We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in Bangkok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Ranked #22 of 885 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This hotel shows exceptional attention to detail with great hotel staff to ensure your stay is comfortable. Luxurious rooms overlooking the Chao Praya river and well located in down town Bangkok. This hotel lives up to the hype!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisbaker910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (8,467)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,461 - 3,467 of 8,467 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

I have travelled a lot and stayed in some luxurious hotels. For exceptional service, beautiful grounds and decoration and first ratw food, this is the best hotel. The quality is concistent throughout the hotel: salon, spa, pool, restaurants, laundry, room service. And for a bonus you get the corteous, smiling attitude of the Thai.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susanneanette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Friendly,perfect welcome -with a stylish door-man.
This Hotel is clean, top located and not so expensive that it seems.
Most of the rooms have wonderful view to the river-so that you have the feeling you are in the middle of Bangkok. Carpet, huge beds, a nice lounge corner and a desk in the room. Bathroom so big, perfekt you also find a hair-dryer in the bath and not in other cupboards like in other hotels. Clean and always free water and fruits on the table. The breakfast is more than rich and you have a selection from all countries. So you will find a Miso Soup such as a sweet appel pie, or Sushi, Omlette and of course a traditional continental breakfast.
The drinks on the outside terrasse, where a nicly breeth from the river touchs yo is perfekt for the sunset or a midnight drink. I recommend the Mai Tai ! And if you are to lazy to leave for dinner the Hotel - Restaurant serves you a huge spektrum of Tai and European Food.
The Best: you can go for free with the Hotel Boot to the Nightmarket, where you can shop what you like. It takes you 20 Minutes. And by the way it's a good spot to start from here all the Tourist trips. So I will com back for sure.

Room Tip: Choice a higher floor for the perfekt view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pssomie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I have never visited Bangkok from this angle before! River view, high room was a true treat and opened up a new feeling to this fabulous city. Shangri La is top notch. From the finest of details to the magnificent decor; the friendliness of staff to the sweet scent of lemongrass you are in luxury's lap. Close to every possible amenity and service, this is the perfect central location to stay. This is where I will be staying next time in BKK!

Room Tip: River view with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnBeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed here for two nights on our last few days of our honeymoon. They gave us a very warm welcome upon arrival and i got roses as they knew we were on our honeymoon. We upgraded to Club level. We got breakfast included with this package and also you got to go to happy hour from 5 -7.30 for free drinks and nibbles. The staff in the Horizon club were excellent and we would especially like to note how professional Pu was.

The pool area was very relaxing and staff very attentive. We ate out here and the food was lovely.

They run a complementary water taxi to market or the shopping center. We went down to the market in it.

Our room was spacious and very clean. I think every day we were there we got a present for our honeymoon.

We also ate in the Italian restaurant - it was delicious but it was very quite for a Saturday night and lacked atmosphere because of this.

Overall a fabulous stay and we would recommend it to anyone and would love to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Regina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Visited twice, first 1987, went again 10 years later. something exciting for an occidental person. I was so nicely treated by all the staff and every detail inside the premises was better as time passed. I greatly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose if you can the ones looking over the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

When I was deciding a good hotel in Bangkok to spend 8 days with my family, friend and fiancé to celebrate 1) our marriage and 2) my wife's birthday, I researched many hotels in Bangkok.
The one that kept coming up was the "Shangri-La".
How happy I am that we chose it as the experience from the minute we stepped through the door until we regrettably left was nothing short of fantastic.
Imagine a family of several hundred to look after your every whim and request, knowing what you want before you ask, pre empting every expectation and request.
The things that I will always remember are the extra, unexpected lengths EVERYBODY went to to make our stay special.
We stayed on the top, (16th) floor of the "Krungthep" wing. The extra little things were well worth a few extra dollars.
Leaving is like saying goodbye to old friends as the staff really did make is feel like one of their family.

Well done Shangri-la and you WILL be seeing us again.

Room Tip: Krungthep wing 16th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 885Fussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
The Peninsula Bangkok
#11 of 885 in Bangkok
4,475 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#32 of 885 in Bangkok
6,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Address: 89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#16 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#21 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £127 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 802
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok, is a 5-star luxury hotel in Silom district, Bangkok. The design and appointments express the welcoming warmth and richness of Thai culture throughout the hotel, from traditional teak dining pavilions to the most up-to-date room features.The hotel has a total of 802 rooms including 72 suites in two wings, Shangri-La and Krungthep, and is adjacent to the Saphan Taksin station of the Skytrain, Bangkok's elevated metro system.The hotel also offers fully-serviced apartments for guests wishing a longer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, LoveHolidays, Travelbag, Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Shangri La Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing