We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PURE LUXURY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Ranked #21 of 885 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed at the Krungthep Wing for 5 nights and thought it was well worth the upgrade.Sitting on the balcony watching the world go by was amazing. After enjoying the complimentary cocktails and canapes in the Riverside Lounge we felt as if we didn't need to eat again!Can't wait to return to this fabulous hotel and lovely people.




Room Tip: Krungthep wing with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank Jojo6676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (8,462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,653 - 3,659 of 8,462 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

Ideally located this hotel is situated on the riverside within easy access to the Skytrain. We stayed in a Deluxe Riverview room on the 21st floor at the Shangri La from 29 to 31 January 2014 on a bed and breakfast basis - the views across the city and down river were amazing. The room was modern, comfortable and spacious, the bathroom had separate shower cubicle with good quality toiletries provided. The hotel was furnished to a very high standard, the gardens and infinity swimming pool was fabulous, good quality sunbeds/matresses and pool towels provided and the complimentary ice water and chilled fruit on cocktail sticks was very refreshing and much appreciated. The breakfast was amazing with a vast selection of a breakfast food to suit a variety of tastes, including fresh honey from a honeycomb freshly removed from a beehive! This was our first stay at the Shangri La hotel, the staff were super, very friendly and efficient. We would definitely return /recommend this wonderful hotel to others.

Room Tip: High floor riverside view rooms were fabulous and had a window seat where guests could enjoy the sup...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank binzy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This remains a great city location offering great views from the Horizon Club Floors. The hotel facility is excellent and enjoy it very time I revisit. The staff are of the highest quality and nothing is too much trouble for them.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank stevewhiting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We returned to the Shangri-La again this year for two nights in my opinion this hotel is brillant and stylish with a great pool area. We enjoyed evening drinks by the river. The service is fantastic and nothing is too much trouble for the staff . I will certainly return there again. .

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annwillson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

My wife and I have been staying at the Shangri-La off and on for about 10 years and we never tire of it. It's one of our all-time favorite hotels.

Location: Great location, right on the river and close to so many attractions. Close to one of the Skytrain (BTS) stops. Actually, the view from the riverfront rooms is one of my favorites in the world.

Rooms: Spacious, well-laid out. Comfortable beds, nice big tv. The hotel has done a good job of renovating and keeping the amenities modern over the past 10 years.

Food: Only ate at the hotel for breakfast and the variety and food quality was very good, the only problem I found was the tiered seating. Depending on what one wants from the breakfast buffet, part of the breakfast buffet is on the ground floor and the other part was one level up, a few flight of stairs. For me, it wasn't a big deal, but for someone with limited mobility it could be a concern.

Value: For a five star property, my wife and I are always amazed at the level and quality of service we receive for the price, it's great!

Overall: One of my all-time favorite hotels and I look forward to my next stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank padcrasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Stayed there 4 nights in January.

Location:
cannot be better for Sightseeing. Hotel is located on the Chao Praya River and next to Skytrain and Express boats. Especially express boats are very useful to get to the old parts and Chinatown where lots of the sights and palaces/Wats/temples are. Breakfast outside on the river is a wonderful start into the day.

Breakfast and Food:
Breakfast is top top Quality and almost anything you may think of - Asian, Indian, European style Food, all kinds of eggs, fruits, vegtables and salads, difficult to make your choice. We had also dinner at the Salathip Restaurant. Very romantic Location directly on the river and excellent Food.

Rooms:
The rooms are not the newest in style, but perfectly clean and adequately furnished. Did not miss anything.

Pool:
Probably one of the best pool Areas in Bangkok. Large Pool, directly on the river. One can enjoy and relax after Sightseeing.

Staff:
Very friendly

Room Tip: Take the relatively low extra charges to upgrade to a river view, high floor. It is definitely worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank World_Traveller255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Great hotel in Bangkok- enjoyed the poolside area- good waiters helping with ordering food and beverage. Enjoyed the breakfast- boat took me shopping and eventually got to the palace! Would go there again in a moment.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank KevinSChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
The Peninsula Bangkok
#11 of 885 in Bangkok
4,475 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#31 of 885 in Bangkok
6,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Address: 89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#20 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £127 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 802
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok, is a 5-star luxury hotel in Silom district, Bangkok. The design and appointments express the welcoming warmth and richness of Thai culture throughout the hotel, from traditional teak dining pavilions to the most up-to-date room features.The hotel has a total of 802 rooms including 72 suites in two wings, Shangri-La and Krungthep, and is adjacent to the Saphan Taksin station of the Skytrain, Bangkok's elevated metro system.The hotel also offers fully-serviced apartments for guests wishing a longer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Shangri La Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing