We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Start to a Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Ranked #19 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Start to a Honeymoon”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

You're made to feel like royalty as soon as you arrive at the hotel.
The hotel, rooms and view were beautiful and very luxurious.
The best thing about the hotel is the servie, they were accomodating and when they knew it was our honeymoon we had free cake, cocktails and flowers in our room. Would definitely reccommend to anyone staying in Bangkok.
Comfy bed, good location, great breakfast reception.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammy_L8814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,082
    1,474
    361
    125
    74
See reviews for
1,611
3,754
470
1,026
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,886)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

An intergenerational holiday for parents, children and grandchildren at the Shangrila was a memorable experience for all. We had been guests at the hotel many times and were curious to see if the experience would be as wonderful for our four grandchildren, aged 5 to 8 years. We were delighted with the attention they received. A teddy bear was placed on each single bed added to our rooms. An interconnecting room was provided at our request. Check-in was superb, as usual. Each child received a flower lei on arrival, along with their welcome drink. Children were more than welcome at all of the venues and their requests were given respectful attention at afternoon tea, evening canapés and breakfasts. By the third day of our visit the children's names and individual beverage preferences were know by staff. The pool was popular with the whole family and the attentiveness of lifeguards was appreciated. A special event was organised on the Sunday and children were personally invited to attend a magic show.
It is important to note that the four children were very well behaved and this may well have contributed to the amazing friendliness and attentiveness of staff. We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for.a family holiday. There were genuine tears of sorrow on the faces of our grandchildren as we left the hotel, with six hotel staff there to wave us goodbye. This is a holiday that we are all still talking about.

Room Tip: Choose a river view room with balcony to maximise your experience. Interconnecting rooms for a famil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 598ruths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Korea
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I do not speak English very well,
try to write, in the subway on the way to work. because I'm so boring now:)
At a reasonable price you can appreciate the beautiful scenery of the river in Bangkok, and a great breakfast, a luxury hotel with friendly service was so good.
Hotel and near the BTS does not have the inconvenience of traffic, Sathorn Pier is close to the tourist attractions are easy to move.

I didn't go to dinner buffet and shalathip. So sad ...

When staying in shangri la hotel, everything is possible.

To be close Robinson Dpartment store,
Hotel holds many massage shops on the way... and
Is very close to ASIATIQUE(It's night market)
I want go again "Shanfgri-La"

Concludes longer:)
Bye~






Room Tip: High floor , Riverview
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Ha Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Booked the executive room upon arrival upgraded to the executive suite overlooking the river. The staff were absolutely amazing and made us feel very welcome. Breakfast was cooked as you wanted. Afternoon tea is highly recommended the sandwiches, cakes and tea are truly scrumptious. The evening canapés and drinks were great to oil you up for the start of the evening. The location is very central and allows easy access to the river taxis. We were fortunately there during light festival and he views from out sixth floor room were stunning. Would not hesitate to go back and stay again thank you to all the staff for making the start of our honeymoon a trip to remember ..

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

hotel was absolutely magnificent, we arranged for a pick up from the airport, we were pleased to be greeted by friendly staff who transported us to the hotel in a brand new s class mercedes benz complete with reclining rear seats. we were greeted at the hotel by 4 pleasant hotel staff who looked after our every need. the concierge personally took us to our room on the 15th floor and arranged all the check in details in our room. you cannot ask for any better service than this in any other hotel in the world. Our butler Phillips, provided outstanding service during our 4 day stay. we had pre booked the breakfast package and we were very pleased with the quality and variety of the food.
The views from the 15th floor facing the river were amazing at night. The hotel is well situated being walking distance to the elevated air conditioned train service, it cost only 75Bt for the return trip to the popular shopping plaza MBK.
The main ferry terminal is along side the hotel, all very convenient!

Room Tip: 15th floor was lovely. All rooms in this wing face the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nasia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed at a Deluxe Balcony room in the Krung Thep wing. Everything was excellent and a very comfortable bed.
The benefits included in the Krung Thep wing make it really enjoyable. It is very nice to have softdrinks and water included by the pool, as well as pre-dinner drinks, afternoon teas and some parts of the mini bar.
The Krung Thep pool area is perhaps not so great, a bit small but if you like to swim the pool is 25 m long. It is quiet and you get spoiled by the staff there by the pool. They bring you water and whatever non alcoholic drink you would like and they really look after you.

The hotel is wonderful and so are the staff, always friendly and very service minded. Our butler took really good care of us and helped us with small arrangements and dinner reservations.

Please have dinner at Angelini because it is soo fantastic. They´ve got great wines and all sorts of italian food, absolutely wonderful.

The area the hotel is located in is full of busy streets and also very easy access to the sky train as well as the long tail boats if you want to go on a canal tour - which you must! It is really enjoyable and should cost around THB1000-1200 for an hour.

Everything is taken care of for your in this hotel. You don´t have to think really, which is good if you just want to relax.


  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank susemm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We recently stayed for a week in Shangri La's Krungthep wing. Sadly, the hotel was almost empty of guests to the extent that the Riverside Lounge was closed for breakfast in the mornings and in the evenings there were never more than 14 people in attendance for the hor d'ouvres and free drinks evenings.

Despite this, the staff went out of their way to make our stay both memorable and enjoyable. Nothing was too much trouble for them, they remembered our names and also the drinks that we liked to start each evening with.

They became concerned when they noticed we weren't eating too much of the canapes but we explained to them that what was on offer was absolutely lovely but that we didn't want to ruin our appetites for a later evening meal.

Staying at the Krungthep Wing is expensive, but with the inclusion of breakfasts, afternoon high teas (which we never availed ourselves of during our one week stay), plus the drinks and canapes in the evening make the package offered in this wing very good value for money.

Would we stay there again? You bet we would. Everything about this place is 5* and first class. It oozes charm, sophistication and a total respite from the noise and heat of Bangkok as well as balcony views of the amazing Chao Phraya River which by night is really beautiful.

Room Tip: The Krungthep Wing with its balconies and package is good value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Exchef_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 858 in Bangkok
4,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#26 of 858 in Bangkok
6,147 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Property: Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Address: 89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#13 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#18 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 802
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok, is a 5-star luxury hotel in Silom district, Bangkok. The design and appointments express the welcoming warmth and richness of Thai culture throughout the hotel, from traditional teak dining pavilions to the most up-to-date room features.The hotel has a total of 802 rooms including 72 suites in two wings, Shangri-La and Krungthep, and is adjacent to the Saphan Taksin station of the Skytrain, Bangkok's elevated metro system.The hotel also offers fully-serviced apartments for guests wishing a longer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TravelUp, Travelbag, Priceline, Nozio Netplan srl, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Shangri La Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing