 802 rooms including 72 suites in two wings, Shangri-La and Krungthep, and is adjacent to the Saphan Taksin station of the Skytrain, Bangkok's elevated metro system. The hotel also offers fully-serviced apartments for guests wishing a longer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Southall Travel, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Shangri La Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing