We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful riverside location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Ranked #18 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful riverside location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

The Shangri-La is in a great location, next to the river and handy for the skytrain. On arrival we were pursuaded to upgrade to the Krungthep wing. Whilst this worked out to be good value - we more than made up for the cost by making the most of the breakfast, afternoon tea and cocktails which were included, I don't think the Krungthep wing was as nice as the main part of the hotel. The receptionist was somewhat economical with the truth when we asked her questions. Which had the nicer pool? According to her they were both very similar, but the Krungthep pool was tiny and completely shaded by trees. Which had better rooms? The Krungthep rooms were large and were re-modelled. Whilst our room was a good size, the furniture was dated and had definitely not been re-modelled. I think we would have still taken the upgrade there for all the extras, but it would have been good to get a more objective comparison. The Krunghtep wing was at least very handy for the skytrain and boat service, and it was a very short walk through the grounds between the two.

Overall, service at the hotel was great, with staff very friendly and helpful, and it really was a lovely oasis by the river. Pool staff could have been a bit more on the ball with regards to empty sunbeds. There were plenty that looked like people had gone and just left their used towels behind, but the staff said that they didn't know if they were in the pool or were coming back so couldn't let us use them. After a couple of hours they eventually cottoned on that maybe they were empty after all.

The spa was gorgeous and I would highly recommend a treatment - the hot stone massage was sheer heaven. Breakfast in the Krungthep wing had a fairly small buffet, but you could order hot items such as bacon and eggs. Afternoon tea was served early enough to be a late lunch, although I preferred the service I've had in other Shangri-las where the afternoon tea was served to you on a cake stand, rather than it being a buffet (particularly as the savoury items seemed to disappear in seconds).

Overall, the Shangri-la is wonderful if you want to explore the historic temples and river area. Getting around to other parts via the skytrain is relatively easy, but the traffic in Bangkok, particularly when we were there in the lead up to the shutdown, meant that travelling around by taxi was a slow ordeal.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,805
    1,426
    344
    121
    66
See reviews for
1,530
3,619
450
961
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,810)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Germany Munich
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

One of The Good Hotels in Asia, better say One of the best.. One Time Shangri-La.... Allways Shangri-La again. Good Food, nice Atmosphäre And with Great Coulture , a nice Place to Visit again.. I love Shangry-La where ever i Travel in Asia

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodcliff Lake, New Jersey
Level Contributor
105 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

One night wasn't enough. But that's all I got at this phenomenal hotel. My experience this morning sums it up. I had an early flight and exited the elevator into the lobby at 5:30 am with my rolling bag in hand. I was immediately rushed by three bellman who said "Oh no, that's not for you to do. Let me take this for you and can I get you a coffee?". As I checked out, the bellman had loaded my bags and placed the coffee in the waiting van.

This is a 'top of the line' hotel. It sits on the river with a commanding view of all the activity on the waterway. The view inspired us to take a boat tour which can be arranged through the hotel. Due to our late arrival, we missed the hotels river tour and instead took a private tour. Be sure to include this in your plans (the hotel tours finish at 5 pm).

Our room was located on the 20th floor The room had beautiful woodwork and was dominated by a large picture wiindow with a love seat in front of the window. I literally felt that I had a birds eye view of the river.

Though my stay was only one night, I will certainly extend my stay next year. Twenty four hours is not enough time to enjoy Bangkok or this hotel.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Great hotel, top location, nice rooms. Visited first time in 95. Still well maintained. We had a balcony room on 12th floors. Really enjoyable. Beautiful common area. Only one negative point: we had the saturday Surf and Turf buffet. a disappointment compared to other nearby offerings like Hiltons buffet (Hilton as a hotel is not same league as Shangri La….however Hilton buffet is much better).

All in all, would decently come back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Idamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

This was our first stop on our honeymoon in Thailand. After a long flight from the US and a very late night arrival the hotel did not disappoint! We had a corner room on a high floor facing the river and the view was worth every penny! The hotel is centrally located and easy to get to all the major sights. The breakfast each morning had a big variety and everything was delicious. I would definitely return!

Room Tip: Splurge for a good view- you wont be disappointed!
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JDFNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timika
Level Contributor
102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Pros:
Premier room had plenty of space for 2 adults and 2 children
Nice view of the river
Great breakfast buffet
Nice dinner cruise
Located a few minutes from BTS (train)
Cold Beer

Cons:
Significant language barrier for a 5 star chain hotel
Rushed through spa treatment because it was close to closing time
Incredibly rude during check-out

Room Tip: Premier room is the way to go and reasonably priced when compared to other Shangri-la properties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

I have had the pleasure of several times staying at this luxury riverside hotel in Bangkok, and I it always gave me great pleasure. This time I took business associates for some snacks and drinks at the ground riverside restaurant and café, expecting a quite night of talks. This did not happen, though! We were totally overwhelmed by a tiny Philippine with a huge voice and great song selection. Ships with noisy tourists arrived with engines running, the wind was quite strong, but this guy over powered it all, only equipped with an acoustic guitar his low-tech sound system and his HUGE voice. The tapas were great, the wine tasty and surroundings more than up to par. As I would expect it from this hotel. All was fine.

But the night belonged to the humble Philippine guy with his guitar.
Go, check it out, you will be leaving with great feelings of joy!
PS: he is even able to play most requests.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ReneBorgholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,123 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#25 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Property: Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Address: 89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#13 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 802
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok, is a 5-star luxury hotel in Silom district, Bangkok. The design and appointments express the welcoming warmth and richness of Thai culture throughout the hotel, from traditional teak dining pavilions to the most up-to-date room features.The hotel has a total of 802 rooms including 72 suites in two wings, Shangri-La and Krungthep, and is adjacent to the Saphan Taksin station of the Skytrain, Bangkok's elevated metro system.The hotel also offers fully-serviced apartments for guests wishing a longer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, LoveHolidays, Hotelopia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelbag, Ctrip TA, Holiday Gems, TravelUp, Southall Travel, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Shangri La Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing