We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riverside luxery in Krungthep Wing of Shangri La”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Ranked #19 of 861 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
807 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 381 helpful votes
“Riverside luxery in Krungthep Wing of Shangri La”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We had a riverside room on tenth floor with balcony and excellent view of the Chao Phraya River with it's busy trafic day and night. The hotel offer everything you need to be absolutely comfortable, and the staff and management wellcomes you warmly and look after you during your stay. The treatment and service in the VIP lounge is excellent.
It is a good place to be in Bangkok! Not cheap, but wortrh every Baht.
And just outside your doorstep is the BTS Skytrain and the Central Pier on the river, so transport is not a problem at all.

Room Tip: Choose the Krungthep Wing for a room with balcony towards the river. 10th floor is a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynge T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,140
    1,485
    362
    125
    75
See reviews for
1,631
3,773
472
1,037
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,896)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stayed for 4 nights as part of our vacation. We have stayed in other shangri la locations such as Sydney and Singapore but believe me the Shangri La in Bangkok eclipses them all. The hotel itself is directly onto the river with beautiful views from our river view room. The traffic in Bangkok is horrendous so the availability of the hotels shuttle boat was a godsend in getting around. The hotel is also adjacent to the Skytrain terminal and the main harbour departure point. The rooms were immaculate and there was a lovely swimming pool area and pool bar facing the river. The service was immaculate and the staff so polite and eager to please. We did not use the restuarants in the hotel but did have room service once and it was excellent. If we return to Bangkok we will certainly stay at the Shangri La. It's the best.

Room Tip: I don't think there are bad rooms but we enjoyed a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barnton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milano
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

Great staying at the Shanrgi-La.
We were here in February 2014 and everything was perfect and well organized. At the check-in, we were advised to opt for a room with a view on the river and we definitely enjoied this choice!
The breakfast at the side of the river was fantastic with so much choice!
Superb location and service absolutely great. Staff always helpful and friendly. Alex, who professionaly arranged our transportations, deserved a special mention.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank gianluca_71Milano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough! From the minute we checked in a few days before Christmas and were greeted with a refreshing fruit cocktail, to our spacious room and glorious bathroom, our view over the Baan Chao Praya River and the beautiful swimming pool and garden, the fabulously welcoming gym with daily yoga classes and the excellent spa. The hotel's location is great for walking around town, catching the river ferry or walking a few streets to catch the BTA elevated train. The staff was super-helpful and friendly, the Thai restaurant Salathip is beautifully situated on the river and the food is excellent and we often had riverside drinks at the outdoor bar/cocktail lounge. Poolside lunches were delicious and often served by the adorable Danny--and we even got to work them off with a lively aquatic rumba class. The hotel was a wonderful home base for all our Bangkok activities. After traveling around SE Asia for 2-1/2 weeks we returned for one last night in late January to the Shangrila and it was like returning to a beautiful, wonderful home away from home and our welcome back was more than warm. They had even found and kept for us the camera charger my daughter mistakenly forgot on our first stay. The hotel is immaculate and quiet, lighting throughout the room and wonderful bathroom is excellent and the bed and linens were dreamy. It was a very luxurious stay with lots of creature comforts--daily newspaper delivery, fresh bottles of water every night, non-stop water served at the pool and unobtrusive service.

Room Tip: We paid a bit more for a river view room and it was worthwhile. It is less expensive to book the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 198Diane155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in February 2014 and honestly did not want to leave. It is a perfect location and a beautiful hotel. The service is great and don't think we've had any better. We ate in the Salathip restaurant and had some of the best Thai food in Bangkok. The staff are all very friendly, helpful and have a constant smile on their faces. If you want accessibility to the culture sights and temples as well as Bangkok's nightlife and shopping districts then this is the best location to do it all very easily. Can't wait for my next visit!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Shenae A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friesoythe, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

If you have a dream to enjoy the "garden eden" stay in Shangri-La. You will never Forget how a dream comes true! The meals, the Services, the furniture and all facilities were excellent. All staffs are very friendly and can read your wishes from your eyes. We never had such a good stay while travelling all over the world. It is honestly a must to come here while staying in Bangkok.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Eckhard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

When in Bangkok I will always return to the Shangri-La Hotel. The hotel is beautiful and so well maintained. The Horizon Club is well worth the upgrade. Breakfast service with various egg dishes cooked to order is wonderful. The staff through out the hotel are all wonderful. Gracious and most accommodating. My wife had a bad cold and hotel nurse was at our room 5 minutes after calling for assistance.
You feel so secure and the location right on the river is the best. Food is exceptional! From restaurant on river to room service, pool menu, the food is phenomenal.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 861 in Bangkok
4,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#29 of 861 in Bangkok
6,209 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Property: Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Address: 89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#13 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#18 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 802
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok, is a 5-star luxury hotel in Silom district, Bangkok. The design and appointments express the welcoming warmth and richness of Thai culture throughout the hotel, from traditional teak dining pavilions to the most up-to-date room features.The hotel has a total of 802 rooms including 72 suites in two wings, Shangri-La and Krungthep, and is adjacent to the Saphan Taksin station of the Skytrain, Bangkok's elevated metro system.The hotel also offers fully-serviced apartments for guests wishing a longer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Odigeo, Nozio Netplan srl, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Travelbag, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Shangri La Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing