We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Ranked #22 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel!”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I stayed at the hotel from February 28 to March 2. I ended up on the 25th floor and I paid extra for the Horizon Club when I booked. It was well worth it. The rooms are spacious well appointed and I had a partial river view from my room. Hotel staff was courteous and check in and check out were both a breeze. I also used the airport transfer both ways and it was superb. I also ate at the Thai restaurant and the food was up to the same high standards as everything else in the hotel.

I used the concierge to book a half day tour and it was easy, prices were fair and the tour service was likewise professional and knowledgeable. I am mainly a business traveler but this was a personal visit and first time at a Shangri-La property. I will definitely come back to the Snagri-La in Bangkok as well as look out for some of their other properties.

Room Tip: Go for the Horizion Club. The club itself serves a nice breakfast and early evening drinks. The view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BEK132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shangri-La_Bangkok, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear BEK132,

Thank you for choosing Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok and taking the time to review us. I am glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay in our Horizon Club Room. Thank you once again for your compliments and hope to welcome you again in the near future. Please contact me at ed.brea@shangri-la.com if I could be of further assistance.

Kind Regards,
J. Edward Brea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,036 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,011
    1,468
    359
    125
    73
See reviews for
1,591
3,722
469
1,009
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,872)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

this is a convenient experience, great and convenient location, personal and attentive service, great to walk the city, close to metro/ferry, good food, crazy bangkok, this is a good experience! I would stay here again and I would certainly recommend this hotel to friends and family!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carli2sway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shangri-La_Bangkok, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear carli2sway,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. I am glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay in us. It is our pride and joy to read such wonderful review. We look forward to welcome you again the next time you are visiting Bangkok. If I could be of further assistance please contact me at ed.brea@shangri-la.com.

Sincerely,
J. Edward Brea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed at the Krungthep Wing for 5 nights and thought it was well worth the upgrade.Sitting on the balcony watching the world go by was amazing. After enjoying the complimentary cocktails and canapes in the Riverside Lounge we felt as if we didn't need to eat again!Can't wait to return to this fabulous hotel and lovely people.




Room Tip: Krungthep wing with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Jojo6676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Ideally located this hotel is situated on the riverside within easy access to the Skytrain. We stayed in a Deluxe Riverview room on the 21st floor at the Shangri La from 29 to 31 January 2014 on a bed and breakfast basis - the views across the city and down river were amazing. The room was modern, comfortable and spacious, the bathroom had separate shower cubicle with good quality toiletries provided. The hotel was furnished to a very high standard, the gardens and infinity swimming pool was fabulous, good quality sunbeds/matresses and pool towels provided and the complimentary ice water and chilled fruit on cocktail sticks was very refreshing and much appreciated. The breakfast was amazing with a vast selection of a breakfast food to suit a variety of tastes, including fresh honey from a honeycomb freshly removed from a beehive! This was our first stay at the Shangri La hotel, the staff were super, very friendly and efficient. We would definitely return /recommend this wonderful hotel to others.

Room Tip: High floor riverside view rooms were fabulous and had a window seat where guests could enjoy the sup...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank binzy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esher
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This remains a great city location offering great views from the Horizon Club Floors. The hotel facility is excellent and enjoy it very time I revisit. The staff are of the highest quality and nothing is too much trouble for them.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank stevewhiting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We returned to the Shangri-La again this year for two nights in my opinion this hotel is brillant and stylish with a great pool area. We enjoyed evening drinks by the river. The service is fantastic and nothing is too much trouble for the staff . I will certainly return there again. .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annwillson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

My wife and I have been staying at the Shangri-La off and on for about 10 years and we never tire of it. It's one of our all-time favorite hotels.

Location: Great location, right on the river and close to so many attractions. Close to one of the Skytrain (BTS) stops. Actually, the view from the riverfront rooms is one of my favorites in the world.

Rooms: Spacious, well-laid out. Comfortable beds, nice big tv. The hotel has done a good job of renovating and keeping the amenities modern over the past 10 years.

Food: Only ate at the hotel for breakfast and the variety and food quality was very good, the only problem I found was the tiered seating. Depending on what one wants from the breakfast buffet, part of the breakfast buffet is on the ground floor and the other part was one level up, a few flight of stairs. For me, it wasn't a big deal, but for someone with limited mobility it could be a concern.

Value: For a five star property, my wife and I are always amazed at the level and quality of service we receive for the price, it's great!

Overall: One of my all-time favorite hotels and I look forward to my next stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank padcrasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,259 reviews
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#26 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Property: Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Address: 89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#20 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 802
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok, is a 5-star luxury hotel in Silom district, Bangkok. The design and appointments express the welcoming warmth and richness of Thai culture throughout the hotel, from traditional teak dining pavilions to the most up-to-date room features.The hotel has a total of 802 rooms including 72 suites in two wings, Shangri-La and Krungthep, and is adjacent to the Saphan Taksin station of the Skytrain, Bangkok's elevated metro system.The hotel also offers fully-serviced apartments for guests wishing a longer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Shangri La Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing