We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mel and Aileen,s trip to Bangkok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Ranked #21 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Mel and Aileen,s trip to Bangkok”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We had a terrific 5 days at the shangra-la Bangkok. We would use it again if we return to Thailand . The location was great and the service and facilities were first class. The location was within walking distance of the main boat pier which
gave access to many of the river attractions.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Mel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,038 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,013
    1,468
    359
    125
    73
See reviews for
1,591
3,722
469
1,010
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,872)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This is the perfect hotel to stay at in Bangkok. The hotel is beautiful and well maintained. The rooms are comfortable and luxurious. We upgraded to a corner suite at check in which gave access to the horizon club. This was expensive but worth it. The room had incredible views from the top floor and was spacious with a truly special feel to it.
The pool area is great and pool service attentive.
The only negative is that we had a very average meal at the hotels Thai restaurant (Thalip)
Would stay here again!

Room Tip: You may be offered what is described as an 'upsell' on check in (upgrade)- ensure you are cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chris1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
748 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 577 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Left the UK weather behind, and headed for a three week break in the warmth of Thailand. Choose the Shangri-La in Bangkok as we know it to be the best positioned tourist hotel in Bangkok for both access to the Sky Train and the boats that ply the Chao Phraya River.
We arrived to a very friendly welcome and were immediately escorted to our 15th floor river view room (Room 1531) in the Shangri-La Wing, where the registration procedure was completed.
We found all members of staff to be polite, friendly, respectful, diligent, and they did their very best to ensure we had a comfortable and memorable stay. In fact within hours of arriving we were being greeted by name by numerous members of staff. Buffet breakfast was served in the ‘Next2’ restaurant overlooking the Chao Phraya River where you could eat inside or outside. There was a good selection of dishes, both Asian and Continental, and the level of service was outstanding.

Points of interest:-
Complimentary bottled water and fruit in room daily
Complimentary use of computers in Business Centre
Complimentary tea/coffee in room
Complimentary half hourly boat to River City Shopping Mall (mainly for arts and antique lovers)
Complimentary hourly boat to Asiatique night market from 1700hrs
Complimentary bus shuttle to shopping mall (suspended during our visit due to civil unrest in the city)
Complimentary ice water, fruits on sticks, and spectacle cleaning service at poolside
Award winning Angelini Italian restaurant currently closed until further notice
Large riverside swimming pool
Stale bread/cakes left in baskets by riverside for guests to feed fish (mainly Catfish)
DVD player available in room (not used)
Just steps away from nearby Saphan Taksin SkyTrain station for frequent trains to business and shopping areas
Adjacent to Sathorn Pier for frequent boats to main tourist attractions (Royal Grand Palace,Wat Arun, Wat Pho, Royal Barge museum etc). You can get an all day river bus pass for 150 Bhat (£3)
Access to both the SkyTrain Station and Sathorn Pier can be reached by via the Krungthep Wing.

Points of observation for those considering stay in the Krungthep Wing:-
It’s adjacent position to the very busy Sathorn Bridge/Pier, literally yards away, could be very noise for those rooms nearest the bridge, or for those sitting by the pool
Likewise the loud speaker announcements from the pier and Skytrain station could be annoying
Fumes from the multitude of boats using Sathorn Pier could also be a problem for some
The Krungthep Wing Pool, in my opinion, seemed quite soul less in comparison with that of the Shangri-La Wing pool

Room Tip: High floors offer best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Molesey19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
56 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

stayed at this hotel as part of a fam trip, rooms are massive, very clean and with great amenities, breakfast is huge and can be taken outside in front of the river, excellent meeting facilities and a lovely pool area, staff are very helpful
I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Thailand.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank othmane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Perfekt place to start a trip.
Very close to the central pier and the Sky Train

The Hotel (with the staff) is one of the best, i have ever seen.
Please choose the Room to the riverside, The view is amazing

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Ralf T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exmouth
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

We found this a good place to stop for the city break. Wouldn't want to stay more than 3 nights. As with all cities we tend to cram in the sight seeing and trips. deluxe room very nice Thai staff as always very courteous polite and most welcoming. Recommended !!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank clive63Exmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
178 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Thailand is one of the few countries in the world where 5-star hotels are somewhat affordable. We've taken advantage of this to stay at 3 different 5-star hotels in Thailand (Peninsula in Bangkok, Sofitel in Krabi, and now Shangri-La in Bangkok.) Because there are a lot of 5-star hotels in Bangkok that can be had for $125 and up, when I look at Shangri-La's price which is a mid-high-range (~$200/night), I do expect a certain standard, which was not met.

Specifically, here are the 2 things that happened during our stay that made me remove 1 star from the rating. I think it boils down to staffing:

1) There was no shampoo and conditioner in our bathroom when we checked in. Basically, our toiletries were not correctly stocked, which is pretty disappointing for a 5-star hotel because this is the "easy" stuff. When I called the reception, they sent up bath wash and a razor (these were also missing), but no shampoo/conditioner. So I showered and washed my hair in bath gel, which I thought was very odd -- like a 3-star European hotel. I later sent an email asking about the shampoo situation, and the management very nicely corrected this the following day by apologizing in person, a beautiful flower arrangement, and a very sincere card. And of course, some shampoo and conditioner. At that point, I was borderline 4.5 / 5 stars about this hotel.

2) On our last day, we went to the pool. It was extremely crowded at 4 pm. We walked around for 5 minutes trying to find chairs. It was self-serve -- clean someone else's towels up, put down your own, go ask for your own water. We ordered a beer, and had to go find someone to do it. Not quite the five-star experience like in Sofitel where there is enough staff to come ask if you want a drink. I'd expect better service, especially when the beer isn't cheap. There were a lot of kids in the pool, and kids = pee. Other places we've been to have separate areas for kids and adults, this pool was pretty much completely dominated by kids , it was noisy and the water was cold, and so we didn't feel like dipping in. We had planned to spend the rest of our day there, but weren't enjoying ourselves, so instead we left early and got cheap massages. This is during the protests, so I'd hate to see what it's like during full season when things are 'normal'.

The staff is nice and mean well, but for the first situation, they lacked experience, and for second situation, they were understaffed.

What is great about this place: good signage to Shangri La when walking around, staff was very nice in getting a metered taxi for a obscure destination (you may not be so lucky with airport), the scent/smell in the lobby is fabulous and calming, they have a good kids' club (good for families, not so good for couples), great bathtub that fills up fast, free wi-fi that was fast and no login id so you can connect multiple machines, close to the BTS (especially if you walk through the old krupthrep wing, it's an airconditioned walk), free checkout at 4 pm.

There are a lot of good things about this hotel, but next time we will try another 5-star hotel that's a bit cheaper because it wasn't "perfect enough" to justify the price.

Room Tip: We stayed in the cheapest room category, and had a small view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyBelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,260 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#26 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Property: Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Address: 89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#19 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 802
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok, is a 5-star luxury hotel in Silom district, Bangkok. The design and appointments express the welcoming warmth and richness of Thai culture throughout the hotel, from traditional teak dining pavilions to the most up-to-date room features.The hotel has a total of 802 rooms including 72 suites in two wings, Shangri-La and Krungthep, and is adjacent to the Saphan Taksin station of the Skytrain, Bangkok's elevated metro system.The hotel also offers fully-serviced apartments for guests wishing a longer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Priceline, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Shangri La Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing