We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Ranked #18 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice but.....”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This was to be the highlight of our trip, instead it turned out to be something of a dissappointment. It IS a luxury hotel and yes it is very beautiful with a wonderful location by the river but still it did not give us that "wow-feeling" that the previous hotels had given us on this trip. The room, with the most wonderful view over the river, was nice but felt somehow a bit old, and as we could not figure out how to open the window( not sure if it was supposed to be opened) the smell in the room was not the freshest. But the big bed was very comfortable and so was the big bathroom. The breakfast and the location for it by the river was very nice. Lots of really good food and it was very peaceful to enjoy it while looking at the boats passing by on the river. The staff was nice and polite, but somehow not as genuine as we had experienced at the other places. But maybe that`s the attitude they are supposed to have in this kind of old fashioned 5-star hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LACopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shangri-La_Bangkok, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear LACopenhagen,

Thank you for choosing Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok.

We appreciate you taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We were, however, disappointed to read that our room has fallen short of your expectations. Our apologies for not being able to deliver that "wow-feeling". Your comment is taken constructively as it forms the foundation of our service improvement process.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can assist you in any way at e-mail ed.brea@shangri-la.com

In the meantime, wishing you safe travels.

Warm regards,

J. Edward Brea
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,074
    1,472
    361
    125
    74
See reviews for
1,610
3,751
469
1,023
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,884)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
142 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We booked the shangri-la a second time as we were so impressed in 2013.... We made the right decision!

This time we stayed 3 nights so had the pleasure of their wonderful breakfast which has a wide selection of fab food for everyones tastes and is in the restaurant by the river so very relaxing.

We'd mentioned to the hotel that it was my partner's birthday holiday although not celebrating the actual day with them......we arrived in our room on check-in to find a stunning chocolate cake with a happy birthday card and personal note! Not just that.....a Couple of days later when we'd moved on and it was my partner's birthday, he received an email from the shangri-la with a birthday card! Now that's personal service and attention!

Stunning displays of orchids throughout the hotel lobby and our room with a balcony was perfect.

Definatly recommend this hotel to add to your bangkok experience

Room Tip: A little bit more and go for the balcony room with river view.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PandSTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We spent seven fantastic nights at the Bangkok Shangri La. There were fabulous views of the Chao Phraya river and cityscape from our high-floor balcony room. The bed, room and housekeeping services were all outstanding.

The Horizon Club service was superb with refreshing drinks and light snacks available anytime and hot food and cocktails nightly. They staff was very helpful and eager to please. We also had a fantastic dinner at the on-property Salathip Thai restaurant that also featured a great Thai dancing demonstration. The on-property Next2 restaurant had a wide variety of very good Asian and Western food choices and fantastic views of the river with both indoor and outdoor seating. Even the lobby bar had fantastic river views and is a great place to have lunch or a drink.

We arranged several private tours through the hotel and they were fantastic. The temple and floating market tours were amazing. Our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and friendly and did a great job of conveying historical context and cultural significance to the beautiful sites we visited. We saw so much more and gained a great understanding by having a private guide.

The river side location is scenic and relaxing while at the same time very convenient to the adjacent MRT station and public dock. From the MRT station you have quick and easy access to much of the city while avoiding the legendary rush hour traffic. The public dock has access to water taxi's and to a highly recommended and inexpensive tourist river boat. It stops at many of the main tourist sites while avoiding city traffic. The private Shangri La dock has a complimentary private shuttle boat that visits River City during the day and Asiatique in the evening.

The service was truly outstanding and the management and staff made our visit fantastic from our arrival to the hotel car service to the airport.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose a higher balcony room to experience the best combination of panoramic city and river views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed at the hotel for 7 nights, was one of the best vacations in bkk. Was attending my cousins wedding, so were about 200 guests. My room was on the 17th floor with direct views of the chAo Phraya river. Breakfast was included and was a widespread selection. The restaurants like Angelini was very well done up and the food was tasty. The hotel had several lounge areas where one could just laze around and have tea/cocktails watching the sunset. We had booked the Horizon cruise as a welcome dinner for the guests. Was a fun experience. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They were just a call away for anything we needed. The location of the hotel was gd and was close by to the famous sky bar sirocco which is on the 65th floor of the Le Bua state tower. I highly recommend the shangrila for a business or family trip. The club rooms were excellent with direct excess to the club lounge. Also the health club and gym facilities were up to the mark.

Room Tip: The club rooms on the higher floors have great views of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nitaMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Great business hotel with a nice pool area in case family is traveling along. Location on the river is pretty. Service is up to western standards but includes Thai warmth and hospitality. Very nice gym. Nice rooms. Free wifi.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely stay in the Krung Thep wing. Comfortable spacious room, great cocktail hour and private butler. Great all round place to stay as close to bts and great views of chao praya river. Thank you!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank bear6787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

It was an nice evening for me at Shangri-la bangkok lobby lounge listening to Acoustic Duo JOMAR n LILIBETH. Had a tasty cuisine and great hospitality by the Lobby staff...I definetly going back again here....

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gowri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 858 in Bangkok
4,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#25 of 858 in Bangkok
6,140 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Property: Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Address: 89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#13 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 802
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok, is a 5-star luxury hotel in Silom district, Bangkok. The design and appointments express the welcoming warmth and richness of Thai culture throughout the hotel, from traditional teak dining pavilions to the most up-to-date room features.The hotel has a total of 802 rooms including 72 suites in two wings, Shangri-La and Krungthep, and is adjacent to the Saphan Taksin station of the Skytrain, Bangkok's elevated metro system.The hotel also offers fully-serviced apartments for guests wishing a longer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Ebookers, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Nozio Netplan srl, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelbag, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Shangri La Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing