We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Ranked #19 of 861 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
1 review
“Excellent choice”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

when we first booked the room, we didn't book Horizon room which was a big mistake. We didn't like the king delux at the newer building that smelled strong mold smell. Nancy patiently showed me Horizon room that was bright and smelled very fresh. We ended up with excellent room without paying extra money, plus we had delicious breakfast, pleasant afternoon tea and early evening cocktails. With sunshine and sunset, by the river, it was a great joy and comfort to enjoy the food and drink up high on the Horizon floor. Thank you, Nancy! With your help, we had a memorable experience at our favorite hotel!

Room Tip: If you can afford, stay on club floor, named Horizon Floor, where you could enjoy good river view, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Shumin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,141
    1,486
    362
    125
    75
See reviews for
1,633
3,773
472
1,037
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,896)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I was stayed on 29 march 2014. It my husband birthday.I bring my two boys one and three years old so I choose two bedroom river view with connecting door.The rooms had stunning view kids excited the skytrain cross the river that can see from our room.Otherwise hotel service was excellent cause before check in we had tiny problem my hubby book two bedroom but the other room doesn't clean yet so we need to wait in room that available but not that long time just wait our 30 minutes . We got aplogilized notes , home made chocolate , two cute teddy bears from duty maneger ( Mr Tharatit Yonngfeungmon) he sent things by himself at our room.I ever waited for room in other hotel more than four hours but did't get anything or apologize word or note from staff. PS. nice chinese restaurant too anyway sorry my poor grammar☺️

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarinrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Ultimate luxury for our honeymoon. The staff went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable and make us feel special. Would go back in a heart beat to this amazing hotel. We had a lovely massage at the Chi spa and the gym facilities were amazing. The complimentary boat was handy as well. Was hard to explore Bangkok as we did not want to leave the hotel. However staff were more than helpful in guiding our day and night plans.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AmzF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I stayed in a river room with a balcony in February, the room was great and so was the bathroom, which for me I like sumptuous hotel bathrooms, ( towels could of been fluffier though). There were 2 odd things that happened during my stay, they did not dent my stay but we're odd, firstly on 2 of the 4/5 days I was staying, there a staff member came and checked my mini bar whilst I was in the room, my thought is why could this of not been done either by housekeeping when they are cleaning the room each day, or he could of checked when housekeeping were doing the room, there are plenty of electronic devices that could help in this matter, the 2nd one was on my last day housekeeping never did my room ( I was in the room for quite a bit of the day) but there were opportunities for it to be done. The staff during my stay gave excellent service and I would not hesitate in staying there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

I had an amazing stay at the shangrilla Bangkok , the staff was amazing , always smiling and had all the help I need from Mr. Adison from the concierge who took really good care of me and my wife , we stayed at the premier suite and we loved it and mr. Adison was always there at anytime , even when he finished his working hours at the hotel , he calls and confirm any of my booking, calling from home , shangrilla Iam defiantly coming again , because of you I booked shangrilla Malaysia , excellent services all the best

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ahmed MTS A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Just returned from 2 weeks in Thailand the last 3 nights we stayed in the Krungthep Wing of the Shangri-La in Bangkok.
Lovely peaceful hotel - set in elegant surroundings.
All staff were so helpful - thank you to you all.
Location on the river was perfect - lazing around the pool watching the hustle and bustle on the river - fab!
Also very close to the sky train - perfect.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gorgeousfay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I stayed at the Shangri-la for only 1 night on a work holiday. The staff were so helpful, the breakfast was great and the hotel was beautiful. It's also in a great location, right next to the river and so close to the Sky train. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jemmykate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 861 in Bangkok
4,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#29 of 861 in Bangkok
6,209 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Property: Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Address: 89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#13 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#18 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 802
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok, is a 5-star luxury hotel in Silom district, Bangkok. The design and appointments express the welcoming warmth and richness of Thai culture throughout the hotel, from traditional teak dining pavilions to the most up-to-date room features.The hotel has a total of 802 rooms including 72 suites in two wings, Shangri-La and Krungthep, and is adjacent to the Saphan Taksin station of the Skytrain, Bangkok's elevated metro system.The hotel also offers fully-serviced apartments for guests wishing a longer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelbag, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Nozio Netplan srl, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Shangri La Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing