We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“....Royalty....That's how you feel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Ranked #19 of 861 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“....Royalty....That's how you feel”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Perfectly situated on the river, beautiful room, personable service, delicious food, great gymnasium, the spa was sensational and is highly recommended, the evening river cruise was the perfect finale - very romantic and the buffet was first class. There is a fantastic lady singer each evening on the ground floor whilst enjoying cocktails. Does not get any better
and the Executive Chef Matthew is fantastic!!. We dined at the hotel every evening and were
very impressed.

Room Tip: Treat yourself to a Horizon Club room - complimentary breakfast, afternoon tea and canapes and drin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maria g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,140
    1,485
    362
    125
    75
See reviews for
1,631
3,773
472
1,037
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,896)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Pros:
- Package (With free breakfast at Next2 Cafe, more choices, more people, OR Breakfast at Club Horizon, exclusively for club members or guest staying at krungthep wing. Lesser people , lesser food choice, more exclusively. Hi Tea Buffet included, cock tail buffet included.

- Staff were very helpful and friendly.
- Staff speak excellent English.
- We were surprised that there were cookies delivered into our room on a daily basis.
- Breakfast selection were fantastic and perhaps one of the best among all the other 5 stars hotel that I have stayed before
- Room were spacious and clean
- Television channels were great, we enjoyed it
- Standing shower with temperature gauge were good, however, the water heat up very slowly, it takes around 2 minutes or more to heat up.
- Location were good, beside BTS
- Tasty food at riverside lounge for cocktail buffet and hi tea buffet

Negative Points:
(A) Internet Connection
My internet connection wasnt strong, sometimes I have encountered difficulties in connecting my internet.

My Suggestion:
It would be good to have login system, just like most 5 stars hotels does. Therefore, only guests able to login and not anyone else.

(B) Service Standard Gap:
Incident 1:
When we went to club horizon lounge to have our breakfast, your female waitress asked us what other dish would you want ? She should have just direct us to the menu that was placed on the table, as we were not aware of what other dish choice we can choose from.
When a couple sat beside us 15 minutes later, your male waiter showed them the menu and explain to them the dishes choice. Therefore, I think there is a standard gap whereby inconsistencies of standard do happens.

Incident 2:
When we dine in at the riverside lounge for cocktail buffet, your male waiter asked us what drinks we would want. We were not aware what are the choices available again. We just thought that was the norm, after eating there for 2 consecutive days.

Until on the 24 May , when we went to have our cocktail buffet, the same male waiter asked us what drinks we would want, showed us the menu. For the first time he showed the menu to us to select drinks. When I looked around, I saw a gentlemen in suit walking around and asking guests how was the food and everything so far. My guess would be the gentlemen could have be a higher position personnel. Hence, the staff became more "awake" and more meticulous.

(C) Things not functioning in Room
When I went into my room , my left light on the desk was not working. For two consecutive days, nothing was done to fix the spoilt light bulb. Until I came down to the lobby to inform your staff on the third day that my light bulb was spoilt. I have difficulties doing my work as the room was quite dim.

(D) Dining
I have enjoyed the chocolate and fruits at the riverside lounge. However, to my amazed, I have discovered that flies were stopping at the fruits. Upon seeing that, I felt very disgusted as I have eaten some of them together with the chocolate that was not covered.

My suggestion would be to have something transparent to cover the fruits and chocolate, to prevent flies from invading it.

In conclusion, I have somehow enjoyed the stay at Shangri La Bangkok. However, for the price and the reputation of the hotel, I could have expected more, and some of the negative points which includes the bulb spoilt could have been eliminated by thoroughly checking by your staff, in ensuring that everything works, before guests are assigned to that room. I hope that you would look into my suggestions and thank you for taking your time in reading my comments.

Room Tip: Choose a room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ben10tan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shangri-La_Bangkok, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear dede1217_Singapore,

Thank you for visiting Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok.

We appreciate you taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We are sorry to read that we have disappointed you with our club service and the working order of your room. Please accept our sincere apologies on this occasion.

Once again, thank you for your review. Your comment and suggestions are very much appreciated as it forms the foundation of our service improvement process.

Please contact me directly should you have any other valuable feedback for our improvement at ed.brea@shangri-la.com.

In the meantime, wishing you safe travels.

Sincerely,

J. Edward Brea
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

You're made to feel like royalty as soon as you arrive at the hotel.
The hotel, rooms and view were beautiful and very luxurious.
The best thing about the hotel is the servie, they were accomodating and when they knew it was our honeymoon we had free cake, cocktails and flowers in our room. Would definitely reccommend to anyone staying in Bangkok.
Comfy bed, good location, great breakfast reception.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammy_L8814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bendigo, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

An intergenerational holiday for parents, children and grandchildren at the Shangrila was a memorable experience for all. We had been guests at the hotel many times and were curious to see if the experience would be as wonderful for our four grandchildren, aged 5 to 8 years. We were delighted with the attention they received. A teddy bear was placed on each single bed added to our rooms. An interconnecting room was provided at our request. Check-in was superb, as usual. Each child received a flower lei on arrival, along with their welcome drink. Children were more than welcome at all of the venues and their requests were given respectful attention at afternoon tea, evening canapés and breakfasts. By the third day of our visit the children's names and individual beverage preferences were know by staff. The pool was popular with the whole family and the attentiveness of lifeguards was appreciated. A special event was organised on the Sunday and children were personally invited to attend a magic show.
It is important to note that the four children were very well behaved and this may well have contributed to the amazing friendliness and attentiveness of staff. We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for.a family holiday. There were genuine tears of sorrow on the faces of our grandchildren as we left the hotel, with six hotel staff there to wave us goodbye. This is a holiday that we are all still talking about.

Room Tip: Choose a river view room with balcony to maximise your experience. Interconnecting rooms for a famil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 598ruths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Korea
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I do not speak English very well,
try to write, in the subway on the way to work. because I'm so boring now:)
At a reasonable price you can appreciate the beautiful scenery of the river in Bangkok, and a great breakfast, a luxury hotel with friendly service was so good.
Hotel and near the BTS does not have the inconvenience of traffic, Sathorn Pier is close to the tourist attractions are easy to move.

I didn't go to dinner buffet and shalathip. So sad ...

When staying in shangri la hotel, everything is possible.

To be close Robinson Dpartment store,
Hotel holds many massage shops on the way... and
Is very close to ASIATIQUE(It's night market)
I want go again "Shanfgri-La"

Concludes longer:)
Bye~






Room Tip: High floor , Riverview
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Ha Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Booked the executive room upon arrival upgraded to the executive suite overlooking the river. The staff were absolutely amazing and made us feel very welcome. Breakfast was cooked as you wanted. Afternoon tea is highly recommended the sandwiches, cakes and tea are truly scrumptious. The evening canapés and drinks were great to oil you up for the start of the evening. The location is very central and allows easy access to the river taxis. We were fortunately there during light festival and he views from out sixth floor room were stunning. Would not hesitate to go back and stay again thank you to all the staff for making the start of our honeymoon a trip to remember ..

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

hotel was absolutely magnificent, we arranged for a pick up from the airport, we were pleased to be greeted by friendly staff who transported us to the hotel in a brand new s class mercedes benz complete with reclining rear seats. we were greeted at the hotel by 4 pleasant hotel staff who looked after our every need. the concierge personally took us to our room on the 15th floor and arranged all the check in details in our room. you cannot ask for any better service than this in any other hotel in the world. Our butler Phillips, provided outstanding service during our 4 day stay. we had pre booked the breakfast package and we were very pleased with the quality and variety of the food.
The views from the 15th floor facing the river were amazing at night. The hotel is well situated being walking distance to the elevated air conditioned train service, it cost only 75Bt for the return trip to the popular shopping plaza MBK.
The main ferry terminal is along side the hotel, all very convenient!

Room Tip: 15th floor was lovely. All rooms in this wing face the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nasia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 861 in Bangkok
4,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#29 of 861 in Bangkok
6,209 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok

Property: Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Address: 89 Soi Wat Suan Plu, New Road | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#13 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#18 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 802
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok, is a 5-star luxury hotel in Silom district, Bangkok. The design and appointments express the welcoming warmth and richness of Thai culture throughout the hotel, from traditional teak dining pavilions to the most up-to-date room features.The hotel has a total of 802 rooms including 72 suites in two wings, Shangri-La and Krungthep, and is adjacent to the Saphan Taksin station of the Skytrain, Bangkok's elevated metro system.The hotel also offers fully-serviced apartments for guests wishing a longer stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Southall Travel, Priceline, Agoda, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Odigeo, Travelbag, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Shangri La Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing