We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location, great view, good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Ranked #21 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“good location, great view, good value”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the Shangri-La Hotel in Bangkok in a Deluxe-River-View-Room on the 17th floor. After a long flight we were glad that our room was ready - at 9 o clock in the morning.
We enjoyed the view across the river at day and night. The room was spacious and clean with a sitting area at the huge window. The Bathroom comes with a large shower and a bathtub as well. We especially enjoyed the large King-Bed with soft pillows and a very very comfortable (not too hard) mattress.
Staff was nice, although not prepared to offer vegetarian dinner-recommendations and some other detailed questions.
Leafy Pool area is facing the river, we preferred the Hotel pool-area to the Krunthep Wing Pool- area. From the Shangri-La you can travel by boat to various sights (starts right outside the hotel, 5 min. walk) or take the sky train (5 min. walk as well.)
For the price of less than 200 euro (without breakfast, so we cannot say anything about the food quality) we definitely recommend staying at the Shangri-La in Bangkok.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sannah5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,033 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,008
    1,468
    359
    125
    73
See reviews for
1,591
3,721
469
1,008
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,873)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Nice pool and fitness with great staff.
Room slightly dated, a bit worn.
Buffet breakfast expansive but staff a bit overworked.
Front desk check in staff quite rigid and without any flexibility , quite different than other 5 star Bangkok hotels. Overall, Shangri-La is a bit expensive.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank udonlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shangri-La_Bangkok, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear udonlover,

Thank you for choosing Shangri-La Hotel Bangkok and sharing your experience regarding your recent visit. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your over all stay. Your comments are valued and I look forward to the opportunity where we can demonstrate the services that we are renowned for. We would love to welcome you back and that you will consider us the next time you are visiting Bangkok. Please let me know how I can be of assistance to you in the future, ed.brea@shangri-la.com.

Best regards,
Edward Brea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed in The Shangri La on the last night of our holiday. It was wonderful from check in to check out, the staff did everything possible to make our stay memorable, including chocolates and flowers for our 40th Wedding Anniversary. The Breakfast Buffet had everything you could want at breakfast.
We will certainly stay here again if we're in Bangkok

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
Level Contributor
93 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed in the Shangri-La wing for 5 nights in February and loved it. We chose a balcony room with a river view and loved sitting out in the evening watching all the lights and activity up and down the river. The rooms are very well appointed and maintained. Location is awesome as you have a brief walk through the hotel to the skytrain and of course the river is right there. Just outside the hotel on the little street outside the lobby are several excellent restaurants and easy access to shopping. The food at the hotel is amazing, however I think the buffets are a little pricey. The Thai restaurant at the hotel is incredible with great service and a place you should visit at least once for a fancy meal. We splurged for the limo to and from the airport and the service was exceptional. They don't just take you to the airport but they whisk you through check in and see you all the way to the security checkpoint, the Shangri-La knows service. Great place and I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Breatheitin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

We have just spent 8 nights at the Shangri-La hotel in Bangkok and have been very impressed with the hotel and it's staff and service. From the moment we arrived we were escorted to our room and checked in rather than having to wait in reception. We had a deluxe balcony room overlooking the river and the view was stunning. The staff could not have been nicer and do enough for us which made our stay all the more enjoyable.

The hotel is ideally placed and not too far from anything. The SkyTrain station is just down the road and gives cheap hassle free transport around Bangkok. Being on the river also gives you access to the river taxis and long boats which are another way of getting around.

My only criticism was the service in the Next2 bar area by the river which was slow, although I did not understand why as there were plenty of staff.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel if ever you stay in Bangkok. The quality of the hotel and it's accommodation is second to none and the staff make it a great place to stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CruisingBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Visiting thailand for 3weeks we stay 3 nights in shangri la hotel perfect location And very Nice staff . In all very good experience ,the location on the river make a perfect spot close to the ski train .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank lavi48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roquebrune-Cap-Martin, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We have been staying for the second time in this hotel and we will definetly stay again on our next trip to Bangkok. The service is impeccable and I am quite demanding. The staff will do everything as possible to make your stay an exceptional journey, no matter your request. We have been staying with our 3 months daughter and they had so many thoughtfull attention, she even got a teddy bear as a gift :-) the " brunch " on the week end is quite amazing and very popular, make a reservation! The buffet is made with the greatest selection of bakery, international and asian food, the variety is exceptionnal! The restaurant is by the water and have a great view. From there, you can take the boat to dine in the other five stars hotel such as the Peninsula, Mandarin ..... Very nice boat ride at night and very convenient, it is free of course. The gym is good and practical but the spa is in another building which make it quite inconvenient. It is the only " less positive " point of the hotel. I beleive that it is temporary as I recall that the spa location was in the main building in our first stay. We even had treatment and it was really good. Especially after a long flight, it is so nice to get pampered!!! The room are very very very nice. With traditional Thai painting work as a head bed, fresh fruit platter every day and free fast internet. The linen is great and so is the baby bed.

Room Tip: The highest the best!!!!!! Especially on the river view!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandrine06190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,256 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#25 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Property: Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Address: 89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#19 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 802
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok, is a 5-star luxury hotel in Silom district, Bangkok. The design and appointments express the welcoming warmth and richness of Thai culture throughout the hotel, from traditional teak dining pavilions to the most up-to-date room features.The hotel has a total of 802 rooms including 72 suites in two wings, Shangri-La and Krungthep, and is adjacent to the Saphan Taksin station of the Skytrain, Bangkok's elevated metro system.The hotel also offers fully-serviced apartments for guests wishing a longer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotelopia, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Agoda, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Shangri La Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing